Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK.

Good location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Cons: Wi-fi signal in all rooms and better lit areas around the hotel.
Hotel is a six or seven minute walk from the train station and and about ten minutes from the ferry to the Amalfi coast so a good location to get to Paestum, Naples or Amalfi. Not a good area to use and park a car. Restaurants were about ten minutes away. The hotel is a bit of a barn but has everything that you need. Breakfast is good and varied. Didn't do lunch or dinner at the hotel. Room was large with a balcony overlooking the coast. Air conditioning just about does the business and the wi-fi signal gets weaker in some rooms but is free. Rooms cleaned everyday and towels changed. All in all a good deal for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Salerno

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: how close and convenient the location was.
Cons: free WiFi would have been good
Location: everything is within walking distance
Nice hotel, lovely breakfast, was a little noisy at times. Fantastic location very central beside train ,bus and boats would really recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Decent hotel for the price, except...

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Has potential to be a 5star hotel but drops the ball with bad staff and disorganization. Extensive breakfast but it's made with powdered eggs and milk. The night we arrived we asked for additional pillows, staff answer: no Say there is no pressure in shower: staff answer: no it's fine One day the maid took the soap and didn't replace it...odd No toilet paper for one day, had to ask twice for it... Needed towels, was flat out told no. Beach across the street is very dirty Hotel staff for the most part was nice however one girl was very nasty/short with us when we would ask for directions someplace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location clean rooms

Posted Jul 4, 2014
pleasant stay, the location was very good everything was within walking distance the only bad thing was that my wife was asked to leave the pool because she was not wearing a bathing cap
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matthews from Launceston, Tasmania

Big but not Better!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: It is in a convenient area of Salerno. Good views of the Bay. The rooms are airy and large.
Cons: Rooms need more decoration and tea/coffee making facilities; iron and ironing board. Tissues in bathroom. Service needs to be more friendly.
Location: Walking distance to the city centre and about 20 minutes walk to the charming old city area. Close to ferries for Amalfi & other coastal spots.
Possibly the principal hotel in Salerno and certainly the largest, The Grand Salerno provides basic but not deluxe accommodation. Rooms are generally quite large and airy. Sea view rooms are the best. For overseas visitors do not expect in-room tea/coffee making facilities or an iron and ironing board. Even a tissue box is not available in the bathroom. Service is relatively good but disorganised queues at reception are the norm. The elevators are congested at busy periods so it's easier to take the stairs!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamie from Wyoming

A good location

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were okay. The sea view was nice because from afar the sea looks great. Unfortunately up close the sea is littered with garbage. But that has nothing to do with hotel. The pool is huge. The best part of hotel that wasn't open was the roof top terrace. Why was there not a bar up there? It was very pretty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by young from SF.

Nice hotel to stay on the way to Amalfi coast.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: We had a room with the beach view which was very nice.
Cons: Too dark hallways and breakfast.
Location: Close to the beach and walking distance from the Main Street.
Good location close to the beach. Nice and clean room but nothing special. Hallway was too dark, quite depressing. Breakfast was not very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by helmuth from vienna austria

Its a Grand Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: there is everything you need
Cons: parking situation
Location: how I told above you reach every famous places of campagna
This Hotel isn't far from any transpotation system.Starting at the Hotel you reach all famous and beautiful places in Campagna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by world traveller

Not new as it says in description , TIRED

Posted Oct 23, 2013
The receptionist on arrival was miserable & unhelpful . There is no free parking or internet which having just travelled the length if italy we were shocked by because even the smallest 2 star hotels provided these services. The hotel looks worn out & in need of an overhaul. Our 1 st room was neglected badly , a boogie on the wall , paint peeling & a very unkept balcony @ over 100e we expected more. We complained and got a much better room a few doors up. The hotel wasn't very busy so why not put your customers in the better rooms to start with! The beach is dirty , but there's a nice centre a short walk away, with free parking & free wi fi widely available .