Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Very nice place to stay for a getaway

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Great venue. Great location. Definitely recommend and would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location, gorgeous setting

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Beautiful location and close to everything you would want to see and do in The Hunter Valley.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Gorgeous property, Friendly staff!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Beautiful property, friendly staff!
Cons: The king bed was actually 2 single mattresses put together. This made the center of the bed on the edge of each mattress hard and uncomfortable
Location: Lots of wine tasting near by and plenty of activities on location.
This hotel was beautiful. I took my girlfriend there for a little trip out of Sydney. We enjoyed a spa retreat together, went on a 1/2 day wine tasting tour and I proposed! The grounds are great and the staff was super friendly. Restaurant was delicious and the golf course looked beautiful. Didn't have time to golf though. We tried to go to the range and they didn't let us know of the dress code for the club, so wouldn't let us even hit balls because we weren't dressed appropriately. Will know better for next time but they should have also said something upon check-in or when I asked about the cost of the range in the club house. The room was beautiful and spacious. The only downside was the king bed was actually 2 single beds joined together, which made for a hard and uncomfortable ridge down the center of the bed. Other than that, the pillows and bedding were very comfortable and the amenities of the room were great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Sydney

Great location, perfect place to escape

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The villa style accommodation makes it feel less of a big corporate hotel
Cons: Bar was closed at 9.30 on a Friday
Great place to get away, I'd come back again without a second thought
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alese from Sydney

Modern hotel with lovely view over the valley

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Staff were lovely and professional and organised a complimentary bottle of wine after the bed mixup
Cons: Staff reading the notes - we asked for 2 King Singles and were given a King bed instead Food, beverages and day spa expensive.
Location: Close to boutique wineries - Gundog, Tambaulaine, Scarborough, Leogate. Have brunch at Enzo Cafe
Enjoyed our stay, facilities were modern and everything is maintained well. The hotel is quite central to many wineries and the Hunter Valley Gardens. And if you like golf, it looks like a decent course
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Sydney

Great weekend at Chateau Elan

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Room comfort, room view, location, cafe, spa, friendly & helpful staff.
Cons: Bathroom door
Location: Great location, quick drive to Polkolbin wineries and restaurants, Hunter Valley Horse Riding and the Hunter Valley Gardens.
We stayed here over the Queen's Birthday weekend. Staff were friendly and accommodating (they moved us to a room with a golf course view when we were disappointed with our original courtyard room). The high tea in the cafe was terrific, one of the best I've had & the Spa was great. The room was clean, modern and nicely furnished with a beautiful view of the local wallabies on the golf course. The only downside was the bathroom facilities, the spa rooms have a spa and sink in the main room part, with a frosted glass door seperating the toilet facilities. The glass door doesn't reach the ceiling and I found it lacked privacy. That was a very minor issue though and I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Sydney

Easy location for quick getaway

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: ease of location, overall presentation, one stop shop
Cons: na
Location: Wine wine and more wine.
We decided to get away mid day on the thursday, and had booked in by that evening. initial greeting was warm and friendly, with the novel offer of a golf buggy to take us to diner. we declined preferring to settle in first, and headed to the room. when we e called for a buggy to collect us and it turned up promptly. The club house was welcoming with a fire already going, and friendly bar staff. there was a delay in getting into the restaurant which we should probably have been advised of before collection, but the atmosphere was nice enough to get started. the food in the restaurant was good, except the steak(for a signature dish) which was overcooked, chewy, and questionable for $45. this was mentioned on completion of the meal, and a non fuss resolution was presented - that course free of charge. couldn't have asked for an easier night - nothing was an isse - wait staff were above standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Radzi

very nice stay

Posted May 6, 2014
modern, clean, high quality finish,modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.modern, clean, high quality finish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney NSW

Simply superb!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Nothing less than amazing ! From the staff to the accommodation itself, everything exceeded my expectations beyond belief ! Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Bed! Amazing spa
Cons: Room service was served in a cardboard box with wooden forks. Very sloppy and substandard considering the caliber of hotel.
Location: wine tasting!
Wonderful rooms, very professional service absolute joy to stay