Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Quiet...Very, very quiet!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Quiet, we felt we had the run of the place. The staff was very nice, the front desk staff was very accommodating, beautiful grounds, green friendly.
Cons: Service staff could be more interactive; they were very nice, but a little too reserved and meek. Full menu & service no matter how full the resort is
Location: Hiking, water falls, great vistas, relaxing on your balcony and enjoying the waves/ocean breeze, or lounging by the pool with a cocktail.
Overall, this was a nice place to stay. We drove all over the island and this was the nicest places we ran across; not to say there are not other nice places on the island, but Rosalie Bay definitely stands out. I was told we went in the off season, so there was hardly anyone staying in the resort, which was a blessing and a curse, (see below). The day before we left, the resort started to get busy and was filling up. If you plan on doing a lot of sight seeing, this is an awesome place to stage out of, due to the close proximity of the sites; however, if there a few sites that are closer to Roseau. If you are going there for strictly diving, snorkeling, whale watching, then I would recommend staying on the Caribbean side, as the drive back and forth can become very tiring after a long day, and diver should keep in mind their altitude restrictions when crossing back over the mountains to the Atlantic side. Though the island is not wide, the road infrastructure is difficult to navigate and was challenging for even an experienced driver such as myself. Due to the mountains, the roads are very narrow, winding with lots of switch-backs, steep up/downs, pot holes, blind curves, and there is little to no signage, lines, lighting, guard rails, plus it rains a lot throughout the day, which can make the roads slick and visibility poor. Local drivers are maniacs on the road, so you have to adopt their bad habits and driving style, or you could be blown off the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Cons: Breakfast, the included breakfast was limited
Location superb. Rained a lot but the setting is magical and a good base for exploring half the island
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Daryl, General Manager, Hotel Management
We enjoyed having you at Rosalie Bay! We would agree our location is an excellent base location for exploring the beautiful island of Dominica. Thank you so much for your suggestions on the breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay and eating options. We hope to have you back soon! Rosalie Regards, Daryl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Very personal feel; beautiful setting; nice staff

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Beverly and Oscar - the owners - are charming hosts; have done great job with the resort (which they built) and the staff (whom they trained).
Cons: Do visit this hotel! It deserves a lot of business. No problems with the extra hop from Antigua or Barbados! Flying LIAT adds to the adventure.
Location: Dominica (east and central) is a wonderful find. Nine volcanoes to climb - the biggest nearly 5,000 ft! Car needed some of the time - keep left!
Beautifully located on the much more exciting east coast (where the airport is also located). West coast is boring - but you do have to drive there for some of the sights. Stayed for 11 days and enjoyed immensely. Room upgraded at once because wifi not working on arrival. Very spacious suite with top facilities. Lovely view of surf through thin belt of palm trees. The rising sun (east coast beach) shone into room at 6 am every morning. Food good, although there are no real alternatives nearby once you get a little tired of the menu. Pool pleasant but not beside the sea. Black sand beach is sadly unswimmable due to big waves and strong undertow. But you can walk and paddle along it, and turtles lay their eggs there. Wide range of activities - hiking, island tours, hire cars available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Daryl, General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Michael, thank you for your detailed review of Rosalie Bay! I am glad you had a chance to explore the island of Dominica and our little piece of heaven on the east coast. The volcanoes are indeed a highlight for those seeking adventure. There are hikes and walks we can suggest for any skill level. Our guests often comment on our views and the morning sunshine – a perfect start to the day! We strive to make sure our guests are perfectly comfortable while visiting the island of Dominica. We enjoyed having you Michael! Rosalie Regards, Daryl
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeremyfrom Dallas

Lovely resort, watch your things

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
The resort was absolutely beautiful, in a remote part of the island (which we preferred to the city). Midway through our stay we had something stolen from our room so we had to be a bit more guarded about our belongings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

So beautifully off the beaten track!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The Atlantic, the Caribbean, the rivers, the jungle, the sun, the rain and that warm tropical air - it's spectacular!! The accommodations are very aesthetically pleasing and I felt so safe at the Rosalie Bay Resort and trusted their guides on all of our adventures! We will definitely return one summer for turtle season!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Daryl, General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Tammy, it was truly a pleasure to have you at Rosalie Bay. We look forward to having you during turtle season! All of us here at Rosalie Bay work hard to make sure all of our guests have a safe and memorable stay on Dominica. I am glad to hear that we succeeded in providing you a great adventure during your stay! Rosalie Regards, Daryl
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom U.S.A.

Don't expect much

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The lack of hot water, warm at best and very little of it is my biggest complaint. An oversized bathtub filled with cold water isn't pleasant to me. The minor ant problem was annoying. The upkeep of the room was poor. Had two broken windows. The place needs maintenance. The staff was mostly polite but a couple rude and unattentive. That said, it is actually a pleasant place that I would call serene with a coastline setting that is beautiful. The owner and regular resident, Bev, is friendly. I expect the handful of minor issues won't detract from most people's visit to Dominica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port of Spain

Country Life

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Eco Lodge
Cons: Menu choices can be explored. Availability of items on menu. Include optional bread choices other than white
Location: Hiking - Dernier Falls Rivers
If you are looking for a very laid back quiet vacation this is the place to be. Very calming as it is on an estate that is on the Atlantic ocean front. Encourages you to exercise as you need to walk around the compound to get from lobby to gym or restaurant. Two complaints would be with the restaurant...waitresses did not have enough knowledge of the menu to better assist with meal choices. Also on numerous occasions we would order something to then be told it was not available. Secondly housekeeping...did not replenish service items in the room such as coffee etc unless we called reception to request it. On the second day of my 4 day stay I requested room service. The service tray remained on the patio up to the time we left as it was taken out of the room but never removed from the area. All in all a pleasant stay.The staff was very helpful for the most part,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Florencefrom USA

Wonderful environment. Upgrade their safe boxes.

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately the room lock had problem and could not lock and the safe box was not bolted. The safe box key was not given to me. They changed the room for me. The new room's safe box had no battery and could not change the PIN. I used the key but I found out that the safe box key could be use in different safe box. Hotel's staff are very friendly. The set up is great for vacation and is quite relaxing. It is by a river and the Atlantic ocean. You can have a breathing taking view inside this resort when you see water runs from a river to the ocean. It is a real worth to stay but hopefully they can put more attention on their safe box arrangement. Food in their restaurant is decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Martinfrom London

A luxury visit

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic place, felt spoilt by the luxury and the food in the restaurant was exceptional. A great breakfast as well. Wind blown beach location, offers lots of opportunity to explore. Lovely location next to river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Very nice resort with friendly staff

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The resort is kept up really well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I met the owners who were also very nice. I stayed during the week, so I pretty much had the resort to myself which I loved. The property felt extremely safe which was also important. The only drawbacks were the set dining hours with no place to obtain snacks and the sketchy WIFI in my room. Dominica is a beautiful island and if I return I would definitely stay again.