Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and peaceful hotel.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location and decor.
Very professional and attentive. Hosted my birthday lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Good location, great staff. The restaurant was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

We had an excellent experience!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was fabulous! Very clean, great decor and smelled wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sheek & Comfy

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Best happy hour in their plush hotel lobby! Coctails & 5-min massages! Courtesy of Kimpton
4 out of 5
by george from L.A.

nice-ish

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: clean, comfy
Cons: just didn't live up to the personality that i expect from hotel monicos I've stayed at in the past
Location: it was a good location. quick walk to some restaurants and stuff
the hotel was clean, comfy, and i didn't have any real complaints. the only thing i would say is i picked it because i love hotel monicos typically. they usually have such great personality and quirkiness, this one however just felt ordinary. i would not avoid it, but just don't expect it to be like the portland or other monicos
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by no

Internet was a PAIN to connect to..didn't want to

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The central to "everything" location and the friendliness of the staff. Also the wine hour was very pleasant.
Cons: Room service was a little "spotty" .I say that because the tea bags were ALREADY in the hot water when breakfast arrived and the tea was SO strong...
Location: City Creek! restaurants and galleries.
..Furnish all that personal information. Internet should be FREE.Also bottled water.
3 out of 5
by GCJ

I thought I'd be impressed considering the price.

Posted May 28, 2014
For the price, the room wasn't what I expected. Sure, it was pleasing to the eye, but I'd expect everything to be in better condition than it was. There was dirt on the floor of the bathroom, stains on the carpet near the window, no room in the refrigerator for anything (if you have small children or babies and may need some refrigerator space, perhaps call in advance to see if the hotel can accommodate), and I felt surrounded by price tags on everything from bottles of "Fred" water in the bathroom to the tray of snacks below the TV. I don't mind the extras in rooms but I'm surprised the bedside lamps didn't have price tags to tell you how much it was to turn on the light. Additionally, if you're from an area where you have a good variety of delicious restaurants, you'll feel cheated by their alleged award winning restaurant. Don't make this hotel your destination. Look at other hotels nearby and consider what you want to do/explore/visit outside of the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Branden from Idaho

No continental breakfast, poor service

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The location, it was close to downtown
Cons: Include the price of the breakfast, snacks and drinks in the hotel room, and valet or regular parking in the cost of the hotel room.
Location: Just a few blocks from the mall downtown and temple square. We still had to drive to get to other places we wanted to go.
Our first disappointing experience with Hotel Monaco was the fact that they tried to squeeze every penny out of your pocket, after making you pay $160+ for the room alone. You would think that paying that much for a room you would get a free breakfast, free wifi, free parking, etc. Well when we came to park we found out that they don't have their own parking. They offered valet parking that offered $10 parking/night and they ended up charging us double for no reason. Then their hotel room wasn't as nice as we thought. We bought a "King Suite" and I thought it would be as big or bigger than a hilton suite. It was actually smaller sq. footage than a regular 2 star hotel room. The ceiling was high also, so it felt real "boxy". They offered treats and bottled water in our room for us to freely take, but they said they would charge us if we took any. $8 for a freaking bottle of water! They only had a simple tv in the room with limited cable channels and no dvd player. The door on the tv stand was warped and couldn't close all the way. There were scratches on the furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from D

Third time staying

Posted May 18, 2014
Very Nice. Great location. Staff is caring and professional. Restaurant in hotel expensive for value as compared to great signature choices within a block or two. Self parking is attached and indoor. Valet service is top notch. Rooms see quite nice. Room view is either city view or you don't want to open the curtains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G

centrally located, boutique hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
Great staff, accommodating. Rooms are small but very comfortable.