Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kcwood from Toluca Lake, California

The Oldest Hotel in Kemi

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Short walk to the rail station, supermarket, ATM (Otto), recycling center to return for refund your bottles across the street.
Cons: Bar soap
Location: Short walk to the Ice castle, Gemstone gallery. Sampo Ice Breaker ship is near.
This hotel has a lot of character and charm. I stayed there while traveling on vacation March 18 - March 22, 2014. The front desk was very helpful and always answered all my question with a smile, no matter how many I asked. The breakfast was served on the 3rd floor and they offered a lot of cold and hot items to choose from as well as fresh cut fruit. My room on the 4th floor, 426 I think, was large and warm with facilities to make coffee or tea as well as a mini bar. Plenty of free TV channels in English as well as pay channels. Everything is very close as the city is small so you won't get lost walking about. There is a supermarket right across the street as well as a Subway. Since I don't travel with anything I don't want to lose, there is a laptop in the restaurant near the front desk that is free to use. I was leaving very early in the AM so a cab was booked for men, for the 10 minute ride to the airport, the night before and I was offered either a breakfast to take away or a cold breakfast to eat in the bar. I will stay at the Hotel Merihovi again, the next time I visit Kemi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Sydney

Great hotel near everything

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
While the hotel is a bit old, it is well maintained, has friendly staff and is right in the middle of town, just 10 minutes walk from the station, 5 min from cafes / restaurants and about 10 min from the harbour area. The better rooms have a sauna in them and the restaurant within the hotel is very good and reasonably priced. In winter make sure you check out the ice hotel and the Sampo ice breaker cruise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carlo

Overnight - Good service dated decor

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
One thing I will say first is the staff were excellent in helping with enquiries before our arrival, communicating with our transport when our flight was delayed, and when we arrived about the area. Decor seemed dated. To enter bathroom you needed to step up in to it. The tiles in the bathroom seemed in good condition but the paint was peeling on the last 10cm of the door trimmings. There was a foaming soap dispenser at the bathroom basin and in the shower. The shower had no light fixture and was a little dim. The design required you to see from the celing light (situated over the toilet and basin) that would try to pass through the shower curtain. Breakfast had a good array of food compared to other hotels we stayed at in Finland (stayed at Arctic SnowHotel and Glass Igloo Hotel in Finland also). The chairs at the breakfast hall seemed a little worn with varnished wood chipped or wearing. They could consider chair covers to give a better look. Question is: would I stay here again if I were to go back to Kemi for just one night? I would probably see how Hotel Cumulus Kemi goes but this hotel would be my second choice as there isn't too many options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fabio

Excellent service, but hotel to be renovated

Posted Jan 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a good location at less than 10 minutes walking from the train station. It is also very close to same supermarket. The staff is extremely kind. We arrived with the train at 06:27AM from Helsinki and at 06:50 AM we already got the room without extra charging, 7 hours before the normal check in time. And before to go to the room we were also offered of a breakfast without extra recharging too. It's also good the fact to have a pub in the ground floor of the hotel (not noisy at all). Pity that the rooms really need some renovation in the furniture (old) and also the cleaness could be improved. But in general we would go back in Merihovi hotel for a reasonable price. PS: the hotel is a good base for eventual excursion with icebreaker Sampo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chez from Australia

Comfort hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: The staircase.
Cons: Small bathroom
Location: Central
This hotel is older but I loved the overall decor. They haven't tried to make the hotel look new but brought out the older features. The room was a good size, there was coffee making facilities in the room and free WiFi. We had a hire car and the parking at the front of the hotel was free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rnr

Helpful friendly staff

Posted Jul 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Perfectly Adequate

Posted Nov 29, 2009
This hotel is aging but was clean and had a nice bar. It's perfectly fine if you're passing through Kemi and need a place to stay for a night.