Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa, CA

Great Value and location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and comfort. The bed as very comfortable!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: The Sandman is close to the river and bike path. Easy walking distance to Old Town, museums, shops and restaraunts.
I spent one night in Sacramento and needed an inexpensive hotel. The Best Western Sandman seemed to fit the bill, so I booked the room. Although the motel obviously older, it has been well maintained. It was very clean and comfortable. The location is right on the river and the bike-path and not far from Old Town. The breakfast buffet was excellent. I will denintely stay there again and recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

crash hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
This is a good hotel if you're on the road and need to crash and continue on your trip down or up i5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV.

Vacation

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Very quite and close to a walking and jogging path. Included Continental Breakfast.
Cons: Parking. The back building parking is very hard to move around and there is very limited parking.
Location: Old Sacramento. There is a walking and jogging pathe behind the hotel.
Stayed at Best Western Sandman Hotel while taking in the sights at Old Sacramento. Best Western is very close to Old Sacramento and both are easy to find. The room was clean and had all the amenities you would need during your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Laundry was great, breakfast plentiful and fresh.
Cons: There is no lift if you are on the second floor.
Location: The river near is a lovely walk, and scenary. Unfortunately it is not recommended to go for a walk after 5.00pm due to the homeless people roaming.
Nice area and close to the motorway, also to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

I was there for 5 days

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Room was clean , help friendly staff , good bang for $ , happy , no complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Comfortable, very nice and helpful staff, 10-15 mins. walk to Old Sacramento on a path next to the river!! Only thing that could be different, is if the pool was available until 11 pm!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Nice little hotel, right next to the split of the American and Sacramento River. Within 5 min of downtown without the downtown price. The hotel staff were amazing, very friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stop when traveling thru Sacramento

Posted Jun 16, 2014
This is probably the best of a group of motels as you head past downtown heading north. Has private river access where you can walk on a concrete path past the homeless camped out along the water. Near Old Sacramento and downtown. Motel is clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decent continental breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by victoria

Great hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
The hotel was good and clean. I had a problem because the key did not open the room door but a cleaning lady came with a smile to help open my door and the guys in the office were nice when i went to exchange keys..Overall excellent service
2 out of 5
by Christinafrom vacaville, ca

Horrible experience.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Front desk clerk was short and snide. We check into our non-smoking room to find the smoke detector hanging from the ceiling which lead to maintenance being in there for about 30 minutes off and on. Very nice guy, just inconvenient. No comforter/blanket for bed. Was told they"double sheet" with a very thin, towel like "blanket" in between. Worst bed ever when it comes to comfort. I lost count of how many times I woke up. Shower floor is flush with bathroom floor so after bathing, water was EVERYWHERE!!! vending machine broken, breakfast selection minimal. First and last stay here.