Ratings based on 1,281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

For the price it was great.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Fast wireless, little microwave, clean, nice little hot tub, friendly staff
Cons: finish the construction and alert guests to when the elevators are not working
They were in a remodel/refresh phase which created some confusion with elevators. As long as you are out of the hotel working all day, it was not a problem. Advice: inquire where the construction is taking place and when it will be over. I stayed on the 11th floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Indifferent cleaning staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Location: There was not enough variety of stores and restaurants within easy walking distance..
The room was so-so in terms of cleanliness. Prior to our arrival, someone left an empty water bottle on the floor next to a wall. We thought it would be picked up by the cleaning crew the next morning. It was still there when we returned the next day, and for several days after that. It was in plain sight the whole time. We got tired of seeing it there and threw it in a wastebasket.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, service & cleaning very bad

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location and WIFI Free
Cons: Service
Unfriendly people at check in, hotel under construction without notification to the guest, elevators for construction employees and guest at the same time, Hotel looks old and I think that is why they are making changes and renovations but doesn´t think about guest comfort. In my room; iron and hair dryer doesn´t work propertly
2 out of 5
by SkiIdaho

Don't pay full price to stay here!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and although the pool was closed, the hot tub was nice.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms!
Location: The location was just outside of downtown. Easy enough to walk to the Trax free fare zone. Endless things to do downtown.
The Red Lion has potential to be nice, but there is no attention to detail. In our room the door to the balcony was glued shut, a lamp was broken, the carpet was stained, the floor underneath the bed was littered with trash, the tile in the corners of the bathroom floor was filthy, and there was a large stain on the head of one of the sheets when we arrived. However, the room was superficially clean and the front desk staff was helpful and friendly. I definately wouldn't classify this as a 3 star hotel. We payed half price for this room with Expedia's unnamed discounts, and that was fine. But I would be truly disappointed if I had paid full price.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Red Lion Hotel Salt Lake Downtown. We greatly appreciate your kind remarks regarding the staff and amenities at our hotel but can see the cleanliness of the room fell short of expectation. For this we deeply apologize. After a long day of traveling, it’s nice to check into an inviting room with a comfortable bed—it pains us to learn that you were sent to a room that wasn’t properly serviced prior to check-in. We know your input will help us improve our offering. From the sounds of it, the overall trip to Salt Lake City was a great success and fond memories abound. Have a wonderful day, and we do hope to meet again under much improved circumstances.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to hospital

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Beds and pillows were comfortable
Cons: Clean room better sevice
Location: A lot a restaurants
The first room we had, had not been cleaned as one would expect. There were used coffee cups in the garbage, as well as other trash in and out of trash can, one bed had coffee stains on the bed spread and the other bed may not have been changed with hairs all over the sheets, plus no batteries in the tv remote. They did give us a clean room which was comfortable but really a hassle for late check in without efforts to give any type of discount
Comment from
Jan 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We always enjoy hearing that our guests rested comfortably and enjoyed Salt Lake City. Please accept our apology for any difficulty at check-in and the condition of the first room—there simply is no excuse. We do hope these inconveniences did not detract too much from the visit, and we are committed to improving in these areas. Have a wonderful day, and much appreciation for the feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katya from Massachusetts

Good place to stay in Salt Lake.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Convenience and price.
Cons: It would be nice to have conditioner -- in addition to the shampoo that was provided.
Location: Some panhandlers on the street in the evening, but great Indian restaurant called the Copper Bowl at walking distance.
The hotel was being renovated so it probably wasn't a representative experience. But I found it perfectly pleasant and serviceable for our brief stay. My family of 5 and I shared a room the first night -- a roll-in cot was an extra $20/night -- but that got to be a little cramped so we got another room for the second night. There is an Indian restaurant called The Copper Bowl nearby -- It was excellent and inexpensive for both lunch and dinner. And a Starbucks for breakfast, if you are that way inclined. The hotel was convenient to everything I wanted to do in Salt Lake -- but then I had a car. Parking was plentiful. I would do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from salt lake city

nicest down town

Posted Mar 18, 2014
had great view of the mountains, near where we wanted to go
3 out of 5
by Kelly from Texas

Under construction! This was not disclosed!

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: I read reviews and they seemed ok. I'm sure when the construction is done it will be nice, but that part should have been disclosed.
Cons: Too many to list.
Location: If you're going to ski in Park City this hotel is a little fair. Some of the area didn't look as safe as I would have wanted.
On the website or through Expedia the hotel being under construction wasn't disclosed. After skiing and getting to bed late, the last you want to hear is the beating of a hammer. Room wasn't very clean. The shower curtain looked like someone blew their nose on it. The tub wasn't very clean during our stay. Dirty sheets and towels were piled in the hall outside of the elevator, they we're still there the next day. Due to the mess going on, we never felt relaxed there at all. The entire hotel had a musty, unclean smell. First night there we wanted to get a bite to eat. We went to the small restaurant in the hotel ( I don't think it was Reds) Food wasn't very good at all. We didn't see much hotel staff, so I can't say they were unfriendly. Upon checking in the desk clerk was polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brown

It is okay for short staying.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Location is convenience.
The room was nice and staffs are nice too. However the floor wasn't as clean as I expected especially the floor around the bed. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Great Value for full-service hotel.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Diner was attached, gift shop, pool/hot tub- all of these came in handy during our 3 nights.
Cons: The hot tub water temperature as mentioned above.
Location: Great location near the center of downtown and convenience to the ski mountains (our reason for visit).
Overall it was a nice experience and had most of the amenities we needed, including the hot tub, business center, parking lot, and clean rooms. A few negatives were that the hot tub water temperature wasn't very hot, the the shower pressure was low and there was either construction or other banging starting quite early in the morning. However, I think this is a good option for a great price.