Ratings based on 1,223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

OK hotel.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The location and price were both good.
Cons: The rooms need upgrading soon. The maintenance shortcomings were a constant distraction and made us wish we had used another hotel.
Location: Near an exit from Hwy 101. Close to Main St. which offers several very nice restaurants and a nice internet café and coffee house.
The hotel is conveniently located and the price seemed reasonable. The outside appearance looked modern and well maintained. The desk staff was friendly and efficient. The room was basic, as expected, but clearly needed upgrading. The bedspreads had some major stains, as did the carpeting. The mattresses were thin and not supportive. The bathroom shower enclosure was badly cracked, stained and in need of repair a long time ago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Desert, Ca

This place is a DUMP!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: EVERYTHING!!
We arrived at 9:15pm and the lobby was already closed. The night window was available, but there was a note in the window stating that the clerk would be right back. Another customer and I waited for nearly 45 minutes for his return, which was awesome with tired kids in the car. The outside appearance of the hotel is misleading, because it looks pretty nice. Our room was gross. There was hair all over the bathroom floor, and in the tub. There were 2 half used rolls of toilet paper in the bathroom. I made the reservation for the 2 queen beds because we had kids with us, and even put that on the reservation, but upon arrival there were only 2 towels and no hand towels or washcloths. The tv had 17 channels total and the tv had to be nearly off the edge of the dresser or you couldn't even get reception on it. Oh, and the "hot tub" they advertise on the Expedia page is now a planter. This place was AWFUL.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from No. Cal.

It was a room with a (cheap) bed

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Monterey Car Week so expected high prices, but for $191/night, we got worse than Motel 6. Uncomfortable bed. Room air conditioner was either sub-zero or off and loud. Bath/shower not clean. Fist-sized hole in bath door repaired with a patch. Key card didn't work on first room we got.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Unsanitary

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Nothing could be done to improve the mold and nails on bathtub and sheets full of hair, supposedly clean sheets replaced also had hair on it. This hotel should be shut for renovation and strict supervision.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancoucer, BC

Not bad

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: It was clean and comfortable for a one night stay.
Cons: I was disappointed that they charged extra for the WIFI.
My boyfriend and I booked this hotel in advance as one of our road trip stops. We were looking for something clean and affordable with a bed and shower. If that is all you need then this is the perfect place. The place was clean and we felt comfortable at this location. We didn't get a chance to check out the city, but the hotel is close to a highway if you are looking to just make a one night stop on your way somewhere else. It's an hour and a half drive from San Francisco, and an affordable alternative to the expensive San Francisco hotels. The only downer was that you have to pay for WIFI access.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Location: Location is bad.
I did not stay. I ended up booking somewhere else. This is not a hotel for families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of renovation

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: It was cheap.
In the online ad the place look good but in person the room was in need of renovation, I.e. carpets, furniture, air conditioning. I thought I requested a none smoking room and ended up with a smoking room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Ok for it's cheap price I don't know what to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A place to bunk

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Close to freeway and highway to Monterey, and gas, food etc.
Cons: Clean the badly stained exterior and update the rooms ) and fix the sticking door. Maybe more than one ice machine near the lobby.
Location: Straight shot to Laguna Seca Raceway and Monterey
Close to freeway, but facilities were old and very dirty. Cigarette burns on all 80's furniture, even edge of tub (in non-smoking room). Old tube TV with horrible reception and remote with buttons missing. And lights on timers - seriously! "Trying" to watch bad TV and the lights would go out - seriously! Mostly comfortable bed, except for the crinkly plastic under the sheet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I Apologize for giving you a room that doesn’t meet our basic standards, and I assure you that I am doing everything I can to improve the experience for future guests. I believe that every guest is entitled to a clean and comfortable room with exceptional service and should leave feeling they have received an excellent value for the money paid. Thank you again for your comments. We use all feedback to help improve our service and strengthen our commitment to our customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SALINAS,CA

Posted Jul 9, 2014
IT WAS GREAT.I GOT TO RELAX AND GET THE REST I NEEDED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay here. I will be happy to pass along your positive review on to my crew to encourage them to keep up the good work, and remind them why we should continue to work to keep our guest happy. Thank you so much for your comment.