Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from osborne

Great hotel! Great staff! Perfect location!!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
STRONGLY urge all to stay here! My partner and I stayed in "the new wing" and our room was fabulous. Great amenities, great bed, perfect in-room heater/Air con/fan system. The rooms are very quiet so outdoor noises were rarely heard. We are foreign and had found disappointment in other hotels in NZ due to their restrictions on wifi usage (we wanted to FaceTime or kids) but were overjoyed when Regent had unlimited, FREE wifi (no strings...COMPLETELy free) And The service was great! The bathroom was wonderful as well. Very clean, very cozy and we will be booking again when we return to Rotorua area. We also used the on-premise restaurant for breakfast one day and dessert on one night. Both were delicious and staff was great! Note to regent: with all the updates you are doing to the rooms and how fabulous all the areas are, we were surprised at the below average thermal spring room. The room served it's purpose and we still enjoyed our time in there but please consider updating/remodeling that area. Rather than outdated tile, what about river rock tile? Remove the carpet, replace with heated tile? Installing a recirculating waterfall to being that outdoor feeling would make your place UNBELIEVABLE!!! A more natural looking environment in that room would do wonders. We actively sought out Kerosene Creek, and other outdoor springs because of the below average experience of the thermal spring room. Other than that, we LOVE your hotel! We will return to you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUCKLAND

GREAT FOR AN OVERNIGHT BUSINESS STAY

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: CLEAN, MODERN & FRIENDLY
Cons: ROOM WAS A LITTLE DARK (LIGHTING WEAK) AND A TAD COLD _ BUT CRANKED UP THE HEAT PUMP SO ALL GOOD
Location: CLOSE TO GOOD EATING FOR A QUICK BITE
GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION & REALLY HELPFUL STAFF _ WILL STAY AGAIN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service with a high standard restaurant.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent restaurant High quality staff service Handy to down town
Cons: No issues
Handy to down town eateries and tourist center. Staff very accommodating and eager to please. Room was pretty good with no negatives to report. We would be happy to return and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
lovely overnight stay, great meal in the restaurant, thoroughly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MM from NZ

close to town, nice reception staff.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: receptionist, location
Cons: Yes The lady in the breakfast bar.see above
It was 2nd time we spend a night at your hotel. Location and reception staff are excellent BUT the foreign young lady in restaurant/breakfast room has been directly rude with her comments our request. In both occasions we said to her that her cappuccino was too fluffy/too much foam/too little liquid. Her immediate response was " why did you ordered then?" then we asked for plunge coffee which was fine, we paid for both of them , however we felt she was too rude and her customer care was below the service level we could expect from NZ. Ps I am foreigner my self. I hope someone mention it to her. cheers
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from Sydney

Short Rotorua visit

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Firmer mattress
Location: Centrally located, easy to walk around
Hotel is excellently located near main restaurant strip and is easy to locate for new visitors. The hotel layout features heavily on it's previous existence as a motel. For this reason, I did not particularly like the windows looking directly onto the public area/pool. Also, the bathroom vent was loud but totally ineffective when taking a hot shower. Finally, the bed mattress was incredibly soft which I found rather uncomfortable. However, these are relatively minor things and, for a short visit, the hotel was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven from Singapore

Fantastic stay

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the best hotels for our trip. Everything was of a very high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was big and clean and the bed comfortable. The hotel is also within walking distance from shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A traveler from USA

A nice and swanky hotel!

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This retro hotel was very clean and well serviced. Plenty of free parking and walking distance to many restaurants. Best of all, they have a mineral pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by madan from India

very helpful and cheerful staff

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
great stay - little too expensive for the size of the rooms.good location