Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location....

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Perfect location --- right in the middle of everything - from museum to waterfront, stores to witch history area -- just perfect😄 There is a great Pub and another restaurant in the hotel. The pub was full of locals as well because the food is yummy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Very nice stay😊.....friendly staff and great location! Will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Córdoba - Argentina

lindo hotel, excelente ubicación

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: La atención del personal, el servicio de todo el hotel y las comodidades del mismo es excelente.
Cons: La única dificultad, si reservas una habitación de una cama matrimonial para una pareja, es de dimensiones tan pequeña, que se dificulta para abrir la
Location: Muy bien ubicado, puedes recorrer y visitar Salem y también puedes visitar Boston, trasladándote en ferry o en tren.
Tuvimos una excelente estadía en el hotel. Nosotros buscabamos hotel en Boston y encontramos este hotel, que tenía una muy buena tarifa y cerca de Boston. Ubicado en el centro de Salem, una ciudad con mucha historia y muy bella para recorrer caminando y relajarse. Pero OJO !!!, cuidado con las brujas, ja, ja, ja !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Everything else.
Cons: See above. The breakfast at the restaurant.
Location: We had a short stay but really enjoyed the Peabody-Essex Museum which we had never even heard of before.
We really enjoyed our one-night stay at the excellent Hawthorne. Our single complaint is about the restaurant where we ate breakfast. Because staff, service and accommodations of the hotel were so good, we were extremely disappointed that our one mea at the restaurant was so lacking. For the continental breakfast, there were few choices and the food was very ordinary, not even as good as the free breakfasts at medium-priced motel chains. Fruit choices that were limited and tasteless, a few ordinary rolls, no soy milk for lactose-intolerant guests and inattentive service were some of the issues. The restaurant was an odd appendage to an otherwise excellent hotel. If you go out to eat at one of the many nearby restaurants, you'll be fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in Historic Salem, Massachusetts.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Great hotel in downtown Salem, MA. Clean and comfortable room. Hotel has excellent restaurants. Free parking. Hotel is within walking distance of most historic sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Classic old fashioned hotel - interesting history

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly old fashioned atmosphere.
Location: Salem is a very interesting historic town, 'witch' museum,lovely waterfront, good shopping, and the wonderful Salem Willows : great beach and harbour.
Very comfortable room but small and no view - but I guess you get what you pay for, and we had a good deal through Expedia. We picked the wrong time as the restaurant area and car park was being refurbished. Friendly staff - cosy foyer with plentiful free coffee etc. Excellent location for all the historic sights of Salem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from york

Overnight stop

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Location - overlooking the common. Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning and bathroom both need upgrading.
Location: Location is pretty well at the centre and thus not far from the seafront. It's also almost opposite the witch museum.
Just a quick overnight stop. We booked a couple of King size rooms but the rooms were a bit small to accommodate that size of bed comfortably, so there was not much spare space for bags etc. Also the bathroom was very small with a window next to the shower and again not a lot of storage space. However, quite comfortable and good selection of toiletries and towels. The air conditioning system was ancient and unfathomable. I couldn't get it to push out any heat so lucky it was not too cold outside. The air vent did allow us to hear the gardening lecture from downstairs though which was entertaining! Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection on offer. The check in and out were both very quick and efficient and staff very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

A very old hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Cons: Air-conditioning cannot be adjusted. The room was kind of warm. No microwave, refrigerator or coffee maker. Pro: nice area, quick check in/out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Key Biscayne

Nice hotel in the heart of Salem

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: It is very well located
Cons: Restaurants service and quality of food
We spent one night at the Hawthorne Hotel. It is nice but needs remodeling. The room was ok, small bathroom, a bit noisy. All night long we heard an engine working, nothing terrible but... still. It was ok for a one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff comfortable room
Cons: Fridge in the room free of charge
Location: Located in centre of town close to attractions and restaurants and bars.
Lovely hotel easy to walk to all tourist attractions.