Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding CA

Loved the view

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the bar area, the front entrance was nice. The view from out room over looking the lake was great.
Cons: The hotel is neat for being so old but it really needs to be updated. The lobby and restaurant area has been updated but the rooms need help
Location: There aren't really any restaurants near by. The did have a concert going on so that was cool.
It was easy to find and pleasant. The staff was great, need more choices on the menu, The hotel is old and needs some major updating. The grounds were nice and it was pet friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Point, CA

Great place for overnight stay with concert.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms, staff, location, and it being a great place for going to concerts and then staying.
Cons: The food.
Location: Located in Sacramento and we stayed there to see music concerts.
This is the third time we've stayed here. Overall, it's great. This time there were a few negatives. The drain in the shower/tub did not drain when you took a shower. The other negative was our dinner. I ordered the caesar salad with grilled salmon. I ordered it this time because last time when I ordered it, it was scrumptious. Last time was on a Friday. This was a Sunday. The salmon tasted fishy and old. I had asked for light dressing both times and the first time it was done to perfection. This time I asked for the same and it was put on the side. That's really no way to serve a caesar salad. My husband ordered the cobb salad with chicken and it tasted as if the chicken had been prepared and bagged days before. Bread was brought out at the end of the meal and was doughy and inedible. Perhaps because it was a Sunday, everything tasted old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing room but friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Staff was responsive and friendly
Cons: Room service for the buildings that are far away from the main building.
Location: Train noise was noticeable
Overall this Red Lion just feels old. We had a dog traveling with us so I guess that was the reason to put us in the farthest building from the check in area. This was an issue as the room service does not do delivery and you have to walk back to the main building if you want to eat/drink. The bed was made but the linens were not clean. Hairs were visible on the pillow cases and sheets. A call to the front desk got an immediate and friendly response.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Karla, Hotel Management
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service during your stay. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the lack of cleanliness in your room. I am happy to see that our staff was able to respond to your issue in a timely manner Please be assured that we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff. You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane

Ok Place

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: grounds were nice
Cons: fix the bed and air conditioning
Location: nothing
I enjoyed the grounds of the facility, tv nice , hamburger at restaurant was excellent. The sleep number bed did not work and was very uncomfortable. The air conditioning didn't work well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inadequate staffing, poor food service

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The setting with the lake was lovely, rooms were well appointed and clean. The few staff were friendly and apologetic and trying to please.
Cons: Better management. No-one will come back under these conditions. This used to be a nice hotel 10 years ago.
One clerk to handle phones and check in guests. Obviously no-one to help her. This was at 9:00 p.m. so I would have hated to see it earlier. The line was out the door and it took 1/2 hour to get checked in. I had called earlier for directions to the hotel and got put on hold and then forgotten...no wonder. No hotel restaurant was open so had to eat in the bar. Although the bartender was friendly and helpful the food was poor. How can this be when two weddings were going on and they had food. The overall impression was of a formerly nice hotel that was poorly managed and had cut back to the barest minimum of staffing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Karla, Hotel Management
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I apologize for the issues you had when you checked in, as that is not what we expect our guest experience to be. I would also like to apologize for the poor food quality in the bar as well. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and were able to respond to your complaints in a timely manner. Thank you very much for your feedback, we will most certainly look into your issue with our housekeeping department. We look forward to providing you excellent service as a valued guest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014
It is a great hotel, near downtown, highway, close everything. Lake view is great.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Los Angeles

Credit card

Posted Jun 13, 2014
I booked this room and paid for it for my sister. She does not have any credit, not a credit card. When she arrived, she was denied checkin until she furnished a credit card for incidentals. After some time she was told that she could fax a credit card authorization form to me. First off, who besides a business has a fax machine??? It was decided to email the form. The email came from an address that was unable to accept mail. It made me nervous when I was told to send a copy of my debit card and a photo ID to a different address than the one that the form was sent from. Identity fraud is prevalent these days and while I'd like to help a family member out, to what expense? I agreed to send my debit card, photo ID and the form to a different address, but it came back undeliverable because the mail box was full. Really???? I can't even begin to describe my frustration at this point. First off, had I not been home AND had a a computer with the proper devices, such as a printer and a scanner, my sister would have spent hundreds of dollars and driven hundreds of miles for a job interview and not been allowed to check in because of the possibility that she might take the $4 bottle of water your establishment left in her room as bait. Secondly, What part of PRE PAID, was not understood? I've run out of room to continue my rant, but suffice it to say that it would not recommend, nor would we stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: location
Good experience. Been at this hotel 4 times. Lions convention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Kelseyville, CA

Masonic Retreat

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Easy to find and navigate through.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Easy access from freeway. Not far from shopping and entertainment.
Facility was clean and easy to navigate. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable even with a small leak in the bathroom that left the floor wet most of the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Robin from California

Finally!

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly staffy, accessibility x2
Location: Close to Shriner's Hospital, easy freeway access with no noise, Starbuck's and great pizza at Extreme Pizza, within walking distance.
What a pleasant surprise.! The Red Lion, exceeded requirements for accessibility. A beautiful view of the lake and pool, which had a wheelchair lift, the first I've seen in years of travel. Clear paths of travel, a roll in shower. A friendly staff member, was there to help with the paddle boat,even sleep number beds. They put a smile on the face of this mother of a disabled daughter. Much thanks to the staff for making our overnight stay, relaxing and affordable!