Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Templeton, California

Beautiful old historical home hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The authentic furnishings, the beautiful old windows, doorways, crown moldings, and general overall structure.
Cons: I have no suggestions for improvement.
Location: Perfectly located for a 15 minute walk to the Capitol bldg, the old Governor's Mansion, a live theater venue, and nice restaurants and coffee shops.
The Sterling Hotel was a lovely place. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff very helpful. We will definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Historic

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a very pleasant stay in the Crocker junior suite. Cool old building with lots of history. Nothing really 5 star fancy but very pleasant. Easy walking distance from some interesting parts of downtown. We will return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR

Period hotel in downtown Sacramento

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly, great location
Cons: Add a small fridge, and perhaps a more serviceable desk chair for working.
Location: About three blocks from the conference centre and the rest of downtown.
I was allocated this hotel in an Expedia undisclosed hotel deal, and was pleasantly surprised. About three blocks from the conference centre and the rest of downtown. Old building with big rooms, and very friendly staff. WiFi was fine but my room had no fridge, and the desk chair was not the best for working, but plenty of room. Huge jacuzzi tub (which probably explains Sacramento's water shortage!). Would happily stay there again at the right price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice, homey place with the comfort of home.

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed the noncommercial setting of this small hotel. Their front desk was very helpful. When I didn't make it back to the hotel in time for the Supershuttle, they sent my luggage (with my laptop inside) with the Supershuttle driver, who picked me up eight blocks from the hotel. What an experience. Feel very fortunate for the nice people I encountered on this trip. Definely will stay with Sterling again on my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robbie from Redding

Valentines Day Stay

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Me and my girlfriend loved the hotel and the experience especially the big bathroom, nice old fashioned bed, and the overall stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful . Hopefully can stay there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Moraga, CA

A very nice surprise

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, well-decorated room. Very comfortable bed. Wonderful whirl-pool bath. Loved the Victorian feel of the place.
Cons: Fix the TV.
I came to Sacramento for a high school speech-and-debate tournament. The tournament was scheduled to end late in the evening, and I didn't feel like driving all the way from Sacramento to Moraga at night. While making hotel reservations on Expedia, I stumbled across the Sterling Hotel. It looked much different than the usual concrete-and-steel boxes that pass for hotels these days. It looked homey and welcoming. The rate was reasonable, so I booked a room. And I was pleasantly surprised how wonderful this hotel is! The room was tastefully decorated, the bed was comfortable, and the whirlpool tub was perfect for easing tired muscles after a long day. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was better than expected, although a bit pricey. The wine was exceptional. Breakfast the next day was delicious. My only complaint was that the TV didn't work. I will definitely come back someday soon--with my girlfriend. I'm sure she'll love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rackhams from Pollock Pines, CA

Charming, tho under some much neeeded renovation..

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Though we live within 50 miles of The Sterling Hotel, my husband and I needed an overnight 'get away'... It was a lovely setting and comforting welcome that we received. Beautiful walk up the stairs and down the hallway to our room. They have done a wonderful job of keeping the Victorian charm. However, our room was a bit 'down at the heel'; Our 4 poster bed had only 3 posts, our 'jetted tub' spewed out 4 jet opening covers as we turned it on, the room heater was VERY noisy.... They did have a history of the building in the room with reminders that it is an ongoing project, so all of this being said, we laughed about it all,had a lovely stay and a much needed get away AND we hope that they will continue to work of this charming hotel. It is worth a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlene from Sonora

Posted Nov 4, 2013
This was a beautiful place to stay, we will definately return. Your staff is excellant and the place was quiet and relaxing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com