Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Failed reservations

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE. HONOR THE RESERVATIONS MADE. They overbooked ??????? Really? How do you get rid of a reservation made 2 mos ago?
Location: No
Called early evening and said we would arrive after 1am. Man at desk said no problem. We arrived after 1 am and they did not have a room for us nor did they have any for the next 2 days! I made these reservations 2 months ago! They had a "room" with a queen pull out bed. We asked to see it-it contained someone's luggage and personal items. So they sent us to a questionable neighborhood to their other express hotel. Not great-sketchey to say the least. We stayed, no choice! This is all after 1 AM!!!! The woman at the first desk- Denisia had a young man take care of us knowing we had no room! She threw him under the bus! Finally had to ask for her. She lacked a lot!!! Our room was freee that night. I demanded free parking everyday. I got it. Least they could do. We were given a freAse breakfast. The waitress was outstanding!!! She was the best thing offered in the whole hotel. Asked for receipt for credit on acct with Expedia and they did not give me one. Said didn't get one. They called for credit. Never going back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno

Great hotel just steps from the mall and Old Sac

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Loved the spaciousness of the room and the two comfy chairs, the window that opened AND the free wi-fi. Room and bath were clean and attractive.
Cons: Can't think of a thing! I'm assuming there was a concierge and/or brochures, maps, and special event info downstairs.
Location: Nearby there is a walking trail from Old Sac to the north along the Sacramento River, which may appeal to convention goers who like to exercise.
My husband wanted to be close to an elevator and I asked for a view, so we got both! We were there for a wedding in Old Sacramento, and I had left our wedding card at home. No problem! Staff directed us to the nearby "back door" where we took a few steps to the left to the Capitol Mall. For the big wedding, we turned to the right out that same door, walked under the freeway and were in Old Sac, a total of about two blocks to our ceremony. Next morning, the hotel's restaurant downstairs served as a nice gathering place for family before we went our separate ways home.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chico

Holiday Inn + Expedia = Undesireable Stay

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I don't know Expedia's policy, but I assumed a bathroom with a tub, whereas we were placed in a "handicapped" room without a tub. Plus, $20 to self park. Huh? I pay for a room and I don't get a place to park? No breakfast--had to pay. Felt like Holiday Inn was squeezing me for every dime possible. Won't be back, and perhaps I need to look at whether I will use Expedia anymore, as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
It was great near old sac walking range and no need to pay twice to park a plus . Will stay there another time . Only thing that would of made stay better was if pool was open .great places to eat walking or cabs right out front and felt really safe . Out door mall right next door .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Sacramento Dinner

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Room, Food, Bar, Location.
Location: Downtown location next to many great restaurants.
My second stay. Great location, great room, good food, nice bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ventura. CA

Very good hotel with excellent location

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location, facilities, friendly staff.
Location: Old Town, Railroad Museum and Crocker Art Museum are at walking distance. Leland Stanford Mansion, California Museum and Capitol are a close drive.
This hotel was easily accessible from the Freeway and was near many attractions, Mall as well as to downtown Capitol square . Also 90 minutes away from historical Grass Valley and Nevada City. The hotel Staff were courteous and helpful. Jacob, the valet parking attendant who acted also as sort of concierge was outstanding.. The rooms were pleasing, comfortable and clean. The restaurant offered a fairly good and tasty menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place walking distance to downtown

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: clean
I enjoyed my stay. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by LizT, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review on the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay . Hope to have you back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chico, ca

Ok hotel walking distance to Old Sac and shopping

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Hotel is old and walls are thin so it's noisy. Shampoo but no conditioner. Best feature is location; all else is lackluster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Everything was fine except the double bed was smaller than I thought ! It was uncomfortable for two adults with a double bed !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Great location! Close to everything whether walking or driving. Rooms are clean, spacious and quiet.