Ratings based on 314 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom quebec

The best Howard Johnson ever

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: cleanlyness,quietness and location.
Cons: Coffee in the room need a new brand.or use keurig machines .
Location: good location to city center.walked 5 hours around the city.outside is a nice walk along bay of Fundy.
I have stayed at several Howard Jonhson's before ,but this was the best.Clean,Staff was freindlyand helpful.And the food was the best.reserant was in the building and your complemetry breakfast was a choise of 11 .We stayed as a family of 5 adults and there was always something to do for everyone.great location walk to uptown city center market,and by the bay.Air conditioner was quite and no noise .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad customer service

Posted May 19, 2015
It says free wifi but the wifi only works at hotel's lobby not in the rooms which was not comfortable at all. Also for breakfast they provide only one small plate of food and when we asked for extra bread they charge us $4 for 2 small pieces of bread. Hotel employees are so unwelcome too. They didn't even say hi to us when we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Fredericton, NB

Convenient, clean & comfortable

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: the service and the great staff. The restaurant on sight was also amazing with the same friendly service and GREAT food!
Cons: rooms could use updating but cleanliness and friendliness make up for it :)
Location: Very easy to get around....close to highway
This is no 5 star hotel.....HOWEVER.....they do treat you as such. We were there for 1 night for a football tournament. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean (yes outdated but clean). The pool area and hot tub were clean. The free breakfast was AMAZING......it was a full HIT breakfast and included your beverages. We would stay here again.....it's definitely a great deal!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ontario

Right on the harbour .... Okay

Posted May 13, 2015
We Checked into the HoJo and the staff was super nice and knowledgeable. We went to our room which was clean, it was dated, but okay. The pool looked really green so we didn't go in, but the restaurant was great! Every meal was good and the free breakfast was even awesome! The beds felt comfortable and it was a good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom moncton NB

food the food was great .

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Location: The shopping is close not far down the road . The reverseing fall were down the road.
The room was clean and nice . The beds were soft. and the pillows were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saint John NB

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Big Lobby
Cons: I really think they need to update the hotel, it was very dated many years ago and has not had a make over in a while, many years.
I was disappointed by the age of the hotel. I had been there a few years ago and thought that they would have updated it by now. It was very dated as it was about 7 years ago. It wasn't updated for quite a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 23, 2015
The staff, front desk, restaurant & cleaning staff were awesome. Extremely pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terribly noisy with kids running wild

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Our hotel stay was terrible. There were kids playing hockey in the halls and balls were hitting our door, when I complained to the front desk I was informed that the noise policies were not in effect until 11pm. I had to speak to the kids several times and to their parents. And then after the kids went to bed the adults started with drinking in the halls and being loud. I had to speak to them about how I had children trying to sleep and still had to call the front desk. Finally someone came and spoke with them but the noise continued. These kids tied up the elevators by going up and down all day and completely took over the pool. They were so noisy and out of control that it was impossible for anyone else to enjoy anything about this stay. The staff just shrugged off any complaints and didn't seem to care what I thought. Will never stay here again and probably not at any Howard Johnson either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to St john regional hospital

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Close to hospital
Location: Papa John's Pizza very close by and delivered quickly. Hot and delicious.
The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean. However, the hotel needs a bit of an update. Bathtub finish is worn, the duvets were lumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carleton, NB

Dated hotel but good for the price.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Very friendly staff. Great free breakfast. Many choices and we'll prepared. Dated, and cramped, exercise area. Clean room, not so clean bathroom (hair in tub, etc.). Great lounge area.