Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Sofia from Auckland

Old hotel, but in fine condition

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The restaurant was lovely.
Cons: Rooms defiantly need a revamp & to modernize.
Location: Was a far distance from the city centre but that's what made the location perfect.
Was in a lovely location about 15-20 minutes out of Rotorua central. It was a lot smaller than I had expected, but thats the problem with photos. Staff seemed nice, & helpful. There was no kitchenette or plates & utensils so that made it hard to eat in the hotel room. Hotel room was neat & tidy but defiantly needs a revamp & new furniture. Over all stay was good, but wont go back there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities

Posted Jan 21, 2014
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

A bit tired, loud kids and inconsistent service

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the hotel 6 months in advance, but they did not have the type of room we booked and we checked in at 4 PM. The receptionist did not make any attempt to rectify. My wife has allergies, but when we talked to the same receptionist about the menu, he was very uncooperative and said no substitutions and the menu in our room was not available. The next day, we talked to the restaurant and they we very accommodating. We were on the ground floor and our ceiling must be paper thin as we could hear every movement upstairs. The room was fine, but we had a confirmed king bed and did not get it. There were a ton of kids and families. There was no staff to help keep them amused or in check, but to be fair, I have no idea if that happens all the time. It is a nice location, good layout and lots of potential. It just seemed tired. The room was quite hot, although the temperature outside was pleasant. No air con, so we slept with the windows open. That was great until the kids woke up and we were trying to sleep in. The service was not horrible as we had good experiences and bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ed from NSW Australia

Showing it's age a little

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
An enjoyable stay, however several items could be updated to bring this hotel into the 21st. Century. I have supplied the hotel management with a constructive list of suggestions. For the area, this remains a nice hotel as long as you have a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CathrynT from Melbourne

Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is full of amenities, pool, laundry room, outdoor playground. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly. Helped us to bring our luggages upstairs. But the room was a bit too small to fit a family of 4.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: location, location, location!!!
Cons: The restaurant was too expensive, not a lot of selection for food, too quiet you could hear a pin drop
Beautiful location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from BOP New Zealand

Wonderful Stay :-)

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Location, and the room was amazing
Location: Location was just outside Rotorua so not too far from many activities if that's what you want to do but in such a peaceful and magical lakeside spot
Wonderful, wonderful place to go stay. Would recommend a night or two to anyone :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by magnum from leeds

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
magic location great service excellent value for money hotel