Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Awful staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Very little apart from the location.
Cons: A change of ownership. Wifi in the room AC Maintenance service for at least the daylight hours.
Location: Irrelevant as there is a beautiful town a little way away with everything you need.
The staff were clearly having a bad day and decided to take it out on me. When I arrived the safe in the room was not working and I asked for it to be fixed. I was told that was not possible, I couldn't move rooms or leave valuables in the hotel safe. When I eventually got the manager to do something she then accused me of breaking the safe which just needed new batteries and being reset. As I say she was in a very bad mood and determined to take it out on somebody. A stand-up row ensued as I insisted that I had done nothing wrong. She never apologised even though she knew she was wrong. A very grumpy old woman and daughter receptionist who really didn't care about any sort of customer service. The room was OK but had old furniture and a hard bed. it was clean though. No AC and the wifi didn't work in the room. There are lots of other hotels in this lovely town and I would advise you to pick one of them unless you want to take a chance on the staff being in a good mood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ABSOLUTE EXCELLENCE!!!!!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised at the size of our room and the upscale design and decor of the hotel. The staff was amazingly helpful, the parking garage was a major convenience in Rothenburg, the location was perfect, and I will never stay any where else in Rothenburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Scotland

Interesting hotel within city walls

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Stayed for one night to explore the old city. Reception staff all very pleasant and helpful. Hotel provides a simple, cheap breakfast in a restored hall. It does not offer dinner - not a problem given large number of hotels & restaurants in the city. Parking (for a fee) in a basement car park. City is a real gem. Hilltop location and lots of places of historical interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Heather from Germany

Christmas Market Visit

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean, great location, only complaint is they only serve breakfast, no other meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by K. R. from USA

Worthwhile Maye

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel , as all hotels in Rothenberg ob der Tauber, are centrally located because the city is so small inside the walls. Hotel was very clean, breakfast was fantastic ( and for 5 Euro a steal so a must if you stay). WiFi was very good. No need to book a larger than needed room as they are nice but "spartan". Only issue was it was also filled with a few tour groups so it seems to cater to that audience. Overall nice staff, good English, and good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shea from USA

Rothenburg

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in a great location - not right in the main square but a close enough walk. Room was spacious, clean, and in good repair; however, it was a little chilly in the room and took a while to heat it up because the radiator was weak. The breakfast is not worth the extra charge, you're better off with going to one of the many cafes nearby. They did offer free WiFi, but we had a hard time staying connected in a second floor room. If you go down to the lobby the connection is good with comfortable seating. This is a beautiful hotel and well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Yenny from Singapore

Decent hotel within the old town walls

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed there in Aug 2013. Good location on a quiet street, about 10 mins walk from train station, but already within the town walls (2 mins walk to the famous Plonlein, about 5 mins walk to Rathaus). Breakfast buffet was good and very cheap (EUR 5 per pax). Service was average, very practical, could be better with a smile. Room was spacious. No tea/coffee-making facility. No minibar, just a small bottle of free sparkling water. Nothing remarkable, just a decent hotel that fulfils all the basic travel needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by CT from USA

Great stay in Rothenburg

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
HAB was stylishly updated and clean with friendly helpful staff, several small relaxation terraces on the property, some overlooking the town, I liked that the location was inside the walls and near the action but not on a busy street. Very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronna from Pocatello, ID - USA

Nice Medlieval Town

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The quaint design and cleanliness - lots of verandas.
Cons: The pillows were somewhat large for sleeping and awkward to handle.
Location: It was in the center of Rothenberg ob de Tauber and close to all there is to do.
Fun medieval experience and hotel was a very convenient location with great, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AlanB from USA

Inside the Walls!

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect location for a trip to explore Rothenburg. Just down the street from the main drag of town. It was great to be able to stay inside the walls of the old town. We were able to park our rental car in the garage downstairs which was very convenient. Place is old - like everything else in that town - but very charming and well maintained. No A/C but it rained when we were there so we were very comfortable.