Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair ground access

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Did NOT find enough trash space.... Even the trash can out, the cal expo building was over flowing. Dirty dishes stacked in the hallway for 24 hours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jul 23, 2015
The hotel is old and needs updating. Felt like it was a 70's flash back. Compared to other Doubletree hotels I have stayed in, this did not meet my expectations at all. It was close to the mall which was nice but overall I would not choose the hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pine Grove, CA

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The furniture was modern.
Cons: The bathrooms need remodeling or at least a good scrubbing on the grout. More attention to cobwebs on the ceiling of the shower needs to be paid.
Location: The location was why I picked this hotel as I needed to have something to do (Arden Fair Mall) while my truck was being serviced.
First of all the layout of the Double Tree on Arden, Sacramento, CA is like walking through a crazy maze. Outside in the many unconnected parking lots it's very confusing to figure out which parking lot is close to your room if you've never been to this hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed with modern decor; even the bathroom. But when I took a shower the next morning, I noticed the brown grunge on the tile grout. It was gross and made me wonder if I should be walking barefoot on the floor. This all caused me to wonder about the cleanliness throughout the whole room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calfornia

Great experience

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Front desk staff were awesome. I came in so I could get some rest the night before an important test and was informed that somehow I was booked for a different night. They gave me a cookie and some water and quickly worked it out. AND once learning that I needed a good night's sleep, suggested a top floor room where I wouldn't be disturbed by my neighbors. Bed was comfy, room temp was great, all of the staff I met on the way in the hallway were friendly. Great night's sleep. And I passed the test! Outside the room - I didn't want to venture out across Arden and possibly get hit by a car (you'll take your life in your hands doing that) , so I stayed in for dinner and ate at your cafe. My server gave me options and then said the buffet was actually pretty good, which it was. Went to the bar and had decent and good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

OK. Just watch where your room is

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: We got upgraded! The suite was huge. Really nice.
Cons: The A/C never really cooled off the room, and the water took 10 minutes of both sinks and bathtub running to get close to cold.
Location: Cal-Expo, Arden Fair Mall are within walking distance. Downtown Sacramento is only about 10 minutes away by car.
We had a decent stay. The check-in was strange, and I almost had an issue because they said there weren't any rooms for our reservation available. I hate it when hotels do that. But, they upgraded us to a suite from a regular King room, so it wasn't so bad. The A/C and water were lackluster, with the room barely being cool and the water never really getting there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy hotel and right across from the Arden Mall

Posted Jun 18, 2015
The staff was great and the room was spacious. Only downfalls were there was no fridge, but we should have researched that prior and you can hear the guests in the rooms around you. Luckily they were all fairly quiet but it was a little weird to hear people's conversations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Big hotel, next to mall, nice pool.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Everything was fine. Only complaint is lack of tv guide channel and channel selection. Otherwise we had a great stay. Pool was big and perfect temperature. Thx
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by RPollard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We were glad to hear how much you enjoyed the pool during your stay. We do offer a variety of TV channels that we review periodically in order to better accommodate our guests, but we apologize we did not have the channels you were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Good Stay

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Cal Expo and shopping center.
Cons: Include parking.
Very nice, clean hotel. Wish there was not an extra charge for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by RPollard, Hotel Management
We were pleased that you found the Hotel very nice and clean and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you during your next stay in the Sacramento area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired facilities. Giant so easy to get lst

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: location near venue - cal expo
Cons: update everything
it was okay; not great. really don't like that i'm forced to write more..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by RPollard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear your last stay with us was only okay. We strive to provide excellent service and are always looking at how we can improve the hotel and our guest experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Only downside is that there were lots of kids in the pool. Too many for it to be a relaxing get away. Upside, pool is big enough for lots of kids to be having lots of fun.