Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The hotel was nice but not updated.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
It was only one night so it wasn't too bad. I didn't think that the bathroom was as clean and the carpeting had several stain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Lodge

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The room had no chairs to relax and visit or watch TV. The beds were OK. For the price of this room compared to the casino hotel is not worth it and no comparison of comfort. Breakfast was not good. I wil not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

bathroom comfort

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: the hotel is beautiful
Cons: the bathrooms
Location: cloud croft was l and an easy drive we really enjoyed it
the room was great however the bathroom was lacking in comfort and ease... The very large jetted tub was hard to get in and out of it really cramped the toilet so when you are sitting you have to stand to close the door and it is very cramped in the corner of the room and the lid is plastic very disappointed with this ... there needed to be more hangers in the closet the breakfast needs more variety and the food seemed like it had sat too long
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Globe, Az

Beautiful, but-

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, quiet setting, friendly staff, great golf course. easy access and location
Cons: Refurbish and hire a new breakfast chef. Burned toast and scorched eggs smell permeates beyond breakfast area.
Location: Valley setting approximately 1/2 mi off highway. wildlife plentiful, golfing, gaming (3 casinos) horse racing, skiing. Fishing lakes nearby.
The lodge and setting beautiful but badly in need of refurbishing. Carpet was stained, linens were threadbare , wall paint smudged, lavatory had a leak. No pedestrian walkways in parking lot; had to walk in driving lanes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland,TX

Good Location, but out dated

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Exterior is in good shape and appealing. Reception check-in is good. Breakfast area and food appears to be good.
Cons: Review with staff and maintenance on room issues and update furniture.
Location: It is located in middle of a gold course. Entrance to hotel is easy to get in and out to main street. Adequate parking lighting and appears safe.
We stayed in a 2 room suite. Hotel is in dire need of upgrading room furniture. (sofas, chairs, tables all old and well worn). The bathroom has not been maintained as it should example: toilet paper holder falling out of wall, commode not bolted down - it would literally rock back and forth with use! A/C is noisy and will keep you awake. A jacuzzi tub has a shower head but the tub has high sides making it extremely difficult for one to step into. We called for a shower mat to keep from slipping and falling. Pillows need to be replaced. This used to be a good excellent hotel back when it was the Hawthorn Suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin Tx

Better than all in ruidoso

Posted Sep 8, 2014
A great hotel. Cactus lily nicer than inn of the mountain gods as there can be some serious strange characters there. Staff is super friendly and helpful, lobby pretty, and a great location. Lived in the area all if my life and u wouldn't stay anywhere else while visiting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Spencer theater

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast, nice ambiance. Inviting.
Cons: Minor bathroom maintenance around tub
Location: Not too far a drive to downtown
There was a great view of the golf course and the mountains. We went to see Don McLean in concert and he stayed here. We didn't see him again after he went to his room. We were only here one night. The bartender was great. Overall great experience. This was our anniversary celebration. We were pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, Tx

Nice hotel in the mountains.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Location: In Ruidoso, New Mexico. Close to snow skiing, nice golf course,horse racing, casinos, lots of boutique stores for shopping.
Everything about the hotel, staff, food ( breakfast buffet free) scenery, pool and hot tub was all very nice. We did have one slight problem. I booked a room with two queen beds. When we checked in they did not have this available so they upgraded us to a mini suite, kitchen, living room with fireplace, small patio and couch that makes a bed which was unacceptable to sleep on. So they brought in two roll away beds comfortable but made living area very crowded. They did upgrade us at no charge. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Convenient location to sites in Ruidoso.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Beautiful setting, great parking, yummy breakfast, accommodating staff.
Cons: Those bathtubs are too huge! Room could have used new carpeting.
Location: Good location, close to Flying J Ranch which we visited that night. Also close to downtown, the ski area, scenic drives, etc.
Because of a rainstorm, our room had a leak before we checked in. The staff upgraded us and also comped a rollaway bed to make it comfortable for the kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Longtime customer

Posted Jul 29, 2014
After many stays here, this time we had some concerns: old sheets, torn blankets, plastic spoon left on floor by bed, dog toy behind door, just not really clean! Needs some spiffing-up! The great breakfasts need some variety...same items for three mornings! All in all, a nice hotel with friendly staff...just needs some updates.