Ratings based on 1,078 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across street from temple square

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: clean, convenient, reasonable price
Not new but very nice and comfortable. Quiet and roomy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TravelbugNC from Raleigh, NC

Do not judge book by its cover

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location, You cannot get any closer to the Temple area, stores, outdoor mall, and convention center.
Location: Mormon Church is right across the street, the outdoor mall a few blocks away with the flowing stream is worth a visit.
Yes the hotel is older, and the outside shows it age including the lobby. But the room we stayed has been recently updated, modern, clean and fresh. We where not sure upon arrival if this was a good choice. But upon seeing the room, comfort of the bed and staff, it was worth the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from El Dorado Hills, Ca

Great hotel next to the Temple

Posted Jun 12, 2014
This centrally located hotel was very convenient to walk around the downtown area. Very nice facilities, public parking next door. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn from Wilton, Maine

Wonderful hotel close to all amenities!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: In house restaurant.
Cons: Update the air system.
Location: Very centralized. Easy to walk or ride to anything right in town.
The Plaza was close to the Convention Center and the train stop is right in front of the hotel. Their restaurant, JD's had an excellent breakfast buffet so we did not have to walk outside the building to eat before going to our General session activities. The food was good and the staff was wonderful. The only complaint I had was the bed was too close to the wall which made it difficult to maneuver around; the room was a little bit confining and the air vents on the unit could not be moved to aim in a different direction. The air rotated up and blew right on me when sleeping. Even though our flight into Salt Lake City was late in arriving the hotel still sent out a van to pick us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick from san Francisco, CA

Perfect location and great staff.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: It's just a well appointed and organized hotel with a heart.
Cons: It's just fine and I especially like the quality of the towels.
Location: Everything is within walking distance including the Mormon areas such as their Temple, the City Creek Mall, public transportation, many restaurants.
Hotel located near everything in Salt Lake City. Easy walking although public transportation is right in front of hotel. I couldn't work the A/C, I needed help with the safe, and the toilet was running. Within minutes of my call to the front desk, a maintenance person was there and everything was fine! This my second time at this hotel and it's my go to hotel in SLC and I'm not a Mormon, but what nice people live and work in this state. The staff couldn't be more efficient and willing. This is a fine hotel. I highly recommend it and in fact friends of mine staid at this hotel at the same time I was there due to my recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Randolph, NJ

Plaza on Temple Square

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Everything, staff, room, view, convenience to convention center and Temple Square.
Cons: Truly-- nothing could be improved, which made my time there so pleasant.
Location: As I mentioned, Temple Square visitors, convention goers and, in fact anyone visiting will be pleased. It's also across from the trolley - nice!
Even though I arrived at the Plaza at Temple Square, everyone was truly pleasant, and helpful with every question I had. It was my first time traveling alone for business and I felt secure and truly enjoyed the experience. The room was very attractive and the view I had of the State Capital was inspiring. It was a memorable first night in Salt Lake City and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. I had agreed to spend 4 more days with friends at another location so I hated to leave. For anyone who was planning on doing family research at Temple Square or attend a convention this is an ideal place to stay. So glad I did!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Experience

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Location and condition of the room. Great having a small refrigerator and microwave. The room also had an extra basin right outside of the bathroom.
Cons: Had a great time.
Location: We were there for a convention and the location was perfect. It's also walking distance to two shopping malls.
Staff and condition of the rooms were great. Location was ideal because we attended a convention and could walk across the street. Very happy experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by peggy from idaho falls

Nice and convenient

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Love the staff. Shows some wear but still liveable. Will stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from green river wy

Overpriced, old, smelly

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Overpriced for an old/smelly hotel that I also had to pay $5 to park at. When we ran the cooler it stunk. My mom didn't get to shower, because you have to pull so hard to get it started you think you will break it. I called the front desk to find out how to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms
Cons: How to get into the hotel from the parking area.
Location: It is right downtown. I could walk to the Salt Lake convention center.
I thought the room was great but hated getting from the parking garage, into the hotel. You had to go down to the ground level, go into the hotel, and then go back up to your room floor. Irritating.