Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time - Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Rosendale is a small town in Ulster county. This hotel was very clean, interesting artifacts, magazines and very nice room downstairs to hang out in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Janet from Huntington, Long Island, NY

We'll be back!

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
What a terrific place! I had read about its history ( It's been a hotel since about 1850, hence the name), and loved the old photographs to be found throughout! Room was super comfy, immaculate. Really nice linens, comfortable bed, cushy robes left for the am. Staff was lovely, and very accomodating. We are vegan, and my daughter gluten free as well. While they tried very hard to accommodate us, IT'S DiFFICULT! They did cut up beautiful fruit, topped with big ripe blackberries (yum), and happily prepared gluten free, vegan pancakes (w their real maple syrup) that we had brought along. They asked questions about our diet, telling us that they're aware that many travelers have special dietary needs: they told us they were looking to move to accommodate some of these in the future: I'll bet they will! In the meantime, They had told us about a yummy vegetarian/vegan restaurant right across the street (accommodates gluten-free diners as well). It was great. I highly recommend this place! Enjoy the New Paltz area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christine from San Francisco, CA

Perfect!

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
I loved this place! I came in late, and the kitchen in the tavern downstairs had closed, but the chef whipped me up one of the best burgers I've ever had. That, and a craft beer and welcoming conversation with the bartender started my weekend out just right. The room was wonderful, and the breakfasts superb. Hanging out in the lobby - with all the coffee or tea you can drink by the modern fireplace was like hanging out in comfortable living room at home - only better - since the authentic architectural reminders from 1850 added a wonderful sense of history to the experience. I can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Excellent Update if a Historic Inn and Tavern

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Excellent modern update of a historic inn. The room was very comfortable, attractively decorated with just the right mix of modern and antique.
Cons: Add a small, traditional chest of drawers for clothing. Spot clean or shampoo the area rug.
Location: Make reservations for dinner at the Culinary Institute...the menu is interesting and the service is impeccable.
Friendly check-in...I'm glad we had help toting the bags up a long staircase to the second floor. Beautifully decorated room, 4 big windows, love seat and a comfortable chair, large B&W photo wall hangings of the town taken in the 1950's, clean, attractive bathroom, wall mounted flat-screen TV, excellent queen bed with 4 pillows. During unpacking I noticed a few flaws...no drawers to store folded clothes, shallow tiny closet for hanging garments, attractive area rug was stained and looked a bit dirty. Hotel was a good starting point for us to visit New Paultz, Culinary Institute, and Hyde Park/FDR Museum. Breakfasts at the 1850 House Inn were outstanding plus our second night we ate at the Hotel Tavern and the flat-bread pizzas and roasted stuffed grape-leaves were delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by M. Howard from Virginia

Great stay in a lovely little out of the way town

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
The 1850 House is lovely--nicely appointed and comfortable rooms that feel fresh and new despite the age of the building. The innkeepers were very helpful and the bar downstairs had a very homey stay-awhile vibe at night. Rosendale itself is a tiny town and quite charming. If you were a fan of the Gilmore Girls TV show, then you will recognize it as a sort of hippie version of Stars Hollow (tho even smaller). We ate at the vegetarian cafe across the street from the hotel and there were salsa lessons going on--a beautiful South American woman in skintight dress leading a crowd largely made of funky folk in hiking shoes through basic moves. It was great. The bed at the hotel was terrific. I missed the breakfasts each morning but my husband had them and said they were quite good. We would happily return--lovely, low-key place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob and Carol from Massachusetts

Pleasant getaway

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed the inn and the town and the surrounding area. Folks were very friendly. Enjoyed having a nightcap out on the deck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Virginia from NJ

Vacation

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
Clean, beautiful rooms with very comfortable bed and pillows. Air conditioner quiet. No elevator so need to be able to walk up. Breakfast very good although my husband who is a vegan would have liked more options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great little town

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Renovations were well done
Location: Great little town with plenty of eating choices (for the size of the town that is)
My only complaint was a squeeky bathroom door. Otherwise the room was clean and the hotel itself very quaint
5 out of 5
Recommended
by m from nyc

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
a plus plus