Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Welfare residents at this motel. Not the safest part of town. Find better accomodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I was disheartened to read that you didn’t feel the neighborhood was safe. However, we do have onsite security that patrols the property. To uphold our company's high standards, we will continue to work with our security moving forward amd we will work closely with local law enforcement to ensure that we are keeping our guests safe and secure. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oxnard ca

Hotel review

Posted Dec 24, 2014
First room was disgusting, it had not been cleaned... Then I came to the front desk, and they switched me rooms, but still I wish the first were clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Eduardo - Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We are glad that our staff was able to accommodate you; however, we are disappointed to hear that your first room was not up to standard. We will work with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Corning

Close to seminar location.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Cost
Cons: Maid service--none
Location: Shopping at the Arden Mall
Got there and no remote for the TV==took 2 hours to get. Stayed 2 nights and the room was not cleaned at all during my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Ginny - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so disappointed that it took so long to get you a remote for your TV. Please accept my apology. To uphold our company's high standards, we will be checking rooms for items such as remotes to ensure guest have everything they need at check in moving forward. As well, I apologize that our housekeeping policy did not meet your needs. We provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, CA

Great location, reasonable rate

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: comfortable bed, working heat, great tv.
Cons: make sure there is towels, and ashtrays, and remote
Location: I was close to my families, malls..
Everything was great but missing remote, ashtray, shortage on towels, handtowels???
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our convenient location and affordable rate. Still, I do apologize that your room was not properly prepared with towels, ashtrays, and a remote before your arrival. Please know that I will be reviewing inspection procedures with my staff to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gaurav

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Raulfrom Carson city

Not good

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was awful would not recommend especially with small children.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by extended stayfrom arden way

long checking, reminded me of a tsa minus a badge

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that it took longer than expected to check-in. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will review our check-in process and work to expedite it to make sure your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Krystalfrom Sacramento

uninvited guests

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not very clean and a roach decided to show up for dinner.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by M Jenningsfrom San Jose, Ca.

In late out early.

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were coming in late and leaving early in the morning so we thought this might be a good fit. They have a phone to call the office manager because they close at 11pm. She came promptly. Our room was facing Arden Way and we could hear the loud traffic. the room did have a microwave, refrigerator, stove and counter area. As well as 2 small tables and lazy boy recliner. The bath room was dirty: hair in the sink, toilet seat had stuff stuck to it and sticky stuff on the floor, NASTY! The bed was small (maybe a full size) but it was comfortable. Coffee, fruit and muffins for breakfast was a nice touch. Besides the bathroom it wasn't bad. We would probably stay somewhere else in the future.