Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old hotel in the center of town!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The antiques, the attention to detail, the bar area.
Cons: No, it was very nice.
Location: Right in the middle so can walk around the wall of the city, or go to all the shops
We loved the interior with the old wide staircase, and the antiques everywhere. We liked how they keep the bar area open late so you can have a late night drink. Very fancy, and the staff were good too. Even loved the old elevators with the doors on them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia.

lovely, romantic hotel.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
great experience, beautiful hotel in a beautiful medieval village. Fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Over-rated

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Nice decor. centrally located
Cons: I felt the staff only wanted our money. Not really trying to provide a good service. I had nicer experience with many other hotels than this one.
Location: The folks from the town were very friendly and genuine. We ran into their local parade when we arrived and got very warm welcome.
We booked the room through Expedia and had no idea the room is at the other building. The only front desk is at the main building that means the other 2 building had no security at all. We didn't feel safe staying at the other building so we asked to get a room at the main building. We were told initially it would cost another 30 euro. But then when we decided to take the room we were told it's actually another 43 Euro, not 30. But at that time we had already paid for the basic room and could not back out anymore. It does not make sense to me that we have to pay 43 euro to feel safe at a hotel. The room was nice after the upgrade. We had a balcony facing the valley and the room was re-painted, not really renovated. The free Wifi was good for only 5 hours, not 5 hours of usage but 5 hours counting from the minute we logged on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Charming and quiet

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful. You leave your room key each time you go out, so there's more interaction with the reception staff.
Location: Town square is 5 minutes away. Definitely take the night watchman's tour! Shopping and great food are also just a few minutes walk from hotel.
Great location, just 10 to 15 minutes walk to most of downtown action and sights. Took a taxi from and to train station as most of the way is cobblestone and might be hard on rolling luggage. Room was beautifully decorated, with comfortable bed and small sitting area. Nights in June were cool, and I used the room fan also for cooling. I slept really well here! I would definitely stay here again, as it was very pleasant: nice room, helpful staff, perfect location. Gave the hotel facilities only a 4 rating as the floors and stairs are creaky. Everything is updated in the bathroom, though. It is all clean and well maintained, but these buildings that make up the hotel are a collection of wealthy people's homes from the past, and that's part of their charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Excellent. Good located. Good breakfast an beatifull town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from USA

Great Location

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing. It was great
Location: Perfect , close to everything
Very enjoyable. Perfect for walking around the old city. Centrally located to everything !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Xing

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb from Iowa City, IA

Right on the Main Street

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: Right in the heart of the historic town.
Had a lovely time at the hotel and the food was great!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by anne from usa

wonderful service, centrally located

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment we arrived (and even before with precise driving directions), the staff was very accommodating, including parking our car on the street practically at the hotel door for a very reasonably priced (5 euros for 24 hours) and printing out driving directions to our next destination. Our room was spacious with a terrace looking toward the outside dining area. No other buildings loomed up blocking our view. The bathroom was large, had dated fixtures (mauve) but was in excellent working order. The public spaces are very traditional and handsome. The Eisenhut owns three or four buildings, each was quite attractive. Perhaps some of the rooms in these buildings have a/c-or maybe in that part of Bavaria it is not needed. Breakfast was served in the ground floor dining room, also very handsome. There were many delicious choices and excellent service also. The rear outside terrace was not sampled as it was rainy but looked festive and comfortable. There are also a few tables with flowers and shade by the hotel front door available for refreshments. Our room did not appear to have a/c though there was a portable floor fan in the corner. But for our brief mid-May stay, there was adequate ventilation. Highly recommend the hotel for location, service and traditional atmosphere.