Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tarzan,Tx

Motel just across from race track

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Loved the courtyard. Room was very clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from Las Cruces, NM

Wonderful woodland scenery

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything. I would like to go back just to sit ad enjoy the scenery. They had a great selection for breakfast; eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, et
Cons: The bed was too hard for me, but everyone else in my group slept well.
Location: There is gambling and horse races across the street. The hotel is close to the Hubbard Museum which is also fun.
This hotel is in a great location. It is right across the street from the Ruidoso Downs Race track and close to town. It is surrounded by woods and has a lot of places to sit outside and enjoy being in the cool pines. The staff was great, we needed a couple of extra chairs in our room so we could play cards and she brought some up right away. They also let us check in early.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Ok Hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It had a good atmosphere, being surrounded by pine trees. It had a nice center area that was park-like.
Cons: Add an elevator
The hotel is an older hotel that has been refurbished, it was in good condition. The only real complaints I have is the very late check in time and lack of an elevator. Check in time at 4PM is the latest I have ever run into. It was very irritating to arrive at the hotel after driving for 12 hours straight and then be told to go away and come back later!! The biggest problem for me is the fact that there wasn't an elevator to the second floor. When you travel with 75 pounds of luggage and you are 63, dragging bags upstairs is an issue that will prevent me from booking the hotel in the future. Also the fist day there wasn't a shower curtain and the second day only one towel, both problems were fixed quickly, but it points to a understaffing problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littlefield

Great Hotel in the mountains!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location and grounds of the hotel were so pretty!!!
Cons: The water pressure in the shower was really awful!
The room was very nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was courteous and responsive to our requests

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Rate and location
Cons: additional staff
Location: browse downtown and several nearby casinos. some great places to eat at reasonable prices
the area was quiet and in a nice setting. No further comments
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was in a great location, very nice area.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel does need some updates.
Location: The Race Track was just across the highway and the hotel is just on the outside of Ruidoso. We loved the location. Very quiet and relaxing.
This hotel was nice, a little aged but overall was well taken care of and the staff was very nice and friendly. Breakfast was good and had a large variety of selections. Rooms were clean and large. The hotel was nicely landscaped. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Air Conditioner

Posted May 20, 2014
There was no air conditioner and it was extremely hot!!! the other couple that stayed in the other room said Their air conditioner kept going on and off and it was hot.... ours didn't even go on!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The area and the view.
Cons: Maybe an indoor pool, but right away the staff provided the option of going to the other best western not to far to use their indoor heated pool. Awes
Location: Rest. Gambling shop
Enjoyed the stay, the room was awesome. Continental breakfast next morning was much more than I expected. Will visit again.
2 out of 5
by Daisy from El Paso, TX

Fine if you don't need a bathroom!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the view of the mountains from the balcony.
Cons: The upkeep and care of the plumbing.
The hotel looks very pretty as you drive up into the dead end road where it is situated. Our room was upgrated to a mini-suite at no cost because our room was still occupied. The suite had a beautiful view of the mountain from the large balcony. In the room, at least 3 of the lamps did not work. Then, my husband took a shower. My husband was NOT, in fact singing in the shower as I had originally thought. He was shrieking from becoming acquainted with the only 2 settings: scalding hot or ice cold (it was snowing outside, by the way). In addition, the toilet would not flush properly. It seemed as it was about to overflow and would drain very slowly. That's when I went online and saw there were reviews of the hotel stemming back to 2011 of guests having the same complaints. When we checked out in the morning, the desk clerk asked the man in front of us how his stay was. When he said "fine", the clerk asked him for his email address so he could fill out a survey. When I told the clerk about the plumbing problems, she blatantly lied to my face and said all toilets in the area were like that because of a recent issue. I knew it wasn't true because no one else that was checking out was complaining about an overflowing toilet and the reviews online from 3 years ago discussing the same issues. I was a bit disappointed that she did not ask for my email address for a survey. My husband and I will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KE from texas

Nice quiet location

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nicer towels
Location: Hotel is about 4 minute drive into 'downtown"
This is an older hotel, but they have kept it up nicely. The grounds of the hotel are very nice, especially if you are traveling with your dogs. The staff are very friendly.