Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best western

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice hotel with very friendly staff. Good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hagai from Oxford, UK

Quite location and good restaurant

Posted Mar 15, 2014
The room was spacious and clean, the bed was low but comfort. The food in the restaurant was very nice. The internet WIFI connection provided by the hotel (Swisscom) is very slow, not suitable for video calls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MA from Manchester, UK

classy, good wi-fi & breakfast but a bit remote

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: nice tasteful rooms and surroundings, a lot of green outside, free and reliable wi-fi in the room and in the common areas, free huge breakfast buffet
Cons: Softer mattresses (in some rooms perhaps), better insulation - heating system in rooms
Location: surrounded by green, up on a hill on the side of the Saarbruecken main station. uphill walk from the station (15-20mins). Bus connection available
I was told at the Saarbruecken train station that I could walk to the hotel in 10 minutes but it was uphill and some of it an isolated area and I got lost in the end so it took me a good half hour (of panic). Even after I had found it, I had to always get a cab into town or to the University campus, even though there is a bus into town and in theory I could have taken 2 buses to the Campus. (I had to be at meetings for 9am though and didn't want to venture an hour-long trip before and after them). The hotel is beautiful, beautiful surroundings, cute rooms with many amenities incl. bath robe and slippers, free wifi and free breakfast buffet (with everything anyone could desire, from fresh fruit to cooked). The bathroom is a bit small (esp. the shower) and the washing basin looked a bit old but everything was spotless. The bed was high quality although the mattress was a bit too hard for my liking and the linen high quality although the duvet was a bit on the thin side (I was cold at night, esp. as the huge radiators did not seem to warm up the large room much). The staff is really friendly (I appreciate a genuine smile). So on the minus side: far from the city centre, hard mattress, difficult to warm up On the plus side: nice tasteful rooms and surroundings, a lot of green outside, free and reliable wi-fi in the room and in the common areas, free breakfast buffet (huge variety), friendly staff, bus stop outside the hotel. Recommended for couples with a car
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paulcoef from Cologne

a good place to stay

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
A very good hotel with a proffesional staff and a good kitchen. An Ideal location to combine bussines and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Minneapolis

nice and quiet

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
A little away from downtown, but the surrounding area makes for a nice walk. It's near several small forests that are nice for jogging and the Saar is only a couple kilometers away also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Paderborn, Germany

Lovely friendly hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: The split floor family room had our children wanting to stay forever!
Cons: Some of the carpets are a but worn but clean.
From the minute we walked into the hotel all of the staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast the food was lovely and the portions were huge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bunian from Harrogate

Good Value for Money

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were stopping on route to the ferry port so wanted somewhere for overnight stay. The room we had was on two levels with TVs in both the lounge area and bedroom so it was great to relax prior to the next day's drive. Only draw back was that there was no proper shower (hand held spray in bath). The service at reception and in the bar was friendly and efficient, and the evening meal in the bar was good value compared to previous stops on our journey. There were excellent facilities in the way of a swimming pool and steam room for those who want to take advantage of them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Needs Air Condition

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: The hotel has been updated. The spa is nice.
Cons: Air condition in the rooms.
Location: Quiet location and close to the train station. (About a 10 minute walk)
The hotel is in great shape and the rooms are roomy. The hotel staff are very friendly. The reception speak english very well. The only thing this hotel needs is air conditioning. I had to open the hallway door to cool down our room. Granted it was really hot about 36C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat

best breakfast

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Great hotel, friendly staff, and an amazing breakfast. Only complaint was that the internet was a bit slow, but it was free, so whatever.