Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Excellent Update if a Historic Inn and Tavern

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Excellent modern update of a historic inn. The room was very comfortable, attractively decorated with just the right mix of modern and antique.
Cons: Add a small, traditional chest of drawers for clothing. Spot clean or shampoo the area rug.
Location: Make reservations for dinner at the Culinary Institute...the menu is interesting and the service is impeccable.
Friendly check-in...I'm glad we had help toting the bags up a long staircase to the second floor. Beautifully decorated room, 4 big windows, love seat and a comfortable chair, large B&W photo wall hangings of the town taken in the 1950's, clean, attractive bathroom, wall mounted flat-screen TV, excellent queen bed with 4 pillows. During unpacking I noticed a few flaws...no drawers to store folded clothes, shallow tiny closet for hanging garments, attractive area rug was stained and looked a bit dirty. Hotel was a good starting point for us to visit New Paultz, Culinary Institute, and Hyde Park/FDR Museum. Breakfasts at the 1850 House Inn were outstanding plus our second night we ate at the Hotel Tavern and the flat-bread pizzas and roasted stuffed grape-leaves were delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M. Howardfrom Virginia

Great stay in a lovely little out of the way town

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The 1850 House is lovely--nicely appointed and comfortable rooms that feel fresh and new despite the age of the building. The innkeepers were very helpful and the bar downstairs had a very homey stay-awhile vibe at night. Rosendale itself is a tiny town and quite charming. If you were a fan of the Gilmore Girls TV show, then you will recognize it as a sort of hippie version of Stars Hollow (tho even smaller). We ate at the vegetarian cafe across the street from the hotel and there were salsa lessons going on--a beautiful South American woman in skintight dress leading a crowd largely made of funky folk in hiking shoes through basic moves. It was great. The bed at the hotel was terrific. I missed the breakfasts each morning but my husband had them and said they were quite good. We would happily return--lovely, low-key place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob and Carolfrom Massachusetts

Pleasant getaway

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the inn and the town and the surrounding area. Folks were very friendly. Enjoyed having a nightcap out on the deck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Virginiafrom NJ

Vacation

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, beautiful rooms with very comfortable bed and pillows. Air conditioner quiet. No elevator so need to be able to walk up. Breakfast very good although my husband who is a vegan would have liked more options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Great little town

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Renovations were well done
Location: Great little town with plenty of eating choices (for the size of the town that is)
My only complaint was a squeeky bathroom door. Otherwise the room was clean and the hotel itself very quaint
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mfrom nyc

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
a plus plus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil and Leannfrom from Northern NJ

Excellent mix of contemporary and traditional

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice place, Inn is old (1850, of course) but has been extensively restored. Very nice mix of traditional and modern, as sleek new furniture, contemporary wall treatments (huge prints of early 19th century scenes around the town of Rosendale) are mixed with beautiful old woodwork. Rooms well sized, ask for room with sitting area for extra space. Town is a bit of a 'hippie hangout' with eclectic mix of art galleries, etc. Staff very nice, with helpful advice about local sights, etc. Excellent local restarurants, and we always felt safe on the streets, even late at night. Took advantage of their offer of a 'picnic in the park' which is a nice picnic basket with admission to the MOHONK PRESERVE, a beautiful area for hiking. Only odd note was that fruit in our basket was a bit overripe, but sandwiches were great. Lunch came in insulated handled bag with cooling packets, so lunch stayed cold while we took our morning hike. Everything in room and bath was spotless! Breakfast bountiful, only no 'breakfast meats' such as bacon or sausage, etc were offered. Coffee and tea available 24/7 via Keurig, with nice selection. HUGE sitting area downstairs. Tavern in the Inn does not offer food. It was a very quiet Inn, even with tavern. All in all, a wonderful stay, We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bao Demingfrom New York, New York

Fabulous 2 Night Stay

Posted May 4, 2014
Beautiful B&B!!! Modern homey rooms, great bed, clean, extremely friendly owner and staff. A couple of small town eating places and bars right outside the door. 10 min drive from Woodstock, about a 90 min drive from NYC. I would recommend this place to anyone. Nicer than photos suggest. (Full disclosure: I proposed in the bed of Room #4)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johnfrom Secaucus NJ

One night stay

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We found the 1850 house easily, it is a nice quaint and weel equipped place. Retaining the 1850 character while providing free wi-fi and flat screen TV is a fun combination. We had a little trouble with the room heater but got it straightened out soon enough. When we returned from dinner elsewhere we had to wait to park because the lot was jammed with other cars from nearby restaurants, but we got help and we're inside soon enough. We would certainly return if traveling in the area again.