Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Friendly hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Good bar. Ideal location.
Location: Peabody Essex Museum; Salem Witch Museum; House of the Seven Gables; the Harbor area; Essex Street pedestrian mall. Nearby Marblehead.
The hotel is 'inviting' - friendly & helpful staff, comfortable room and a good bar, which also served meals. We did not use the hotel restaurant. The Hawthorne is ideally located to see the town's sites. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Bay, New York

Wonderful historical hotel.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The historical nature of the hotel lent itself to the general character of the visit to Salem. Room accommodations were clean and comfortable.
Cons: No complaints
Location: The central location allowed easy access to the historical seaport, House of Seven Gables, and other attractions.
Traveling up the New England coast and the Hawthorne Hotel was a high point. I was new to the area and the hotel staff were truly knowledgeable and helpful with information about the area attractions and restaurants. An overall great experience and I plan to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Close to everything

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better beers at the bar
Location: Everything is nearby, museums, water front, downtown district.
Great location, walking distance from everything. Ample free parking. Smallish room, remissness of Paris hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean, comfortable and friendly staff

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and clean, comfortable rooms.
Cons: The staff in the pub were awesome, but the food was not.
Location: Centrally located near most attractions, the waterfront, great restaurants and a nice park.
Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and all of the staff (cleaning, restaurant, front desk etc) were genuinely friendly and very helpful. Fantastic location, we parked our car and didn't get in it the entire time we were there. Everything was well within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LI. NY

Great place in the heart of Salem.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at in a long time. Everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location with history in Salem.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: History and classic elegance. Be sure to go to Red's for breakfast. Priceless. Bring cash many places only accept cash.
Location: Salem is amazing. Take the Bewitched tour right away so you know everything you want to see. The Tavern food in the hotel was not very good.
Dripping in history, the Hawthorne is divine. If you can afford to upgrade to the larger rooms I would. Wonderful staff. We do not recommend The Tavern for dinners. There is so much to do and see in Salem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great place to stay in Salem

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Nice room, comfy bed and great front of house staff. The bathroom was compact even by European standards but very well appointed. I didnt have a good experience with breakfast - the maitre d was not at all welcoming, there was no buffet and my order (yoghurt, fruit and toast) took 25 mins to arrive whilst others with cooked breakfasts and who'd arrived after me had their meals before me! I'd stay again but would think twice about using the hotel restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Poor Value For Money

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: It is near most attractions in Salem
Avoid this hotel as it is at most a Two Star hotel. The ceiling paint in the bathroom was peeling off. The walls must be suffering from damp as the wallpaper was bubbling up all over the place. The windows were so dirty it made it hard to see the view. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. For the price paid, breakfast should have been included! The room size was tiny and the hotel in general looks like it needs a really good clean and repaint!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Really large family room with 2 bathrooms

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Lots of space for a family of five! We're always struggling to find hotels that we can all fit in 1 room if only a 1-night stay. This was perfect! We were arriving late off our flight and called ahead to have roll away put in our room, and it was perfect when we got there! 2 full bathrooms, either end of the room made getting on the road the following morning so much quicker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
My family and I enjoyed our stay here even though it was only for 1 night. Large, clean room. Staff was friendly. Close to all attractions.