Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ross from Dublin

Charmingly different - terrible wifi

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ron and Gay are great hosts and the hotel has a very charming feel to it. The breakfast is very tasty and the area is beautiful (notwithstanding the power station...). However, the wifi is so bad as to be practically non-existent which marred the stay as we were there for business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Abbie

Guest house as opposed to a hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014
The room was much smaller than I expected and I was disappointed with some dead flies on the window ledge of the bathroom. Breakfast was great and the experience was altogether good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Liverpool

Lovely hotel home from home atmosphere

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Wonderful breakfast cooked to perfection nice attentive staff will come back
Location: Nice little village pub down the road a good pint of Guinness
Wonderful breakfast cooked to perfection nice attentive staff will come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Brilliant

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Top drawer, can't fault anything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave from Chester

Excellent place to stay

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service and facilities.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by g from uk

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Moira from Yorkshire

Charming, comfortable and quiet

Posted Jan 4, 2014
My husband and I stayed here over Christmas 2013, the hotel is a beautiful country home nicely situated on the outskirts of a village and in a good location for the Staffordshire area. Every thing had been thought through for the comfort of the guests, from the huge 60 inch smart TV to the plentiful toiletaries in the bathroom. There was lots of car parking and the breakfasts were lovely (eggs benedict - yummy!) The bacon was perhaps the best I have ever tasted, and the owners were friendly, courteous and relaxed in their approach. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Peter M from Berkshire

Ideal Overnight Stay

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Colton House was certainly an impressive B & B. It was an ideal location, close to the M6, for our requirements. A wonderful property and a good room - clean, tidy and great bathroom, mini bar and fresh milk for tea and coffee. We were enroute for Lancashire after a day out at Shugborough which was just a few minutes drive away. Perhaps the one downside was that the owners were on holiday and the couple who were covering were not offering an evening meal. it would have been good to have been notified about this in advance so alternative arrangements could have been made prior to our arrival. Can't comment on the usual 'award winning' breakfast as the owners were not there to provide it however, the breakfast we got was fine. Would certainly stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Portsmouth

Great place to stay - Highly recommended

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: The bathroom furniture was very expensive looking - the finish to everything was immaculate - The sliding door to the shower was smooth (sue me!!)
Location: About 30 minutes from Alton Towers for those of you that are thrill seakers....
This Guest House (should be a Hotel), is fantastic - Such a pleasant location and your stay will be made as personal as the Staff can make it. From the very personal email you get before you arrive, to the "named" letter awaiting you in your room, when you arrive - the Managers were away when we stayed, but their good friend Tim and partner had everything under control. We were made to feel very welcome, even though we checked in just before 11pm (after spending the day in Alton Towers). Breakfast was amazing Overall, this place should have cost twice as much. Next time we visit Alton Towers (we go very often), we will be staying here - attached is a picture taken from our bedroom window!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jowena from Blackburn

Shermazing.....

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fabulous hotel, almost Downtown Abbey type experience, well maybe not quite the scale, but certainly the splendour. Only extra I would have perhap liked was to be able to dine - in in the evening. However, that said the food at the local pub was great and not too far away.....Would definately return...