Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

Nice hotel, quiet location

Posted May 15, 2015
From the minute we got there the staff were happy and upbeat, they made us feel welcome from start to finish. It is the best hotel experience I have had, this is due to the staff, awesome breakfast buffet and our room/facilities. I would definitely stay here again and 100% recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
The hotel was beyond friendly. The facility itself was a little outdated but comfortable and was lakefront which was nice. A 10 min drive from Rotorua.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom auckland

Staff very rude huge disappointment

Posted May 10, 2015
It was a disaster staying there. The reception guy was extremely rude towards women! He spoke to my partner and l in a total different manner! When l expressed my dissatisfaction about his service and attitude , he responded "I will only Speak to your partner, if you can just keep quite"! All our guests were shocked about the service. We also witnessed similar incidents when this same staff member being rude treated other guests in a unacceptable manner! The bed was so worn that cause us backpain after sleeping there for 2 nights. The shower was old and water pressure is very low. It ran out of hot water quite quickly ! We booked this hotel far away from town hoping to have a relax weekend! BUT our stay there was far from relax! A huge disappointment ! A formal complaint has been made to management ! Would not recommend this hotel !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older property with the necessities

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location worked for us as we were visiting friends who lived that far out of Rotorua. Staff were short in numbers but were eager to please.
Cons: Fluctuating water temp in the shower was frustrating as was trying to find front desk staff.
Location: Back of the lake with little around
Basic older hotel with basic facilities. It was ok and it didn't cost much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Excellent resort

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, room is clean, bathroom is big, tub is big
Cons: Internet connection, breakfast
Location: Hell gate, lake
It is just 5 minutes drive from Hell Gate. The room is very new, very clean. The bathroom is clean, big with a huge tub. The lake is beside. The staff are nice too. The place is quite, bed is comfortable, so I had a good sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nz

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: It offered good value, a great location, a good night's sleep and friendly staff.
Cons: Hot water
The staff were very friendly. The room was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and had a good variety. It has a quiet location with great views across the lake and is not far from Rotorua. Overall, good value for money on the deal we got from expedia. On the downside there was no hot water in the evening and it took until midnight to warm up again, the sauna was not working and the pool was a bit cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Zealand bad choice

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Hotel is tired. Things need repair. Walls need paint and carpet in room was stained. Exercise room was a group of broken or really old equipment. Bathroom not private. Too far out for trip
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2015
We were only there a day, only 10 min drive from rotorua. We got there a little early but the staff were great and let us check in early. The lake view was very relaxing. The room wasnt spotless clean but it did the job. Overall if i had to go to rotorua again i would definetly stay in this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Underwhelmed.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Great location - close enough to town but not too close. Beautiful lakeside setting. Big bathroom in our twin room.
Cons: Making plunger coffee complimentary rather than $5 as part of the mini bar. Offering wifi code on check-in.
We wanted to stay in Rotorua to see the last day of the Crankworx festival, this was a last minute decision so accommodation options were limited. The Lake Resort looked like the best of what was available, the price was good compared to other hotels in town. We have two children, 6 & 4, so went for a twin room with two double beds. We really just needed a room for the night so we didn't take advantage of many of the facilities - we arrived in the evening and put the kids to bed. Once at the hotel, everything seemed expensive: plunger coffee in the room was considered part of the mini bar and charged extra, breakfast options were very expensive with no child options, even though there was meant to be free WiFi no code was provided and it was not mentioned at check-in. Room was a little dated - carpet frayed, old CRT TV but clean and comfortable. The hotel seems set-up best for conferences, weddings etc. We didn't see any other children while we were there and we were very concious of not wanting to disturb anyone in the morning with ours. There are better options for families in Rotorua, we don't plan to go back to the Lake Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views of lake

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Fabulous location overlooking lake. Very helpful staff . Quite a drive to Rotorua town