Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great resort.

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool. Great Tennis courts. I didn't golf but amazing course right beside the resort. Our room was great and coffee on the patio was a great start to the day. Buffet breakfast was very good. My wife said it was the best omelet she ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

well situated. Beautiful pool

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Paying 1 night with Expedia and 2 at the hotel was a small problem checking out
Location: Nice villages near by
We were 4 couples and had a great time, we had good meals, enjoyed the pool, tennis and golf
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, On

Great old resort hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and the availability of the reception staff as well as the location of the establishment.
Cons: Baggage handling is a bit of a sore point, no equipment or people to help and the car is quite far from the room.
Location: Beautiful locale; wonderful vistas; a good place to stay for a week and rest-up if you wish. Tennis court, gym, indoor and outdoor swimming pools.
The hotel was being renovated when we visited. We stayed in the newly renovated section. I am told that there will be renovations to two other rooming sections of the hotel and that may be followed by the construction of yet another wing. The hotel site is gorgeous, located just above a popular skiing area, not visible from the hotel I believe, at least I could not see it at the time (summer). Summer living at this resort seemed centered around the outside swimming pool with lounge chairs, a complete bar, there was good quality live entertainment and many tables for having a drink with friends or sharing a meal. It reminded me of the great old resort hotels I have seen in black & white movies, yet the amenities are up to date, at least in the renovated rooms... I did not see the older rooms. Some of the rooms, in the Tyrol section particularly, have a balcony with a truly wonderful view of the surrounding mountainous country side including nearby skiing areas. The hotel has character and the reception staff is truly accommodating. We did not eat at the hotel as we were zipping by but friends tell us that meals served there are of high quality and presented in a way expected of a hotel of this level. We are going back there for a family function in a few weeks, then we will take time to test the quality of the table.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

could have been better

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Cons: attention to details, increased professionalism, staff training on customer service
Location: shopping, spas, golf
2 night stay, room very basic,wifi not available in room, cable very basic and mostly french, housekeeping lacking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Small, Pricey Rooms with Balloon Pillows

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The shower
Cons: Replace the pillows with something more practical for sleeping, replace the sinks with something with a smaller spigot and more counter space.
Location: N/A
We found the room to be small for the price in off-season. It was clean and well kept and obviously recently updated. The shower was very nice but otherwise the washroom was cramped with very narrow shelves, no vanity at all and very small sink. Two big complaints, the pillows were like big balloons and my wife ended up with neck pain, and also there was a lot of noise in the hallways while we were there. A phoned in complaint to the front desk about the noise didn't see to have any effect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lindsay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would go back

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Nice hotel, partially renovated. Staff is nice and caring, the place is clean, the outdoors are great. We had a newly renovated room. Personally didn't like the very modern style of the room that doesn't quite fit the "log cabin" style of the other part of the hotel. My husband liked it. The restaurant offers a great sunday brunch. We had a great time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rp from Ottawa

In need of TLC

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
At best the location next to the ski hill is fantastic and Mont Gabriel is an excellent family ski center. The building is leaking and multiple buckets could be found along the corridors and certain rooms throughout the hotel. The brunch served did not reflect the price instead it reflected the general condition of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Ottawa

Great location!

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location and a decent price
Cons: The heating system perhaps....
Location: You name it, you can do it! Ski, tubing, snowboarding, trekking, etc. And eating, of course!
Everything was great. Except the heating system. It kept us warm, but it's very noisy for about 40 seconds, then it's dead quiet for about 10 seconds, the the cycle repeats itself. Non stop. All night long. It kept us awas a good chunk of the night. Maybe that's how it's supposed to work, but I've never seen that before. Everything else was great.