Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located in the main square of Rothenburg

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Cons: The bathroom, as noted above.
The hotel is a charming 3-storey building in the center of medieval Rothenburg. The hotel is stairs-only, so be mindful if you have mobility issues or two tonnes of luggage. The lady who oversees check-ins/check-outs and breakfast is very helpful and pleasant, and was one of the best things about our stay. An older building, the hotel has its quirks, such as severely slanting stairways, and our room had a definite list to it. The bathroom, however, is something that should be improved upon. The room was wholly composed of an acrylic insert - walls, floor, ceiling and shower unit. It reminded us of a camper trailer bathroom. The worst part was that there was an overwhelming smell of mildew in the bathroom without any idea of where it originated. By morning, as we kept the bathroom door closed overnight to keep out the smell, all the towels had picked up the heavy mildew scent as well. The rest of the hotel room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet, which is included in the price, was well varied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Fantastic location. None better right on square

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Bells can be loud in am but overall value and location can't be beat. We had 4 children with us in 2 rooms and was fantastic. Breakfast was a little sparse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Great location for seeing the town

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location. Charm.
Cons: Nothing, given the age of the building and ordinances not to change the structure in or out. DON'T stay there if you can't carry heavy luggage.
Location: Centrally located for scouring the town. Excellent dining nearby.
Rothenburg o. d. Tauber is a delightful town. The room and teeny-tiny bath were fairly nice; however, we were over a town square on the back side and it was noisy late at night and early in the morning. The building is 600 yrs old,, making it fascinating, but as such cannot be updated in or out to include conveniences such as an elevator. If you are handicapped, unstable on your feet, or feeble, good luck with all the steps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Excellent location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
This is a great hotel to stay in, we only stayed for one night but loved it. The location is awesome, it is right off the town square. They provide a great breakfast and free internet (that is fast :) ). The staff are charming and friendly. The rooms are designed to fit with the medieval feel of the town, they are small but cute and beds are comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mikefrom PA

Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent. Wonderful place to visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff Tobinfrom Cape Coral, Florida

Cheap and Well Situated

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was acceptable but there were several duplicitous things that clearly stood out: There is NO free parking! Internet does not work in the room. There is NO restaurant in the hotel. There are no tables on the terrace. In fact, the photos are not representative of the hotel. If you are looking for location, this is the place. Martina, the chief receptionist and bottle washer, was great. She made the stay pleasurable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bepfrom Calgary

Goldeness Lamm in Rothenberg

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Fans inthe rooms and parking with a map.
Location: Location inthe mkddle of town from there everything is close by, can recommend The romantische Strasse, all small towns along one highway, to visit.
Hotel was good no airconditioning and we were on the top floor so very warm, outside temps were 30 to 38 degrees celcius. Hotel was in the middle of town great location. findin the hotel was very hard even the GPS had trouble. Parking a nightmare, no parking by the hotel so paid parking somewhere else, better knkw exactly where your car is otherwise jt will take you a while to find it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Susanfrom Boise, Idaho

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect location in the old city- near the square and shops. The building is 600 years old with sloping floors and crooked stairs. Breakfast average and the rooms are just okay with really poor bathrooms. The bath is an insert similar to an RV or a cruise ship: very, very tiny with no counter space. We loved the location, but I would prefer a better and bigger bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lower standard than expected

Posted Dec 8, 2013
We stayed in room number 1 advertised as market view room. We really looked onto a building being renovated and the market view was with head out window. The room facing the market was noisy and smelt damp. The room was very tired. The restaurant seats were quite dirty and this reflected our view of the overall hotel.