Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Oregon

Easy access to/from freeway; A bit dated

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Convenient to the freeway.
Cons: Upgrade the televisions!
We checked in about 11 PM. Although the room was guaranteed for late arrival, I received a voice message from the hotel clerk prior to this time asking if we still planned on staying. Having used on-line sites that require prepayment many times, I was shocked to think they were going to resell my room if I didn't show up. They were full and I think people in the lobby were waiting for my room! So my advice would be to double check with this hotel if you plan on being late!!! Also, the television in our room was barely bigger than 20" AND it was mostly likely from the early 90's, picture tube type! Terrible!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted Jun 17, 2014
It was a very nice stay for the money. The room was well maintained and everything was non-smoking, which was a plus. The bed was comfy, and amenities were very accessible. We enjoyed our stay very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel that is near Woodburn Outlet and I-5.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Service and the location.
Cons: Clean the stairs and get new elevators if possible.
Location: Close to Woodburn Outlet and I-5. Easy access to restaurants and have hotel food coupons.
I was actually surprised that the amount of surrounding restaurants in that area. There is quite a bit of options to eat near the hotel and we also get to try the "ALL U CAN EAT" prime ribs on every Sunday in the hotel restaurant for only $19.95/person. It was not bad of a deal. The services were good and everyone was friendly. The only downfall would be the hotel is a little bit old and the elevators are a bit ancient. Do not take the stairs to the next level because it has not been cleaned for a long time. Overall, I thought this hotel was decent with the amount that you are paying per night compared with some other hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit with relatives.

Posted May 31, 2014
The room was small and dated. It was also hot and stuffy. The staff was great. We had breakfast and it took forever to get served our food but the waitresses were freindly and attentive. The food was however good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Karla, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the temperature of your guest room and that is was uncomfortably warm. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit. Kind Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from california

Convenient when using the HUT from Portland

Posted May 26, 2014
The staff made our multi family reunion and graduation celebration a pleasant event!
3 out of 5
by Jackie from Portland

Red Lion is Normally Very Good

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Remodel Building
Location: N/A
Shower wouldn't work. Toilet wouldn't shut off. Sink drained very slow
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy and Helpful

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Conveniently located, staff competent and helpful, business center functional. It clearly is heavily trafficked and management works hard to keep up.
Cons: I like hard mattresses and this was soft for my back but otherwise no complaints. I had good food for breakfast although the dining room decor is more
The Red Lion in Salem is conveniently located and the staff are competent and helpful. It clearly is heavily trafficked and management works hard to keep up. I was pleased the equipment in the business center was easy and functional. The room was very practical. I like hard mattresses and this was soft for my back but otherwise no complaints. I had good food for breakfast although the dining room decor is more like a dark dance hall than a hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by b from Bend, Or.

Easy to find. Just off I 5

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Quality as expected for a Red Lion hotel. Close to capital and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Olympia, WA

Nice hotel, close to shopping and restaurants

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: It was right there in the middle of town and the rooms were great.
Cons: The only complaint I have is their pillows. Too small and high. I like the really long soft pillows. also no continental breakfast is offered.
Location: lots of restaurants and stores
The staff were really nice and helpful and friendly.. The only complaint I have is their pillows. Too small and high. I like the really long soft pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monica from san diego

Very clean and convenient hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: a continental breakfast of some sort
Location: close to the 5 freeway and shopping.
The staff is what makes this hotel stand out for us. As we have traveled along the 5 at many stops, this hotel has been the most accommodating. The first room seemed a little cramped and the front desk person, Stacey recommended a larger room on the 3rd floor for the same price, had it cleaned and ready for us the next day. Very pleasant stay. there are coffee makers in the room, but no breakfast. However, you can get a discount at the adjoining restaurant..