Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NZ Waikato

Good location motel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: upgrade interior and exterior and add more resources
Unfortunately this motel was very run down and under equipped. Only a couple of utensils so had to eat dinner with a spoon. The spa did not have working jets-we booked this motel to be able to relax in the spa after the running event we were attending. We noticed when we were leaving and checking that we had all of our belongings that under the beds was dusty and bits of rubbish, Won't stay here again :(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, Waikato

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Location: Its 2.3 km from town, so not far to walk on a good day. Close to far end of Fenton Street, so good if travelling onto Taupo
Provided the basics at an economic price. Cooking capability an added bonus
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winsford, England

Did not receive what we expected

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: We disliked everything about this motel.
Cons: Needs an inspection visit as the advertisements were incorrect & misleading.
Location: Th least said the better
When we booked, we asked for two queen beds but we were given one double bed and two single divans on an upper floor. Both lower and upper rooms were bitterly cold and heating was only available from a portable heater which gave poor output. Bedding on the upper floor also smelt damp. The TV only had about 8 channels and there were no subtitles available. We originally booked for two nights, then separately,another night, making it three nights in all but we cancelled the third night and went elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Manager was great.
Cons: Could do with new carpet in room 15 and spa to be fixed other then that it was fine.
Location: Perfect location just central.
Exactly what we wanted as we went in as 3 families. Jet spa wasnt working and manager kindly gave a good discount. No probs at all had a good time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom palmerston north

Not as it seems

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location
This hotel was not the cleanest in any way, half the lights were not working. The spa did not work either. I was disappointed in the description verse what you saw.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loving it.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: price v. comfort
Location: Rotorua smells..... but its a fun place to visit, luge, gondola, rainbow springs, buried village.... a dream for a kids holiday.
Although the facilities are not something new, it is all well maintained and the jet pool is fantastic! a place you can visit with kids, and a place i surly will return to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Just a perfect place closer to where I want to go.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: It is close to what Rotorua is famous for… the geyser and mud pools.
Cons: Oh, the floor carpet needs refurbishing… it's already getting bald. And the stairs and floor upstairs are squeaky… though not so important.
Location: just perfect.
Although I just stayed one night… it was great. I should have stayed longer if only knew Rotorua has so much to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Good staff motel was worn but great for price and would recommend to all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dysiefrom NZ

Cheap

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My family of 5, 3 adults, 2 kids stayed for one night and it was cheap. It is like a lot of motels, in need of an upgrade. We had a bed each but on the divans downstairs there were no pillows. only squabs. We had taken our own so it didn't matter. The upstairs beds didn't have much in the way of blankets but seemed to be warm enough. The springs on the armchair appeared to have gone. There wasn't enough crockery and cutlery for 5 people. Strange set up in the kitchen. Good points - good heater, it was a cold day. Good spa. For one night stay at the price, it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mrk340from Sydney

Older yet comfortable accommodation

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at the Gwendoline was pleasant with little to complain about. The rooms where on the older side of things but the price reflected this. The location was great being within 5-10mins of all the local attractions. I would stay again and recommend anyone after cheap accommodation to stay here too.