Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
We enjoyed the newly updated appearance and the wonderful mountain views. I do wish that they provided free wifi in the rooms. It seems silly for a fairly expensive hotel to make one pay a significant fee for wifi in the room if you don't care to trapse down to the lobby for what is provided free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: cleanliness and central location to where I needed to be.
Cons: didn't see the coffee pot until my last night there. Just put it on the top of the dresser where the TV is or in the bathroom.
Location: museums and university
Very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Had left my phone charger in the room and someone went up to my room immediately to get it and called me back within 10 minutes. Anna a the front desk was very sweet and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again. Plus it was perfectly located. Excellent experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2015
The rooms are smelley and not double beds when I book the room they mention double beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Booked a king size but was given 2 queens size beds. no explanation as to why other then they were not available when we arrived. Bathroom door that was on rollers would not latch so you had to use the bathroom with the door open and we were on a busy schedule so we didn't have time to have someone fix it but room should have been in wirking order to begin with .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CA

Convenient for college graduation

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: It's beautiful.
Cons: Freezer in frig and microwave in room
Location: Since it's SLC there's plenty to do.
Needed freezer in frig; there was none. Really could have used microwave one night; there was none. I'm 73 and had a very large rolling suitcase but was placed at the farthest room from the elevators. I spoke with the desk clerk and found that was to give me a "quiet" room. I think they should have asked if I would prefer quiet or close; given me a choice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to pay attention to reservation details

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I reserved a room with two queen or double beds because I was traveling with my daughter. When we arrived, all they had was a room with a king bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ty from Coronado, CA

2 day couple trip to Salt lake.

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
We really like the hotel location. Central to everything and only 40 min from Park city. The staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by james

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JANE from Evanston, Wy

Very nice, but......

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel overall was fine. Very conveniently located for access to the nearby hospitals and the University of Utah. However, I do not think I would ever stay there again. My brother and I went to Salt Lake to go to a concert and wanted to stay the night to visit the Museum of Natural History nearby the next day. So I chose the Marriott. I had reserved 2 beds which I paid in full well in advance. When we checked in, we were given a single bed. I reminded them I had reserved 2 beds. The clerk informed me that the bed selection is "just a suggestion and not a guarantee." When I explained the need for two beds, she told me I should have called beforehand to make sure the room was available. Funny, that's what I thought a reservation was, especially since it was paid in full in advance. So we had to order a rollaway. The rollaway was small with a very thin mattress, fine for a child but not an elderly person with arthritis and back problems. If you're not picky about your room set up, this is an excellent hotel. Otherwise, make sure you have a guarantee not a suggestion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hope, PA

Good...But Could Be Better

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: see above.
Cons: See above.
Location: The zoo is wonderful and very close.
This property, location, and staff are very good, with a few exceptions that could easily be improved. Housecleaning failed to clean our room one morning, even though we were out of the room from 8 Am to 1PM. And no, we did not leave out the DND sign. A different day, they cleaned in the morning, but only left us with bath towels. No hand towels or wash cloths. The bathroom product line is terrible. And while the pool was warm and relatively clean, the spectacular view of the mountains was dimmed somewhat by floor to ceiling windows that look as they had not been cleaned in years. Breakfast was excellent, as were the front desk staff, coffee shop staff, etc. But the housekeeping staff were unfriendly. No eye contact, no greetings, nothing. So basically, the property needs a new housekeeping staff and manager.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2015 by Joe Snarr, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Salt Lake City Marriott University Park. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience and the issue with our housekeeping department. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City. Joe Snarr General Manager