Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Proctor, VT

Relaxing, friendly, home feel.

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: All the character and friendly staff.
Cons: Bathroom was a little small but would not want to see if changed as it is part of the charm of the 1920 hotel.
Location: We did not visit any nearby attractions on this trip but have been to Salem a couple times before and love the town.
We had been staying at cookie cutter hotels in Boston for my son's hospital stay and this was exactly the cozy, friendly, home feel we needed to give him another day of rest before the long drive back to VT. We have already recommended this hotel to numerous family and friends. The food and service in the Tavern was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton MA

Good bargain in the center of Salem

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Hawthorne Hotel is a traditional hotel right in the heart of Salem, within walking distance of the Peabody Essex Museum, the waterfront, and, if you are so inclined, witch museums. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and cheerfully pointed out extras like free coffee, tea, and bottled water. The Hotel's casual Tavern offered a good refuge and quite good food on a cold, stormy evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Josiefrom Austin, Texas

Lovely understated elegance

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Hotel was lovely and elegant. They catered to our every need. The Jazz Brunch was so much fun! The neighborhood was safe and clean. My son and I had a blast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice hotel... rooms and bath were quite small though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Caitlinfrom Madison, NJ

Historic Salem Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful historic hotel in Salem. Fantastic location for walking and I had a good stay overall. My only complaints are a toilet that didn't flush well, and hard to manage temperature in my room. I guess that's the downfall of an older building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A charming Salem hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had to be in Salem for a meeting and was so happy to have booked at the Hawthorne Hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and they were so pleasant. The neighborhood is as charming as the hotel. There is a great park right next door for walking your dog, if you happen to have one, and I do. So if you have a pet, they are welcome at the hotel too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Most uncomfortable room I ever stayed in

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is in a nice area but the traffic is very bad. The heating/cooling system is really outdated. When I complained, I was told to open a window. Unfortunately, after doing so there was a smoky smell in the room from a chimney stack over the restaurant below. The room was so small that I had to put the refrigerator and a lamp in the closet in order to be able to use the closet. I had to prop the bathroom door open with a book so it didn't get hot and it was very hard to get around it to the other side of the bed. The shower was so small that I couldn't back up far enough in it to keep my hair from getting wet. I had to hang my washcloth on a pull out shaving mirror in the bathroom because there was no place else. The ceiling in the shower was peeling. The bed was hard. The lobby area was very pretty but unusable for part of my stay as they served a buffet there. In addition, I requested a refrigerator and got a little cube one sittting on the floor in front of the closet so I couldn't open the closet door. They charged me $7.50 a day for it at checkout. I received a reveiw request from the hotel and after completing it, was contacted and to their credit they refund 50% of my stay. The other issue was room service, the food was very dissapointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by annefrom New York City

Charming Hotel, very comfortable

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were upgraded to a larger room which wasn't big but very comfortable. Great bedding, mattress, arm chairs--well appointed room. My husband really liked the bed. Bathroom was a strange layout--toilet and sink on one side and shower in what was probably a closet. Still, everything worked and was squeaky clean. I find these old hotels delightful when they are well maintained, as this one is. Lots of comfy couches in the lobby with copies of newspapers. Pleasant staff. We had the continental breakfast in the restaurant which included a good selection of pastries, yogurt, fruit--all good quality. The manager even came around to ask about our stay. The hotel is right on the Commons--great location with plenty of parking.