Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel and has a nice restaurant and lounge

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Convenience
Even though Expedia screwed up the staff,was very nice and got us a room for even less than quoted!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

nice hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: nice location
Cons: better wifi
Location: nothing to do near by, but needs more suviners for travelers.
had trouble with wifi the whole time, but otherwise a nice hotel. was nice having the restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
Outdated furnishings and amenities but for its age, room was clean and quite spacious. Easy to locate (although the town itself isn't exactly a metropolis). No nonsense but friendly service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RB from Fargo, ND

OK Place to stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
fairly outdated for cost. TV was decent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by B from Grand Forks

Decent

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
We had decent service. Rooms were clean, just a little old looking. They give you a coupon for your choice of continental breakfast, but you only get two choices. Otherwise your paying for something else off the menu. If I had to stay again I would tho.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Oregon

It didn't have bed bugs!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: Almost everything. The motel facilities and furnishings are in desperate need of renovation. The restaurant is a boring unimaginative bust.
Location: I was here to visit nearby friends and relatives.
If you can stop early in Devil's Lake or continue on to Best Western Kelly Inn in Minot do so. I hadn't been in Rugby for years and on return for a recent visit I was saddened and disappointed. Northern Lights is one of only two realistic motel choices and the adjacent Dakota Farm Restaurant is the only restaurant in town. The motel and it's furnishings are run down and shabby in desperate need of renovation. After a breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, the following day I opted for microwave oatmeal and a Subway sandwich. The restaurant staff was young (high school?) and obviously ill prepared to wait tables. I realize N.D. has the oil boom but the prices were over the top - when you're the only act in town they can and do get away with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by sandra from nebraska

clean

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel rooms were clean and quiet. Nice to have the restaurant at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Indian Head, SK S0G, Canada

Photos of Rugby posted on Panomrama

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Dining Room & Lounge attached right to the Motel
Cons: There is one woman tending bar in the lounge that is terrible I sat almost 10 minutes with out getting a drink and she passes me a couple of times..
Location: Excellent.................. Liquor Store Close By
The Morning Breakfast was very good...the only thing wrong was the tissue used for blowing your nose were terrible..you have to go to a higher strength