Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a hassle free overnight

Posted Jan 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well run place

Posted Jan 3, 2014
This particular Novotel, while not exactly a recent build, is up to date inside. For our party of two adults and two young kids, the extra pullout beds were ready to use on arrival. The room was absolutely clean and completely functional. Lobby area and restaurant were updated and clean, staff very friendly and professional. The restaurant offered a small yet diverse menu; quality of dinner and breakfast buffet were excellent. So was the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by m & j from seattle

Very good

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a good blend of convenience and comfort. Efficient staff, bar, on-site restaurant, and generous buffet breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Essex

Nice hotel - pity about the location.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: Somewhere to get out of the depressing town area
Cons: It was a normal Novotel - bog standard
Location: Nothing - just avoid the town. The cemetery was worth visiting.
The highlight of the area is the American War Cemetery(largest in Europe) just down the road. The rest of the town could be renamed St Avoid not St Avold. No decent restaurants, a bit of a grim place, so this ordinary hotel was like an oasis in the desert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Brighton, UK

Excellent first stop after leaving Calais.

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: No hassel, very good breakfast included ( real coffee not nescafe)
Cons: Nothing all was good
Location: Didn't see much of the surroundings as we were all so tired just went to bed after supper
After a long day, Brighton to Dover, Ferry to Calais, Calais to St Avold, this hotel provided an excellent place to eat and rest before the next leg of our journey. Room was very clean, beds were comfortable, staff spoke English and were friendly. Food in the restaurant was reasonable ( steak + chips etc ) and not too pricey. The hotel is 1 min from the motor way so is very convenient. Recommended
3 out of 5
Recommended
by riz from London

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Corridors reception in bad condition time for refurbishment
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Virginia from California

Great location /on site parking

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The reason we booked this hotel was for its location, close to American Cemetery we wanted to visit. We were very pleased to find on site oarking, just like in the USA! The hotel is modern with comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The restaurant served very good food at reasonable prices. It is a family friendly hotel so there were lots of children about. fine.This trip was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary, so we appreciatedour quiet room in the back, on the second floor. No elevator, but we managed fine.We did not go into the city since time would not allow. There was a gas station very close by which was helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveller from England

Not much for the money

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
For the price i expected a room that was big enough for comfort .beds not bed setees to sleep on. The breakfast was more costly than any other hotel we have been in. The evening meal we had in the hotel was basic but still costly to my mind. Some of the staff were pleasant others were just doing there job..good pionts,..... convenient for traveling to italy. The play area for the. Children was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Phil w from Kent

Regular annual stop over

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have stayed here a number of times over the last few years as the hotel is a convenient distance from Calais, is in a nice area, has plenty of parking and is very convenient to the autoroute. Meets the usual Novotel standards and we will return when on a similar journey towards Italy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jac

Good location, very small bedrooms for families

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had our 2 children in the room as well, very cramped, very small room. The rooms are far smaller than a Premier Inn in the UK that does not have a star rating, it does not deserve the 4* rating it has. The room decor is very tired. Good breakfast - we had it included in our price - but did not appreciate a dog (belonging to another guest) allowed to run lose in the dining room eating crumbs from under the tables and approaching guests and the staff not bothered. Price for breakfast if not included in a deal is excessive. We stayed here on our way back from a 4* hotel in Austria.