Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to old sacramento

Posted Feb 1, 2015
staff professional nice room, close to hiking dining
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SJ, CA

I requested a non-smoking room and it smelled like

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was actually pretty good except they had the TV blaring game shows in the room.
Cons: Stop letting people smoke in rooms.
I requested a non-smoking room and it smelled like an ashtray. I moved to another hotel and stayed there another night and when I got home, the clean clothes in my suitcase that I didn't wear smelled like smoke. Awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa, CA

Great Value and location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and comfort. The bed as very comfortable!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: The Sandman is close to the river and bike path. Easy walking distance to Old Town, museums, shops and restaraunts.
I spent one night in Sacramento and needed an inexpensive hotel. The Best Western Sandman seemed to fit the bill, so I booked the room. Although the motel obviously older, it has been well maintained. It was very clean and comfortable. The location is right on the river and the bike-path and not far from Old Town. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I will denintely stay there again and recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

crash hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
This is a good hotel if you're on the road and need to crash and continue on your trip down or up i5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV.

Vacation

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Very quite and close to a walking and jogging path. Included Continental Breakfast.
Cons: Parking. The back building parking is very hard to move around and there is very limited parking.
Location: Old Sacramento. There is a walking and jogging pathe behind the hotel.
Stayed at Best Western Sandman Hotel while taking in the sights at Old Sacramento. Best Western is very close to Old Sacramento and both are easy to find. The room was clean and had all the amenities you would need during your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Laundry was great, breakfast plentiful and fresh.
Cons: There is no lift if you are on the second floor.
Location: The river near is a lovely walk, and scenary. Unfortunately it is not recommended to go for a walk after 5.00pm due to the homeless people roaming.
Nice area and close to the motorway, also to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

I was there for 5 days

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Room was clean , help friendly staff , good bang for $ , happy , no complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Comfortable, very nice and helpful staff, 10-15 mins. walk to Old Sacramento on a path next to the river!! Only thing that could be different, is if the pool was available until 11 pm!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Nice little hotel, right next to the split of the American and Sacramento River. Within 5 min of downtown without the downtown price. The hotel staff were amazing, very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stop when traveling thru Sacramento

Posted Jun 16, 2014
This is probably the best of a group of motels as you head past downtown heading north. Has private river access where you can walk on a concrete path past the homeless camped out along the water. Near Old Sacramento and downtown. Motel is clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decent continental breakfast.