Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
It was nice and pleasant. Staff was great. I would tell my friends and Family about this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great rate, very disappointing experience.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Staff are pleasant.
Booked hotel on Expedia based on description and pictures of the facilities, the location, and price. We combined out flight and hotel booking into a bundle. I have to say that the price was fantastic, but it turned out too good to be true. When we arrived at the hotel we were discouraged to find the hotel is in a seedy area of town surrounded by warehouse/business parks and a casino of sorts. We did not feel safe walking around outside the complex. The room we received was in a 'pod' hundreds of yards from the main lodge (this is the room you get when you book through Expedia) . . . Nowhere near the courtyard, pool, and restaurant that made the hotel seem attractive. Our room was reasonably clean but very old and over-used, definitely in need of refurbishment. We stayed one night and checked out the next morning. Caveat emptor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmicael Ca

A grand old lady

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: I love the classiness and vacation atmosphere of the hotel
Cons: The one downside is the poker room right next to the dining area
Location: There is a realy nice hike and bike trail behind the hotel, though it's not obvious if you don't know where to look for it.
This is an older hotel and unique the way it's layed out. But I do love staying here. They have a man made lake in the center of the complex, a great bar and Sunday brunch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Biggest dump I've ever stayed at

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: nothing (location isn't bad)
Cons: Everything
Location: good location in Sacramento, close to most everything
I can't tell you how disappointed I was, dirty, discusting condition and way too expensive for such a dump
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Great room. Limited counter space in bathroom.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Close to UC Davis Medicsl Center.
Cons: Better room keys.
Location: Nothing close by for shopping or recreationsl activities.
Room always clean. My only complaint about the entire stay is that my room key deactivated and I had to stop by front desk every night or have security let me in. Very inconvenient. It was always very late and I was always exhausted and this was a glitch I could have done without. Personnel were very apologetic and helpful. I was surprised that there was no list of local churches available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not really a hotel...more like a motel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The lakeside or poolside rooms are the nicest rooms. If you're on the first floor, you park in spaces directly outside the rooms with an entrance facing the lot. Once inside, the room is decent enough for a night's stay - small but clean. On the opposite side of the room is another door leading to a grassy patio area and the man-made lake. The hotel is pet-friendly for a minimal pet fee. The staff at check in and check out is friendly - don't be shy, ask for a lakeside room at check in if one is available...otherwise you're likely going to stay in the single-story motel-style building at the edge of the property. Air conditioning worked great and kept the room nice and cold on a 100-degree day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

Not what it seems...

Posted Aug 2, 2014
For what I paid I could have done better. The externals look favorable but a closer inspection reveals an older place that is overdue routine maintenance. My tub/shower drain was clogged, the sleep number bed control was broken, the television barely lit up, & the air conditioner thermostat was faulty (I had to take whatever it was set on). I won't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good deal.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Came for an interview in town. Greeter at the desk was very friendly. I read the reviews about it being like an apartment complex, which is true because the rooms are spread out among several buildings. It was nice though in the sense that many of the building were a single floor, so there wasn't anybody above me to make noise. The room was nice, and had the sleep number bed that I could fiddle around with. Otherwise a pretty basic room. I didn't use the other facilities at the site, so can't comment on that, but a good deal for a quick stay to be sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding CA

Loved the view

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the bar area, the front entrance was nice. The view from out room over looking the lake was great.
Cons: The hotel is neat for being so old but it really needs to be updated. The lobby and restaurant area has been updated but the rooms need help
Location: There aren't really any restaurants near by. The did have a concert going on so that was cool.
It was easy to find and pleasant. The staff was great, need more choices on the menu, The hotel is old and needs some major updating. The grounds were nice and it was pet friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Point, CA

Great place for overnight stay with concert.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms, staff, location, and it being a great place for going to concerts and then staying.
Cons: The food.
Location: Located in Sacramento and we stayed there to see music concerts.
This is the third time we've stayed here. Overall, it's great. This time there were a few negatives. The drain in the shower/tub did not drain when you took a shower. The other negative was our dinner. I ordered the caesar salad with grilled salmon. I ordered it this time because last time when I ordered it, it was scrumptious. Last time was on a Friday. This was a Sunday. The salmon tasted fishy and old. I had asked for light dressing both times and the first time it was done to perfection. This time I asked for the same and it was put on the side. That's really no way to serve a caesar salad. My husband ordered the cobb salad with chicken and it tasted as if the chicken had been prepared and bagged days before. Bread was brought out at the end of the meal and was doughy and inedible. Perhaps because it was a Sunday, everything tasted old.