Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Lovely historic hotel, centrally located

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Our room slept five adults. The beds and cot were more comfortable than many we have experienced in other accommodations.
Location: Truthfully, Salem has changed in the 27 years since we've visited. We did not care for the witchy shops and attractions that have taken over the city.
Beautifully restored historic hotel within walking distance of major attractions in Salem. The staff was beyond friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere is welcoming and hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: In the old town
Nice hotel and a good location to walk the old town and seafront area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owen Sound, Ontario

Great historic hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
My family and I have nothing but great things to say about the Hawthorne Hotel. Great experience. This hotel is right in the middle of historic Salem. My 2 year old loved the park across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owen Sound, Ontario

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Thanks for the great hospitality Hawthorne Hotel. The upgrade room with the King size bed was fantastic, everybody was super friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Jul 15, 2015
This hotel was very comfortable and within walking distance to all venues and restaurants in downtown Salem MA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long island NY

Had a great time with family!!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Great hotel in a great and convenient location in Salem. Easy access to Boston via commuter rail. Hotel staff was extremely helpful with any of my family's needs. Would and plan on visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location....

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Perfect location --- right in the middle of everything - from museum to waterfront, stores to witch history area -- just perfect😄 There is a great Pub and another restaurant in the hotel. The pub was full of locals as well because the food is yummy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Very nice stay😊.....friendly staff and great location! Will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Córdoba - Argentina

lindo hotel, excelente ubicación

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: La atención del personal, el servicio de todo el hotel y las comodidades del mismo es excelente.
Cons: La única dificultad, si reservas una habitación de una cama matrimonial para una pareja, es de dimensiones tan pequeña, que se dificulta para abrir la
Location: Muy bien ubicado, puedes recorrer y visitar Salem y también puedes visitar Boston, trasladándote en ferry o en tren.
Tuvimos una excelente estadía en el hotel. Nosotros buscabamos hotel en Boston y encontramos este hotel, que tenía una muy buena tarifa y cerca de Boston. Ubicado en el centro de Salem, una ciudad con mucha historia y muy bella para recorrer caminando y relajarse. Pero OJO !!!, cuidado con las brujas, ja, ja, ja !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Everything else.
Cons: See above. The breakfast at the restaurant.
Location: We had a short stay but really enjoyed the Peabody-Essex Museum which we had never even heard of before.
We really enjoyed our one-night stay at the excellent Hawthorne. Our single complaint is about the restaurant where we ate breakfast. Because staff, service and accommodations of the hotel were so good, we were extremely disappointed that our one mea at the restaurant was so lacking. For the continental breakfast, there were few choices and the food was very ordinary, not even as good as the free breakfasts at medium-priced motel chains. Fruit choices that were limited and tasteless, a few ordinary rolls, no soy milk for lactose-intolerant guests and inattentive service were some of the issues. The restaurant was an odd appendage to an otherwise excellent hotel. If you go out to eat at one of the many nearby restaurants, you'll be fine.