Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

A 5 minute drive from Uptown St. John

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: It is much cheaper than staying on the waterfront and is really close!
Cons: the wi-fi was a little iffy sometimes
Location: a five minute drive to City market, market square and the beautiful uptown historic area.
Just off the highway with a view of the roadway. Not really in walking distance to tourist spots, but it was only a 5 minute drive to Uptown. Hotel is immaculate with free parking, free wi-fi and a free hot breakfast + coffee to go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Trans Canada. Easy access from TC.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Room was very nice. Breakfast was excellent. I really like that this hotel uses actual plates and mugs instead of the disposable cups and plates.
Just passing through St John and this place was perfect. Everything about the hotel was excellent. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec, QC

Non recommandé si vous ne parlez que le français

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Peu de choses
Cons: Parler le français à la reception aux clients francophones.
Location: Visite de la vieille ville de saint john.
À notre arrivée à la reception , le personnel nous a dit qu'à cet hotel , personne ne parlait le français !! On s'attendrait à mieux d'un hôtel de cette catégorie et qui de plus est situé au Canada bilingue ! Plus jamais ils ne me reverront ! J'irai plutot dans un hotel dont le personnel m'accueillera en français. Les informations données en anglais concernant le chemin piétonnier à suivre pour aller dans la vieille ville ont été incomprises par nous et nous ont occasionné beaucoup de désagréments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Liked this hotel,will recommend it to others!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The bedroom was very big ,nice design,clean,nice view and nice location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very nice breakfast.
Cons: Prefer firm mattress
Location: The farmers market is very small but nice.There are some local stores close to the farmers market but they are a little bit pricey.
We were four adults and I booked 2 queen bedroom.The bedroom was very big ,nice design,clean,nice view and nice location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very nice breakfast. The only thing we were a little bit concerned about was the mattress. We usually like firm mattress but their mattresses were soft.The hotel has Free indoor parking. We thought the rooms has microwave however we found that they will charge $10 per day for a microwave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton

Chateau Saint John

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Great location and a new build. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel.
Cons: Breakfast buffet had great selection. The scrambled eggs were perfect, however the sausage and beans weren't kept warm enough.
Location: Centrally located to all of the city's attractions and amenities, as well as easily accessed to and from the highway.
Visiting my hometown for a High School reunion. The availability of a first rate hotel to enjoy the experience of meeting old classmates and retire to after a long day was very much appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Good hotel, the only complaint we had was a shower drain that was a little clogged - created a little pool for the feet, not pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel close to downtown and easy assess.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff. Bathroom seems recently renovated. Bed was comfortable.
Location: Easy assess from highway. Close to coastal drive Bay of Fundy Trail. Great restaurants within minutes drive away.
Pleasant stay. Clean and comfortable. Price and value match.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oviedo, Florida

Outstanding and an excellent value.

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Beautiful hotel and spotless room. Included breakfast on real china with metal utensils. Quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. It is a great place to stay in Saint John.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Noisy air con

Posted May 28, 2015
I stayed at this hotel for one night only and I'm glad it was for only one night. Not really located near anything of note. Staff were friendly. Wifi was terrible on the night I arrived and kept dropping out, however in the morning it worked perfectly. Room was spacious. TV was good. Biggest problem was the air con system. It was located on the floor and when you opened the control panel it stated it was controlled by the panel on the wall. When I used that and tried to turn it off, it wouldn't turn off. It was very very noisy. You had to turn your tv up especially to hear over it. Ear plugs wouldn't block out the sound. It was horrendous. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay in Saint John

Posted May 15, 2015
My 91 year old Dad was visiting his sister for the first time in several years and the Chateau Saint John made his stay a very comfortable one from helping him get his breakfast at the buffet to arranging for a bath chair.