Ratings based on 1,113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Old Town accessing

Posted Sep 20, 2014
For me fit the bill being right next to Old Town, and the Crocker Museum, on a weekend visit to Sacramento. Fair price for pretty good accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marysville CA

Easy in Easy Out

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location. Location. Location.
Cons: Wednesday night free food and cocktails. The food needs to have some better flavor/taste to it.
Location: Old Sacramento. AMC movie theatre. Easy access to buses and local train for shopping and dining.
Checked in just for overnight. Caught the Amtrak train early morning. The hotel staff very nice. The room clean and comfortable however $60.00 would have been a fair rate. The gesture of having guest appreciation food and cocktails was very nice but the food did not taste well. They could have spent less and got more or even added some seasonings or flavor to the packaged food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Old Town Sacramento

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The staff was helpfull to find a quiet room for us and to give good advices regarding the Old Town Sacramento. Very good breakfast served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay next to train/bus station

Posted Sep 7, 2014
The hotel was convenience for me since i arrived by train. The room was clean, comfortable, and the hotel was nice and clean as well. I only stayed for a night but it was comfortable all around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Tan Valley, AZ

Returning Customer

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The location is right in Old Town Sacramento with plenty of shopping and dining within walking distance of the hotel.
Cons: Cleanliness in the hallways. There are always maid carts and trash in the hallways. Cigerette butts on the grounds and outside rooms.
Location: Walking distance to Old Sacramento with The Train Museum, plenty of shopping and fine dining, Short car ride to The Crocker Art Museum and Capitol
This was our second stay at this Vagabond Inn. The front desk cleark was pleasant. The rooms are average. If you can stay on the "pool side" of the Inn opt for it. The street side was noisy with cars and trucks. They have a pool and a Hot tub, both of which were out of service for the day on Labor day Weekend. The continental breakfast is to die for. great food and it's ran by Miss Tracey. She's awesome. She keeps the food hot and full while keeping the counters and tables clean. She'll ask you how you slept and what your plans are for the day. You feel like you are eating at her house. We love Miss Tracey and on her days off it's just not the same. The hotel is like any other what makes it special and gets our repeat business is the breakfast and Miss Tracey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Excellent hotel w/ great Staff

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Stayed at the Vagabond this past weekend for SacAnime. Was incredibly impressed w/ both the staff and the facilities. The Vagabond provides a free shuttle from and to the airport, and even though it is directly across from the Amtrak station noise was never an issue. The staff was as friendly as could be, and I felt right at home! Definitely would recommend and definitely would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln England

Nice hotel, very handy for the Railroad Museum.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Old Sacramento and the railroad museum
Cons: AC
Location: Plenty of bars and Restaurants nearby
Checked in ahead of time, no problem. Room was on 3rd floor but not a problem as there was a lift. Room was very clean, bed very comfortable, lovely clean white sheets, the only problem was I didn't actually sleep in the bed only on it as the room was so warm, no AC. My fault for not checking if the room had AC. Only stayed the one night so it wasn't a big issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Basic room, but good amentites

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Location: Recommended nearby activities: Old Sacramento, Sacramento Zoo, California Museum, lots of restaurants. Best meal I had was at Mother on K street
Good aspects - nice outdoor pool and hot tub - good continental breakfast (cereal, fruit, waffles, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy) - If you are staying on Wednesday make sure you check out the Manager's reception - free food and adult beverages. - free shuttle downtown and to the airport Not so good aspects - not enough staff at the front desk - long line-ups - Wi-Fi was slow, didn't always work - bathroom was a little scuzzy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

"No-frills" hotel with some frills

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Free shuttle Free breakfast Free parking Free wi-fi (when it worked) Nice pool
Cons: Wi-fi speed / connectivity
Location: Walk to Old Town Sacramento Walk to Sacramento Convention Center Walk to downtown Sacramento (lots of local food!) Walk / run / bike River Walk
I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the Sacramento Convention Center. The hotel runs a free shuttle that picks you up / drops you off at the airport (about a 15-20 minute ride), which saved cab fare. For those driving, there is free parking at the hotel (instead of the nightly charge at the hotel across the street). Once at the hotel, there is a nice pool, free breakfast (again - no free breakfast at the hotel across the street), and easy access to the Convention Center, Old Sacramento, and the rest of town. The Convention Center is about a mile away - an easy 20 minute walk straight down J St. or a quick 5-7 minute ride on the free hotel shuttle. Old Sacramento is about a 5 minute walk, through a parking garage or highway underpass (or about a 10 minute walk if you go around to the pedestrian tunnel). Downtown, the Capitol, and other attractions are also a short walk or shuttle ride away. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is that the free wi-fi was very, very, very slow at times and sometimes dropped out completely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great access

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nice facility. Well kept for an older motel. Free breakfast is good and the breakfast lady Tracy is outgoing and friendly.
Cons: Rooms could be rid of hairs a little more carefully. Several long thick black hairs throughout bathroom.
Location: Good location; see above comments.
We came to Sacramento for a weekend with the kids to take them to Old Town, the Zoo, and FairyTale Town and didn't want to spend a ton of money on a room. Vagabond is a good rate and a great location as you can just walk right through the parking garage across the street and you are in Old Town, and the Zoo is only like a 5 min drive down I-5. Get a room on the pool side of the motel if possible, the other side faces a main thoroughfare and I-5 entrance and can have some traffic noise. We got a good price online through one of the major booking websites and I suspect Vagabond may put the street side rooms on these cheaper rate sites.