Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great People - but needs a good scrub

Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was excellent. Wonderful inn. It needs a serious spring detail cleaning. The staff could not be any more delightful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by kate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic and Romantic

Posted Apr 7, 2013
The "Monty" is a mansion that has been converted to an inn. Although they call themselves a bed and breakfast, the property has the amenities and privacy of a hotel. The staff is superb and will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was large and had a gas-log fireplace. The property is clean and well maintained. The steam-heat registers in our room were a bit quirky but part of the overall historical experience. You don't get that sometimes uncomfortable B&B feeling that you are staying in someone else's house. Feels like a small boutique hotel. There is a full dinner menu and the continental breakfast, though simple, was fresh and diverse. Very romantic and charming!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rajender from Canada

Historic site

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: Ambience and decor
Cons: Size of the bed
Location: Very nice
We liked the drive up to the hotel. It was not busy so plenty of parking available. Staff was friendly, gave a mini tour and history of it. The bed was small and my wife fell off the bed at night. Morning tea was available and breakfast was ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sheryl from Michigan, USA

Great getaway for a couple.

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: Large back yard backed up to an inlet of the Saginaw river. Doors to unoccupied rooms were open to view. Great library with hundreds iof books.
Location: Situated on 8 acres in an area of 5 or 6 other very large homes in the city of Saginaw. Close to several places of interest.
Beautiful getaway. One of the great old homes from Saginaw past. Our room was cozy and comfortable. Looking forward to visiting again in the summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Get new Matresses

Posted Dec 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was quaint and pleasant but the mattress was awful! The continental breakfast had a lot to be desired as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul

Nice overnight stay Vs. the typical hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
I wasn't sure about staying in Saginaw, but the neighborhood was nice and the building was very interesting with its history. My wife and I stayed one 1 night on our way to Frankenmuth the next day (20min away). It was nice to stay in a place beside the typical hotel, but it's not a true bed & breakfast, only a continental breakfast and the rooms are comfortable but not the typical modern hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by gord

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
our stay was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawn

Charming home

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
We loved the beautiful Inn! We were very satisfied with the breakfast and the service was friendly and helpful. We even got great suggestions of things to do. My big disappointment was the $30/person/night was charged for my 5 year old grandson who traveled with us. We are frequent travelers and have never paid extra for a small child. I felt $60+ for 2 nights was outrageous! FYI: this isn't handicapped friendly since all the rooms are upstairs. Ours was on the 3rd floor. We passed an empty room on the second floor both nights. Perhaps we weren't given preferential treatment since we booked through Hotels.com and not them directly.