Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton MA

Good bargain in the center of Salem

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Hawthorne Hotel is a traditional hotel right in the heart of Salem, within walking distance of the Peabody Essex Museum, the waterfront, and, if you are so inclined, witch museums. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and cheerfully pointed out extras like free coffee, tea, and bottled water. The Hotel's casual Tavern offered a good refuge and quite good food on a cold, stormy evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice hotel... rooms and bath were quite small though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Wales

Old fashioned central hotel with style.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Parking right outside, fine furnishings, comfortable and quiet. Feels like going back in time.
Cons: Our bedroom was on the small side!
Location: Great for all the local witchy attractions. Pleasant walks around the older parts of town and on the common - nice restaurants locally.
Had stayed here many years ago and was not disappointed to return. This place is comfortable and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Great place to stay to see Salem attractions

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Staff let me into the room on the morning of my arrival since the room was ready for me. Hot cider was wonderful after seeing the sites in Salem. Morning coffee before I left was great also. Staff was very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Great place to stay in Salem. My girlfriends and I had a fantastic time. We work for the airlines and are SUPER picky when it comes to hotels. As long as you keep in mind that it is an older hotel it was very clean. The lobby is charming and you can't beat the location. We arrived in town around 10am. Obviously our room wasn't ready but they gave us a parking pass and called us when our room was ready. Perfect place!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Luxurious and in the heart of Salem. The room was a little smaller than expected but very top notch all the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Salem in October

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The service is first class. Breakfast was exceptional. Good quality toiletries in the bathroom is a really nice touch. Good location and car park.
Cons: Nothing apart from the size of the rooms which would not be feasible.
Location: Excellent location, within walking distance of most attractions and historic sites. I doubt there is anywhere in Salem with a more central location.
We stayed for two nights last week at the Hawthorne. It was my second visit and my friend's first. We were both extremely pleased with the service we received and the hotel as a whole. My only gripe would be that the rooms are a little on the small size and neither of us booked the smallest size. Having said that, it is a very old hotel and that may account for the room sizes. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the future. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It is an hotel with a strong tradition and is steeped in history. It must be noted that though children and young people are warmly welcomed there are no specific facilities such as a pool or lively entertainment which may be relevant to young families or a younger clientele. It is however, a friendly and welcoming establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com