Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Williamfrom Watford

Pleased overall

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am a regular customer at this hotel, (4th or 5th stay here), this was my first time in the annexe. Pleased overall with all aspects of the Hotel. I had to miss the breakfasts which I have enjoyed in the past since they were served from 8 o'clock on Saturday and Sunday which meant I would arrive too late for exhibiting at my show.I was happy with my stay and have nothing to complain about.Tea and coffee facilities in the room were appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carolefrom Bury

Adequate

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the annexe rather than the main hotel and as the title it was adequate, we stayed for one nights sleep without breakfast, so unable to comment on the food. The room was okay, bed was a bit on the lumpy side and decoration a bit tired. Location good for a function we were attending.Our friend checked in at the same time and asked to be moved as her room was dirty, and they moved her immediately so seemed quite obliging
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Acceptable, good location for my needs

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bed was a little soft for my liking, décor in room a little tired
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bedding and towels clean-carpet would have been better if it had been hoovered. breakfast spot on-although a little rushed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kristinfrom Windsor

Cheap, but for good reason!

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had to make an unexpected stop over due to family illness, so booked this very last minute. The reception lady was very polite and helpful, which was nice considering it was after 10.30 pm. Once getting to our room in a side building to the hotel, I was shocked. The room was cold and damp with mildew visible on the walls and the paper bubbling off. The bedding felt wet but looked clean so maybe the room hadn't been used for a while? The carpet was dirty and even the bathroom was carpeted around the shower, a little strange and unhygienic? The toilet seat was dirty as was the toilet roll holder on the wall, shower and sink. The skirting boards were thick with dust and grime. The curtains didn't actually meet around the window and it was quite noisy facing onto the road. The tv had no remote so we had to climb up in the unit to reach it and turn it off or on. I've never left any negative reviews for hotels before, but I was genuinely shocked at the quality and cleanliness and believe anyone thinking about staying here with children should know.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel !

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Wifi in all the rooms New carpets, beds, pillows, windows......to name a few
Location: The location was ideal for working at St George's park
The hotel is in need of modernisation. I was in the annex which did not have wifi, I had to cross the road to the main hotel to pick up the free wifi !! There was also no TV aerial in my room on arrival. The only positive experience was meeting the staff, they were all very helpful and polite and couldn't of been more helpful !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chunkimunki25from Middlesbrough

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Whilst our 2 night family room stay wasn't totally unpleasant, it has to be said that we are regular travellers and gauged against similar standard Hotels the Cedar Tree was rough around the edges... very clean but drab, wooden floors with missing paint in our room, bar area that looks inviting but leaves seating material on clothing & a half lit carpark. Positives are a really nice powerful shower, good local facilities and a tasty breakfast (a little pricey but nice) - we got a good price special deal for our break, so feel on this on this occasion, as the saying goes 'we got what we payed for' !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robfrom Chessington

You Get What You Pay For!

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Used this hotel as a base for Alton Towers. Was easy to find and within good distance. The room we had was adequate but then they hardly charged a fortune! There's the issue - if you want exceptional - pay for it! Room was a good size and the staff wonderful. The receptionist Sarah was outstanding - could not do enough for you. There was a wedding reception in the hotel - but you would never have known! The noise was perfectly managed. Will stay again if in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CKLJ66from West Midlands

Tired

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The cedar Tree is in a good location on the main road between Lichfield and Rugeley. Hotel staff were pleasant upon checking in. The hotel is quite old in decor and style and could really do with a refurb. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and clean covers. Very quiet hotel but that may have been due to the lack of guests present during our stay. Bathroom is dated and I didn't want to try the shower as it did not look very inviting!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Plymouth

lovely on the out side

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: the lady on duty was very pleasant
Cons: too much to list
Location: only stayed the one night so couldnt comment
we had so many problems it hard to start. we stayed in room14 1curtain so couldnt block light out( this was reported) cigarette end beside bed. 2 biscuits beside another bed. think dust INSIDE wardrobe and on top. lighter found in room. all skirtings thick dust. carpet has been vacuumed upto edges but corners ignored (not good for asthmatic) when reported the lady was very helpful and offered us a free drink but the poor girl was receptionist barmaid and everything else so we declined as we didnt feel it was her personal fault. we arrived at 8.30 at night after a funeral and were told the chef had gone home as things were quiet, but there is a takeaway accross the road!! and to cap it all there was a bucket in the bar catching drips from a leak in the ceiling. needless to say we wont be going back