Ratings based on 1,123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Great location, helpful staff, nice room.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, also the free shuttle to the airport which also picked us up from our tour hotel.
Cons: Updating dark hallways. Carpets were tired, some of the vending machines were out of order.
Location: We spent all our time at Temple Square. Beautiful gardens, interesting architecture, history museums, Mormon Tabernacle Choir.
We stayed two nights at the Plaza after ending a bus tour. Wanted to explore Salt Lake City since we figured we would probably never be back. Spent all our time at Temple Square and the location of the Plaza could not have been better. The room was great and the staff was accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Quick Trip

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The front desk help gave me a choice of floors, so I said "somewhere quiet and away from everyone." I was given a terrific room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Temple Square, Convention Center, Energy Solutions Arena, and the Clear Creek Mall to name a few.
This is my third time staying at the Plaza. Yes, I came back a second and third time because I love this hotel. When I travel to SLC it's usually a quick trip to see the sights and tour Temple Square. I choose this hotel because of it's close proximity (to everything!) and the wonderful room and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Perfect location in the city

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Perfect location for visiting the city. The room includes fridge and microwave, it is a plus.
Cons: The room is kind of small.
Location: It is right next to the Temple Square and City Creek Center.
Nothing fancy. Perfect hotel to stay visiting Salt Lake City. Walking distance to Temple Square and Shopping center. Nicely decor room and public areas. Covered parking garage with $5/day fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice place for passing through

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: AC great - it was 40 degrees when we checked in, and the room was a pleasant surprise, clean, cool, and smelled nice.
Staff professional, room clean, close to shopping. We had a great view from our windows and enjoyed the site at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Good location, good facilities, good rate...almost everything but not breakfast...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across street from temple square

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: clean, convenient, reasonable price
Not new but very nice and comfortable. Quiet and roomy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TravelbugNC from Raleigh, NC

Do not judge book by its cover

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location, You cannot get any closer to the Temple area, stores, outdoor mall, and convention center.
Location: Mormon Church is right across the street, the outdoor mall a few blocks away with the flowing stream is worth a visit.
Yes the hotel is older, and the outside shows it age including the lobby. But the room we stayed has been recently updated, modern, clean and fresh. We where not sure upon arrival if this was a good choice. But upon seeing the room, comfort of the bed and staff, it was worth the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from El Dorado Hills, Ca

Great hotel next to the Temple

Posted Jun 12, 2014
This centrally located hotel was very convenient to walk around the downtown area. Very nice facilities, public parking next door. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn from Wilton, Maine

Wonderful hotel close to all amenities!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: In house restaurant.
Cons: Update the air system.
Location: Very centralized. Easy to walk or ride to anything right in town.
The Plaza was close to the Convention Center and the train stop is right in front of the hotel. Their restaurant, JD's had an excellent breakfast buffet so we did not have to walk outside the building to eat before going to our General session activities. The food was good and the staff was wonderful. The only complaint I had was the bed was too close to the wall which made it difficult to maneuver around; the room was a little bit confining and the air vents on the unit could not be moved to aim in a different direction. The air rotated up and blew right on me when sleeping. Even though our flight into Salt Lake City was late in arriving the hotel still sent out a van to pick us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dick from san Francisco, CA

Perfect location and great staff.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: It's just a well appointed and organized hotel with a heart.
Cons: It's just fine and I especially like the quality of the towels.
Location: Everything is within walking distance including the Mormon areas such as their Temple, the City Creek Mall, public transportation, many restaurants.
Hotel located near everything in Salt Lake City. Easy walking although public transportation is right in front of hotel. I couldn't work the A/C, I needed help with the safe, and the toilet was running. Within minutes of my call to the front desk, a maintenance person was there and everything was fine! This my second time at this hotel and it's my go to hotel in SLC and I'm not a Mormon, but what nice people live and work in this state. The staff couldn't be more efficient and willing. This is a fine hotel. I highly recommend it and in fact friends of mine staid at this hotel at the same time I was there due to my recommendation.