Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed in hotel for two nights B&B.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Hotel was very clean and comfortable,the staff were very friendly and the food excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John Moore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ivanovitchfrom Carrickfergus

Nostalgic getaway and 'pet friendly' too!

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed a break and the thought of airports and flying wasn't appealing. "Let's head closer to home - and wouldn't it be great to have our (small) dog with us?" A quick search on Hotels.com showed up the Sandhouse in Rossnowlagh, Co Donegal as a 'pet friendly' hotel in a spectacular location on the west coast of Ireland. Early childhood memories of visits around this area sealed our decision and off we went. A warm welcome awaited us (and our pooch) and soon we were relaxing, enjoying Irish hospitality in their cosy restaurant with its panoramic view over the golden sands and surfer's paradise of Rossnowlagh beach. Be aware however, this is certainly no ultra modern four star hotel. The bedroom furniture and bathroom is of an earlier era but 'so what' - if some light bulbs aren't working and the shower isn't a 'power experience' - we were there to 'chill out'' and forgiveness was soon offered when pampered each morning with a personally served 'Full Irish' breakfast (even honey and cream on your porridge) followed by bracing walks down the miles of golden beach right on the doorstep. There are many tourist attractions within easy driving distance from here both north and south. Just soak up the fresh air though - such a relaxing experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom N.I.

A bit overrated.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The hotel is located on a lovely beach, the view from our window was great. the room was clean but stuffy, there was no air condition. The hotel in general is quite dated in some places shabby. The public areas were not very clean. The veranda overlooking the sea should have been a nice place to sit but was dirty, ashtrays were rarely emptied. The food was excellent, the hotels only saving grace. The dining room staff were very pleasant, reception staff less so. All in all a bit of a disappointment and not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by touristfrom Co Donegal

Special timeSpecial time

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
very excited on way to Rossnoulagh---proved to be easy to find---well sign posted---Wow!!1 what a magnificent Hotel on that idilic beach. We were warmly welcomed and soon were on our way usind a RoolsRoyce lift to the second floor room. I will never forget the view from the window when I looked out last Friday afternoon, and saw the Blue sky the tide returning to the shore, and it dotted with dozens of surfers riding the waves --some more skilled than others. We were away for a few days and because the food was so good and served by beautiful looking well mannered youndg people, together with the fact that our bed was so comfortable with excellent bathroom facilities-- AND each evening a lovely turf fire was blazing a warm welcome from the grate---result--we stayed an extra 2nights Super value 100 miles from home--even the sea was warm---be back in September--if well enough to travel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane Gilgunfrom Minnesota, USA

I liked it so much I made a video

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The sound of ocean waves, the scent of salt air, a hotel that looks like it is a setting for an Agatha Christie novel, a full-service spa--what more could a weary traveler want? Located on the wild Atlantic Way, not far from Ballyshannon and Bundoran, The Sand House Hotel has excellent amenities. After almost two weeks in hot, dry Israel, I came directly to the Sand House Hotel. I thought I had arrived in heaven. People were glad to see me. My room was ready. The food was outstanding. The hotel charming beyond words. I loved it so much I made a video and posted it on YouTube. The terrace and dining room looks out over the rolling waves of the Atlantic Ocean. The beach is miles long and set in a gracefully curving bay. The mountains of Donegal are across the bay. Surfing, boating, traditional crafts, arts, relaxation--they are all at the Sand House Hotel. This is a great place to stay and relax a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chrbro

Topp

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Meget bra !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by alanfrom wisconsin

Bit remote and "too posh"

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nicely maintained. Obviously almost empty hotel but turned us away at mid-day as room "not ready". Drinks scandalously priced so went to Ballyshannon. Location a bit remote. Aimed at the 'posh" end of hotel users who stay put and pay high hotel drink/food prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Magnificent view

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
As we were only staying one night we just book a standard room. On arrival we were upgraded and were given a beautiful room with a magnificent view.