Ratings based on 1,336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Our first room had a mattress that was ripped open and unsanitary. The room needed to be renovated. Our second room, the bed was better, but this room also needed to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice, friendly and price worthy hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Location: Location is OK in it being close to the main downtown area but the immediate surroundings are bleak.
The hotel is close to the CBD (Temple Square) (10-minute walk) but the immediate surroundings are a bit bleak. There are no nice restaurants or cafes in the immediate neighbourhood. The shopping mall next to the hotel (Gateway) seems to have lost its attraction to the newer and much nicer shopping centre right in the centre of town (City Creek). Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is small and there is no nice area to lie around the pool. Overall, a pleasant stay at a reasonable price and would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel may be overbooked

Posted Jun 23, 2015
I booked the hotel with the price for 2 queen beds. But when we checked in, they gave me 1 king bed, and told me that was the only room they had. I showed them my receipt, with clearly print out of "2 queen". They just ignored it and said we could let one sleep on the sofa bed. Called Expedia. Expedia also agreed the hotel shouldn't do that, and offered me a different hotel if we wanted to move. But since it had thunderstorm, and with 2 little kids, we decided to stay. Fortunately, that was the only night we stayed, we then moved to Hampton, which is much better in term of room and service. The breakfast in Hyatt Place is so crowded, you have to wait for a table, or stand to finish your breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice clean hotel near downtown

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, close proximity to shopping and some attractions
Cons: Hotel vending machines, hotel amenities (pool)
Our hotel room was nice and clean and the hotel staff was competent and friendly. Everything about our stay at the Hyatt Gateway was great with a few minor exceptions. The hotel pool was extremely small and located outside with no shade coverage which is brutal in 100 degree Utah heat. There were also NO snack or drink vending machines in the hotel and all food/dining within walking distance from the hotel was closed by 10pm every night which was very inconvenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Location for what we needed to do.
Location: Within walking distance to Temple Square. Easy access to highways.
Breakfast great one day, not so great the next with regard to choice. Pool small
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. I appreciate your feedback regarding your breakfast experience. Our Hyatt Place provides the brand standard for breakfast which includes changing the sandwich options each day. I will double check with the kitchen staff to make sure this is happening daily. I do apologize this was missed during your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and let me know of the issue you had with breakfast. If your travel brings you back to Salt Lake City, I hope that you will stay with us again. In hospitality, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Great hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
it was a great stay. The only thing that we would change is more seating and shade umbrellas around the pool. We were staying at the hotel as a large group and not everyone wanted to swim. The staff was great. The rooms were very comfortable. Overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone. THANK YOU HYATT PLACE!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you writing such a nice review of our hotel! I am so happy your group chose to stay with us and that you were able to enjoy our comfortable rooms and wonderful staff. Because of our downtown location we do have limited space around our pool area and I can see where a large group would not be able to be accommodated at the same time. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and I appreciate that the service we provided outweighed the inability to service a large group pool side. I appreciate your feedback and your willingness to recommend the Hyatt Place Downtown. In hospitality, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern utah

Bad service and experience but clean hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
They gave away our room that was reserved and paid for 2 months prior. We didn't have enough beds for our party. One had to sleep on the floor. They said it was because we booked through expedia and not Hyatt.com. We never got an apology or ownership for the mistake. We had to move to a new room the next day and luckily that was up to the standards. The pool was freezing and the hot tub barely Luke warm. There was one employee who went above and beyond, Derek and we really appreciated him. He was the first sorry out of five others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I read your review, I am sorry for the problems you had with your reservation and recent stay. My staff is known for excellent service and when needed prompt service recovery (which includes an apology). I take all feedback seriously and will work with my staff to use your recent experience as a training opportunity to be better at recovering when a mistake has been made. I am happy that Derek was helpful, I will be sure to pass this on to him. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice lactation close to freeway

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Staff were fabulous! Room stated slept five, really four.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We really do have a wonderful staff, I am thrilled that you were able to experience that. I am sorry for the miscommunication on your room. If you booked a king room that sleeps only 4. If you need to accommodate 5 on your next trip to Salt Lake City, please book our 2 queen beds as that sleep 5 easily. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review I hope that you will stay with us again if you travel back to the area. In hospitality, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2015
We loved staying here! They were very family friendly and the hotel was comfortable. We had a great time in the hot tub, the lemonade and water in the lobby was great, we enjoyed the breakfast but some of the bagels were a little stale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. I am thrilled that you were enjoyed all our hotel has to offer. I apologize for the problems you had with the bagels and I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. It is our goal to provide the freshest food items. Should you encounter a problem with this during any future stays, please bring this to the attention of the staff and they will promptly make it right! I hope to see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

This is a nice downtown location.

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: location. clean and neat
Cons: The bathroom design is awkward. A re-configuration may be in order. Selling premium services over the TV should not preempt regular TV.
Location: Great downtown location. Very near the Gateway shopping center. The shopping center has apparent vacancy issues. We were unable to explore much.
Our room was conveniently located on the ground floor. The convenience was diminished very slightly by some very mild street noise. The configuration of the bathroom was awkward. It is challenging to maneuver in the bathroom, though not impossible. Wallpaper was loose and peeling off of the wall. The bathroom was clean otherwise. The television system was designed to sell premium services to the near exclusion of plain television. It is not readily apparent how to view plain old television channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at our hotel. I appreciate you bringing these items to my attention. The wallpaper in your room has been repaired and I am pleased to let you know that within a few weeks we are upgrading to Direct TV. The channel selection will be very large and it will have the same feel as watching TV from home. Thank you again for letting me know of the issues so they could be addressed and I hope you will stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City. In hospitality, General Manager