Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Filey

Ruthin castle hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: location
on arrival our room was filthy. when I contacted reception was upgraded to another room. although this room was clean and comfortable there was a generator outside running 24/7 room 118 beware
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Stuttgart

enttäuschte Hoffnungen

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: das Gebäude und viele Räumlichkeiten und die ländliche Umgebung.
Cons: Sauberkeit, Aufmerksamkeit des Personals
Location: es waren sehr schöne Ausblicke beim Spazierengehen
eigentlich hatten wir uns einiges versprochen von dem Hotel, wir wurden aber in den Keller verfrachtet, das Zimmer war klein aber doch sehr schön ausgestattet. Nur der Ausblick aus dem Fenster war nichts und nachts hat der Lärm des Ventilator einer Kühlung neben dem Schlafzimmerfenster sehr gestört. Das personal war sehr nett, aber wenig aufmerksam und mit der allgemeinen Sauberkeit hat man es in diesem Hotel nicht so genau genommen. Ich kann mir vorstellen, wenn man in dem Hotel eines der schönen Zimmer erwischt, wäre der Aufenthalt auch ein mehr positives Erlebnis. Das Gebäude an sich und die Umgebung ist recht schön und sehenswert.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ruthin Castle

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Gym didn't open till 8.00 in the morning for me 7.00 would have been better.
Location: Quiet. here on business for a day so can's give any details about things to do.
Nice hotel in quiet little market town with beautiful countryside around it and interesting grounds. Restaurant was full of couples in the evening so must be a popular place for a romantic getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated?

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: It's unique
Cons: Some carpets and decor
Location: Handy for N Wales coast and also Chester
Hotel is beginning to look a little tired. some corridors in need of updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a must.....

Posted Sep 7, 2014
I always enjoy staying there... Steeped in history, tranquility, wonderful grounds and most welcoming / helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosefrom BC Canada

Best Hotel stay

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We travelled for several weeks and stayed in many hotels. Staying in the Ruthin Castle was excellent. Beautiful, large suites. We stayed in the Prince of Wales room and it was fantastic. We only stayed one night, and wish we had been able to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by P&Kfrom Sydney

A+++++

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on a friends recommendation and it certainly lived up to the praise that was given. The grounds are amazing and the hotel impressed. The town of Ruthin is picturesque with lots of interesting places to see and a fine pub meal is easy to find, met some very friendly locals at dinner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CathyDfrom Rossendale

fantastic unusual surroundings

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
really enjoyed the stay. Just wish there was literature in the room about facilities, history of the castle and what's parts of the castle could be viewed and interesting things to do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wendyfrom Soton

Broken bed

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff and castle good,restaurant staff very good.Food in bar terrible for price the stale sausage and mash was a joke.the beds were terrible,one broken with worn out mattress the other worn out mattress and very hard,made my back very sore. The room smelled of an old ash try,the decor was tired,the bathroom was faulty and had mould in the grouting,ceiling paint peeling off.two nights of very little sleep.bags were not taken up by staff.