Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
セーレムという静かで落ちつく町にあるとても快適で安らげるホテルでした!また機会があれば行きたいです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel!!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Staff is happy and helpful. Beautiful historic rooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Proctor, VT

Relaxing, friendly, home feel.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: All the character and friendly staff.
Cons: Bathroom was a little small but would not want to see if changed as it is part of the charm of the 1920 hotel.
Location: We did not visit any nearby attractions on this trip but have been to Salem a couple times before and love the town.
We had been staying at cookie cutter hotels in Boston for my son's hospital stay and this was exactly the cozy, friendly, home feel we needed to give him another day of rest before the long drive back to VT. We have already recommended this hotel to numerous family and friends. The food and service in the Tavern was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton MA

Good bargain in the center of Salem

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Hawthorne Hotel is a traditional hotel right in the heart of Salem, within walking distance of the Peabody Essex Museum, the waterfront, and, if you are so inclined, witch museums. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and cheerfully pointed out extras like free coffee, tea, and bottled water. The Hotel's casual Tavern offered a good refuge and quite good food on a cold, stormy evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lorenfrom Salem, MA

Hawthorne Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this room for my parents while the were visiting for the holidays. The Hotel itself is very nice, especially public areas (lobby and restaurant). But the room they stayed in was ridiculously small and dated. Dated in an unfresh, not quaint sorta way. Small would have been okay if room felt cared for. While clean, it just wasn't nice. Since my parents spent very little time there, it was fine for our purposes. And my dad loved having coffee with others in the lobby. I'd be more careful about room selection next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by elizabethfrom Old Greenwich

Christmas Holiday

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spent Christmas there with our daughter. It was lovely. Felt every bit like the holiday! Our dog was welcomed with open arms.....borders the quad, a perfect place to walk him!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Josiefrom Austin, Texas

Lovely understated elegance

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Hotel was lovely and elegant. They catered to our every need. The Jazz Brunch was so much fun! The neighborhood was safe and clean. My son and I had a blast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice hotel... rooms and bath were quite small though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com