Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from New Jersey

Perfect location and price

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The Hotel Schranne is perfectly situation in a quiet section of Rothenburg within the old city wall.
Cons: A refrigerator in the room would have been nice.
Location: Rothenburg is a jewel and well worth visiting for those who like exploring.
We traveled to Rotherburg to see a perfectly preserved medieval city with an intact city wall. We were overjoyed at what we found. Spent three wonderful nights there and could have easily stayed many more. There are many small hotels in Rothernburg, some right in the city center. We appreciated Hotel Schranne because it was off the center and quiet, allowing open windows through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andreas/Sarah from Nevada

Hotel in Rothenburg

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Free breakfast and free parking.
Cons: Some of the doorways were alittle low for a 6'4 person.
Location: In the heart of the city. 5 minute walk to all of the christmas shops, bakeries, cafes etc.
My wife and I stayed in this hotel because it was in the middle of the city. We were able to walk to the weinachsmarkt every day, and into the heart of the city in about 5 minutes. It also had free parking, which is very valuable inside the city which has very tight parking. Hotel was very nice, and fair for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pam from Stevens Point, WI

Good Value & Hotel to Stay

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: We did not have to use it, but if you want to use the air conditioner you must pay additional to use it.
Location: This hotel is very close to the square and right next to the outer edge of the city which made it easy to get to and get out of for us.
The staff is very fiendly and helpful, but at times it was hard to find someone, but that is becaue they are always working and do multiply jobs at the hotel/restaurant. The room we were in was facing the road and it was wonderful. This was our first time to Germany and we spent our first two nights at this hotel and could not have asked for a better hotel or room. The room was clean and large and breakfast had many items to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full ashtray outside of bathroom

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Location: Perfect location next to the beautiful city walls
Overall a nice German gasthof hotel with friendly staff, good breakfast and a very good restaurant. Our bathroom smelled like cigarette smoke, quite a it. It took us a while to find out that there is a big ashtray right outside the window, used by the hotel staff. Also, wifi costs extra but doesn't work in the rooms. Just on the first floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel was sufficient for our one night stay, but had nothing that made it an outstanding experience. As with several hotels I stayed at in Germany, I had to pay for wi-fi access. I truly dislike this trend, especially given that some hotels offer it for free. In the case of this hotel, the wi-fi only worked on the ground floor. Since our room was on the 2nd floor, that was not helpful. We were dissapointed in the food at lunch and again at breakfast the next day. Nothing bad, just not really good. Again, a sufficient hotel for a short stay, but for anything longer than I that, I would look for another spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

In the medieval town!

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good - and close to the sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but good.

Posted May 17, 2012
This hotel is combined with restaurant, but it is comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very Satisfied

Posted Jan 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Loved the hotel. It had great character; was close to the center of town, right next to the Old Wall build around the town. Free parking was an added bonus. Wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

Just what we were looking for

Posted Sep 24, 2011
Great location, delicious and generous breakfast, clean and comfortable room. If you are looking for a simple, quiet place to stay, then this hotel is a good choice. We were very pleased with our experience here.