Ratings based on 1,348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Hotel is very nice. The breakfast is great. Good location close to everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Nonething
Location: Location is near the Energy Solutions Arena (great place to stay and go to events there). Temple Square, the Gateway and City Creek Malls.
The staff, location, hotel, room, etc. were outstanding. The hotel staff were very welcoming. The room was spacious and clean. The bed comfortable and linens fresh and clean. The breakfast was great!! At breakfast I asked about check out time (12:00 pm) and was the pool open yet and said that my wife and I wanted to enjoy the pool a little bit before we checked out. The attendant (Derrick) asked me what room we were staying in, did some checking, and then told us we could stay that day as long as we wanted to before checking out. Wow!!! Most places want you out immediately. We did enjoy the pool and checked out around 2:30 pm that afternoon. It was nice to relax around the pool and get some sun. I am already planning my next trip to Salt Lake City and will be staying there again!!! Thanks Hyatt and staff!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short, overnight stay

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Downtown. Attractive & comfortable rooms. Affordable. Breakfast.
Room very spacious, comfortable. Reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Great location near The Gateway & Energy Solution

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Strongly recommend Hyatt Place hotel. Great morning breakfast! Hot food and good choices. Location is great for attending concerts, shopping, and NBA games! Just stayed there July 9, 2015 to attend NBA SUMMER SEASON games!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This hotel was very clean the staff was very helpful and professional The room were very Cousy and beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so happy that you had such a good experience with our wonderful staff and that you enjoyed your room. I look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Salt Lake City, In hospitality, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkeley, ca

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Good hotel with larger rooms that are clean. Very cool with the dog. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.
Location: Close to shops, restaurants, and within walking of everything happening in SLC.
Good hotel with larger rooms that are clean. Very cool with the dog. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend. Close to shops, restaurants, and within walking of everything happening in SLC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I read your review, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are located in an excellent location to see all that our beautiful city has to offer. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Salt Lake City. In hospitality, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Our first room had a mattress that was ripped open and unsanitary. The room needed to be renovated. Our second room, the bed was better, but this room also needed to be updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for inquiring about the Hyatt Place Downtown Salt Lake City. Our hotel does not have it's own shuttle service, however I have several great options for you. We are less than a block from our cities Trax system that will take you right to the airport, the cost is $2.50. We also have several taxi services as well as an express shuttle service that is about $8 out to the airport. They will pick you up right in front of our hotel. I look forward to seeing you soon. In hospitality, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice, friendly and price worthy hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Location: Location is OK in it being close to the main downtown area but the immediate surroundings are bleak.
The hotel is close to the CBD (Temple Square) (10-minute walk) but the immediate surroundings are a bit bleak. There are no nice restaurants or cafes in the immediate neighbourhood. The shopping mall next to the hotel (Gateway) seems to have lost its attraction to the newer and much nicer shopping centre right in the centre of town (City Creek). Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is small and there is no nice area to lie around the pool. Overall, a pleasant stay at a reasonable price and would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are located to much that downtown Salt Lake City has to offer. I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful staff. If you stay with us again be sure to ask the hotel staff about restaurants that are close by, there are several very good ones. Because of your downtown location we do have limited space around our pool area and I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you again for your review, I hope that you will stay with us next time you are in Salt Lake City. In hospitality, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel may be overbooked

Posted Jun 23, 2015
I booked the hotel with the price for 2 queen beds. But when we checked in, they gave me 1 king bed, and told me that was the only room they had. I showed them my receipt, with clearly print out of "2 queen". They just ignored it and said we could let one sleep on the sofa bed. Called Expedia. Expedia also agreed the hotel shouldn't do that, and offered me a different hotel if we wanted to move. But since it had thunderstorm, and with 2 little kids, we decided to stay. Fortunately, that was the only night we stayed, we then moved to Hampton, which is much better in term of room and service. The breakfast in Hyatt Place is so crowded, you have to wait for a table, or stand to finish your breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I want to apologize for the problems you had when you checked in with the room type availability. We pride ourselves with the service we give but it seems in your case we fell short. I apologize that the breakfast area was crowded at the time you chose to use it; this does occasionally happen if we are sold out. We do have overflow seating in the sun room area but that isn’t particularly easy to find, a Gallery Host can direct you there should you choose to give us another try on your next visit. In hospitality, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice clean hotel near downtown

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff, close proximity to shopping and some attractions
Cons: Hotel vending machines, hotel amenities (pool)
Our hotel room was nice and clean and the hotel staff was competent and friendly. Everything about our stay at the Hyatt Gateway was great with a few minor exceptions. The hotel pool was extremely small and located outside with no shade coverage which is brutal in 100 degree Utah heat. There were also NO snack or drink vending machines in the hotel and all food/dining within walking distance from the hotel was closed by 10pm every night which was very inconvenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Downtown. We are located close to I-15 for a quick stay over when you are just traveling through and we are happy to accommodate late check-ins. I am sorry the parking charge was a surprise to you, most of the downtown hotels charge for parking separate from the hotel charge. We are so conveniently located near the airport that many of our guest take the shuttle to our hotel. Thank you again for your review, I hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Salt Lake City. In hospitality, General Manager