Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by world traveller

Not new as it says in description , TIRED

Posted Oct 23, 2013
The receptionist on arrival was miserable & unhelpful . There is no free parking or internet which having just travelled the length if italy we were shocked by because even the smallest 2 star hotels provided these services. The hotel looks worn out & in need of an overhaul. Our 1 st room was neglected badly , a boogie on the wall , paint peeling & a very unkept balcony @ over 100e we expected more. We complained and got a much better room a few doors up. The hotel wasn't very busy so why not put your customers in the better rooms to start with! The beach is dirty , but there's a nice centre a short walk away, with free parking & free wi fi widely available .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by don from toronto

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: Close to everything. rooms were big and spacious, very clean. Quiet and love the ocean view rooms with sit out balconies.
Cons: Breakfast was adequate, but for a 4 star hotel, I thought it lacked in quality and choice. Enternet could be very week in room choice.
Location: Train station right next door, great connection service. Boat service to Amalfi coast just a short walk. shopping close by
This is good hotel really, close to everything, train station, boat service, shopping and you can walk almost everywhere or take the bus very easily. The second and third floors of the hotel have balconies that face the ocean and have great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Positiano

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Evelyn from Hong Kong

Not bad hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2013
I had read some pretty bad reviews about the hotel prior to checking in. But during my stay there, I kept thinking: It is not that bad. The location is excellent : the seafront hotel is under 15 minute walk from Salerno's train station and the ferry pier to all the popular destinations : Amalfi, Capri, Sorrento... My room was huge. There was even a sofa and an open kitchenette. Breakfast buffet was ample and had a great variety : fried eggs, bacon, seasonal fruits etc However wifi was at exhorbitant prices. Many of the hotel facilities were badly maintained, including the tap in the kitchenette of my room which was waterless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthews from Launceston TAS 7250, Australia

Does a basic job.

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Lack of sincere service.
Location: 10 minutes walk rom the CBD and Rail Station and 30 minutes walk from the old historic area.
The Grand Hotel Salerno is the biggest hotel in the city. It's a pleasant and safe 10 minute walk into the main CBD and about 30 minutes from the old city area. The hotel offers basic services with one dining room and a very small snack and drink bar. Service is generally satisfactory but don't expect anyone to go the extra mile - they won't! Rooms vary from large suites with a sea view to small inner rooms without any view. The rooms are clean and functional but basic. Do not expect tea/coffee making facilities or an iron.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had superior room with seaview. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very poor quality and don't know how they managed to source such poor quality food when the region has such good food. Fruit juice and coffee were particularly bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Placid

close to the the main railway station.

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Rooms are clean and comfortable
Cons: Provide free internet access in the rooms. Provide free welcome bottles of water in the room.
Location: Good for people who love to take long walks, jog, exercise freaks.
pleasant and comfortable stay. Good for business .
3 out of 5
Recommended
by milena from london

Busy breakfast

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
very busy breakfast, buffet service. People fighting for a piece of bread, very difficult to get a clean and set table. A bit stressful atmosphere to start the day. A decent food variety, though. Location is ok, quite near the train station but far from the historic city center. Neighbourhood is quite desert at night.