Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice Hostal in Salamanca

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Location, it's close to everything
Location: Cathedral, Plaza, downtwon
I only stayed one night, but it was ok, nothing fancy but is good place to crash for a couple of nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Colleen from California

Ok for a night

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is very convenient and the price is right for what you get. The bathroom probably only has 10 square feet of flooring, and the shower was ridiculously small (I'm a very small woman and it was even small for me). There was a tear in our sheets and the bed was rock hard. Neither my boyfriend or I slept well. The staff however was wonderfully helpful, they taught us how to use our TV and pointed us to attractions in the area. The location was very close to the center of the city. It's a great place to stay if you plan on being out and about all day. I wouldn't stay there again unless it was just for one night.
2 out of 5
by Gene from Michigan, USA

Definitely not a 3-star hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Location and price are great. Max 10-min walk to Plaza Mayor.
Cons: So plain/basic almost to the point of depressing
Location: Great location.
This place has a great location, it was inexpensive, the bed was comfortable, the staff were helpful, and the place was clean. You must pay for parking (street parking is impossible to snag) but that’s OK. To get to the punchline: If you are fine with very plain motel rooms (think cheap college dorm), it’s a great place. But there is the problem that the photos and Expedia’s rating are very misleading. There is no way this is a three-star hotel! Its official Spanish rating is two stars, but it deserves only one. This is the kind of place that is a moderate splurge (and no more) for someone who normally stays in youth hostels and thinks anything is better than that. No air conditioning, no elevator; you may enjoy both lugging your stuff up the stairs and hearing your neighbors’ conversations through the walls. The wifi is terrible; the bathroom was serviceable but is so tiny that if someone is “seated” they cannot close the bathroom door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

very close to centre

Posted Sep 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
There were a few stray hairs in my bed when I arrived, other than that the room seemed clean. We weren't told about the cleaning service until the day before we left, had we been told we would have made better use of it. The drinks and snacks machines downstairs are very handy and the location couldn't be better, although our room on the inside of the block was very noisy because the sound echoes around the square in the middle. Would stay again but request an outside room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alvaro from Chicago, IL, USA

Great hostel for short time visits.

Posted Sep 11, 2012
It was a very friendly-like hostel. The room was as expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jacqui

Overall, nice.

Posted Aug 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were all real friendly and helpful; always saying hello and answering questions as best as they knew. It was also real close to everything that we wanted to see. 5 minutes from the Plaza Mayor and about 5 minutes as well from the bus station which was very helpful since we had a lot of luggage. The only down fall to it was that we were at the way end of the hall and in the mornings it was very very very noisy .. there was construction or something on the other side of our wall and it was very annoying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very good for the price

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marino from Panamá

Great location, very helpful staff and affordable

Posted Mar 22, 2012
Pros: The helpful staff
Cons: I'm hard pressed to find anything I didn't like. I guess it would be the staircase which is sort of narrow.
Location: Excellent location. On walking distance from both the bus station and the Plaza Mayor.
I stayed at Hostal Mindanao on late November, 2011. I had a great overall experience and will recommend it to everyone wanting to spend a few days in Salamanca. The hotel is very well located. From it, you can easily walk to both the bus station and the Plaza Mayor and everywhere in the city center. Also, it is located next to several hospitals. The installations are actually very good for the affordable price. However, the best thing about Hostal Mindanao is the staff. They were very helpful to me providing general information about the tourist attractions of the city, nearby places to eat, internet cafes, bus schedules to other cities and a place for buying an electrical plug adapter. On top of that, when I lost one of my contact lenses, they even helped me find an optician clinic that replaced it in less than 48 hours. When I go back to Salamanca, I will certainly stay again at Hostal Mindanao.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close walk to sights

Posted Jan 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The owner spoke English which was helpful and he provided us with a map. Very kind. They charge a deposit for the key but that wasn't a problem. The room was nice, all I cared about was cleanliness so I was pleased!! The walk to plaza mayor was only about 5-10 min and everything else we wanted to see wasn't too far either.