Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Great place to stay in Salem. My girlfriends and I had a fantastic time. We work for the airlines and are SUPER picky when it comes to hotels. As long as you keep in mind that it is an older hotel it was very clean. The lobby is charming and you can't beat the location. We arrived in town around 10am. Obviously our room wasn't ready but they gave us a parking pass and called us when our room was ready. Perfect place!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Luxurious and in the heart of Salem. The room was a little smaller than expected but very top notch all the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Salem in October

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The service is first class. Breakfast was exceptional. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom is a really nice touch. Good location and car park.
Cons: Nothing apart from the size of the rooms which would not be feasible.
Location: Excellent location, within walking distance of most attractions and historic sites. I doubt there is anywhere in Salem with a more central location.
We stayed for two nights last week at the Hawthorne. It was my second visit and my friend's first. We were both extremely pleased with the service we received and the hotel as a whole. My only gripe would be that the rooms are a little on the small size and neither of us booked the smallest size. Having said that, it is a very old hotel and that may account for the room sizes. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the future. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It is an hotel with a strong tradition and is steeped in history. It must be noted that though children and young people are warmly welcomed there are no specific facilities such as a pool or lively entertainment which may be relevant to young families or a younger clientele. It is however, a friendly and welcoming establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wish we had a longer stay!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Very friendly staff, close to the Salem night tour, which is a must. The room was slightly small but it was clean, tidy and comfortable. Very quaint charming building and close to several restaurants within walking distance. Free parking for patrons, which was a pleasant surprise. Only problem was that we didn't have enough time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Friendly hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Good bar. Ideal location.
Location: Peabody Essex Museum; Salem Witch Museum; House of the Seven Gables; the Harbor area; Essex Street pedestrian mall. Nearby Marblehead.
The hotel is 'inviting' - friendly & helpful staff, comfortable room and a good bar, which also served meals. We did not use the hotel restaurant. The Hawthorne is ideally located to see the town's sites. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Bay, New York

Wonderful historical hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The historical nature of the hotel lent itself to the general character of the visit to Salem. Room accommodations were clean and comfortable.
Cons: No complaints
Location: The central location allowed easy access to the historical seaport, House of Seven Gables, and other attractions.
Traveling up the New England coast and the Hawthorne Hotel was a high point. I was new to the area and the hotel staff were truly knowledgeable and helpful with information about the area attractions and restaurants. An overall great experience and I plan to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Close to everything

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better beers at the bar
Location: Everything is nearby, museums, water front, downtown district.
Great location, walking distance from everything. Ample free parking. Smallish room, remissness of Paris hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean, comfortable and friendly staff

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms.
Cons: The staff in the pub were awesome, but the food was not.
Location: Centrally located near most attractions, the waterfront, great restaurants and a nice park.
Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and all of the staff (cleaning, restaurant, front desk etc) were genuinely friendly and very helpful. Fantastic location, we parked our car and didn't get in it the entire time we were there. Everything was well within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LI. NY

Great place in the heart of Salem.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at in a long time. Everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location with history in Salem.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: History and classic elegance. Be sure to go to Red's for breakfast. Priceless. Bring cash many places only accept cash.
Location: Salem is amazing. Take the Bewitched tour right away so you know everything you want to see. The Tavern food in the hotel was not very good.
Dripping in history, the Hawthorne is divine. If you can afford to upgrade to the larger rooms I would. Wonderful staff. We do not recommend The Tavern for dinners. There is so much to do and see in Salem.