Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andrewfrom Weston, VT

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Both the hotel and the staff were lovely.
4 out of 5
by B&B veteranfrom Vermont

The anti-chain-hotel experience

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Appearance, grounds, antiques, friendly atmosphere
Cons: Could have given me a choice of room, which would have been more comfortable.
In contrast to the prepackaged business-travel hotels out on the main highway, this historic inn should appeal to anyone who understands what a B&B is like. In exchange for unique and homey rooms in a turn-of-the-century mansion, there are fewer conveniences, e.g. no elevator, no big TVs. I stayed for one night, and unfortunately arrived very late, so did not have a chance to enjoy the various parlors and grounds that the inn offers. The location near downtown Saginaw is convenient from main roads, and this part of Washington Street is quiet. The inn is nicely maintained. On the other hand, I was one of few guests on a weeknight and was assigned to the third floor, which was very stuffy (they provided me a fan...). Ask for a room on the second floor; I toured these the next day and they were much more attractive. There's also a separate carriage house that contains several rooms overlooking the river. This is not a true B&B and the continental breakfast was similar to a chain's - fruit, yogurt, coffee, bagels, but nothing made to order. That's fine with me, especially since you dine in a real, comfortable dining room with a chance to talk to the other guests. On balance, I'd gladly choose the Montague over the other options in the Saginaw area because it wins on charm! The only reason I "wouldn't recommend" is that many travelers prefer a mainstream hotel, packaged and corporate, with no surprises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Our hotel experience was great, we went here on a whim. The hotel had a very old world feel to it. The property seemed to be very large and thr grounds were beautiful. The staff were excellent: they were very nice and knowledgeable about the history of the building. It was a great getaway, especially being so close to Frankenmuth. But if you wanted to stay in, it was a great place to relax and fun to explore. We would highly recommend this experience to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Montegue Inn Review

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: The house was awesome!
Location: Convenient to shopping and all imenities
This Inn was very homey. Our room had a fireplace in it. It would be a very nice escape any time of year but especially in the Fall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bob Afrom Indy

Saginaw adventure

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall good. Romm was a bit small and having sink totally separate from shower was off putting for my wife. I just thought of european B&B. House and grounds are impressive. We went for Frankenmuth fesitavals and so location was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Soccer Momfrom Caledon Ontario

Amazing staff in a quaint picturesque old home

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
While the facility is very pretty, I'd recommend the Montague Inn because of the staff. They were all very friendly, obviously love working there and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. My daughter & I were travelling & chose the Montague Inn based on the photos from hotels.com. A great choice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great People - but needs a good scrub

Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was excellent. Wonderful inn. It needs a serious spring detail cleaning. The staff could not be any more delightful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by kate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic and Romantic

Posted Apr 7, 2013
The "Monty" is a mansion that has been converted to an inn. Although they call themselves a bed and breakfast, the property has the amenities and privacy of a hotel. The staff is superb and will bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was large and had a gas-log fireplace. The property is clean and well maintained. The steam-heat registers in our room were a bit quirky but part of the overall historical experience. You don't get that sometimes uncomfortable B&B feeling that you are staying in someone else's house. Feels like a small boutique hotel. There is a full dinner menu and the continental breakfast, though simple, was fresh and diverse. Very romantic and charming!