Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by W from Singapore

Convenient to get to Rothenburg Centre

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed & breakfast included
Cons: The hotel could at least provide service to send luggage to our hotel room & build shelter to the hotel room as it was raining when we got there.
Location: Convenient, close to one of the Rothenburg's entrance
It was a 5 mins taxi ride cost us less than 5 Euro to get to the hotel. We checked in from the hotel lobby but had to drag our luggage down to basement (from a small elevator) and then all the way to the car park behind the hotel and reached the building across/ behind the car park, kind of tiring to do so with cobbled-stones road. The room was quite small but we had 3 comfortable single beds to sleep for a triple room so that was quite good (it wasn't extra foldable bed or sofa bed). The bathroom was clean and comfortable. It came with breakfast which was situated in another building that 3 mins walk from the hotel lobby, the western breakfast was quite standard but the croissant was surprisingly delicious. This hotel is 5 mins walk away from one of the Rothenburg's entrance so it's convenient to walk around at night and get back to hotel with such walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Initially given the wrong room

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location is excellent.
Checked in after jet lag and a long flight. I had a reservation on Expedia with the best family room that the hotel had to offer, but I was given a room with 3 twin beds (3 in our party) that you needed a shoe horn to get into. I went to the desk, told them about my reservation and that I wanted a better room and was given one. Had I not asked, it would have been a bitter disappointment. The manager was very accommodating. The breakfast was great. Two wonderful days in Rothenburg!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beto from Curitiba

Great location, perfect stay

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location and confort
Location: At a few meters of one of the gates of the Old city walls, easy access to Rothenburg's Main attractions
Hotel Zum Rappen is the perfect place to stay in Rothenburg, with the confort and the pleasantness of a typical german "gasthof", located at the Very feet of the walls of the Old city. Parking and a delicious breakfast add to the excellency of the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall the Hotel was very nice, comfortable.

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Very close to old town, great location.
Cons: No smoking means...no smoking?!
Nonsmoking rooms, smelled terribly like a smoking room. very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AS1 from Essex, England

wonderful

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was superb, the restaurant and bars at the hotel were very good. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kiwi traveller from Auckland - New Zealand

Close to train station & the city centre

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Beautiful city, nice new rooms, good breakfast, awesome staff, awesome people. Would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Rothenburg 2013

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Cons: Better communication about free internet and free breakfast service and location.
Location: Not inside the city wall but could walk if it wasn't to cold or raining.
Staff was firm about checking at 2:00pm and nothing earlier. Wasn't told about the free internet and needing a code. You must sign for a code and can not obtain the code from your room, not helpful when your in the three building and it's cold and late night. Read some where they had laundry service available this is not true unless you want dry cleaning which isn't available except Mon to Fri.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the Gasthof, not the main hotel. Room was big by European standards. Very clean. Good breakfast buffet. Convenient to both town center and train station. Only issue was room description was "double or twin" and we got the twin. There was no choice.