Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Genealogy Trip

Posted Sep 17, 2014
I always stay here for my genealogy trips. This hotel is right next to the library and across the street from everything! You only have to walk about 10 minutes to a grocery store to stock the small refrigerator in your room. Everyone that works here is very helpful and friendly too. If anything could be improved it would be the restaurant attached to the hotel. The food could be a little better but other than that the restaurant is OK. This is the best place (in my opinion) to stay for a genealogy trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice View

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: get rid of those heavy blankets and flat pillows
Location: great view of mountains and temple
Very pleasant staff and very clean room, however the blankets must have had lead in them they were so heavy and the pillows were flat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Disappointing

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The duvet cover was a sheet so it was clean
Cons: Advertise this room for what it is... A Motel 6 equivalent.
Location: Location was amazing! Right next to all down town attractions.
The Plaza Hotel is very old. No valet parking, minimal garage parking and no room service. It was billed as a 4 star hotel. This hotel is nothing more than a Motel 6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay. Staff were accomodating.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Cons: Pool is small, but felt good at the end of day.
Went to SLC for a conference. My room was quiet and comfortable, with a view of the capitol building. Right next to Temple Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC

Nice Location near shopping center

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: no
Location: City creek center(Shopping mall) and Temple Square
This hotel is near the city creek center and Temple square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
A terrific location for Salt Lake City. The hotel overlooks Temple Square. Easy access to restaurants and sites. The hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. We would definitely look to stay here on another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across the street from Temple Square.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The location is the best! JB's restaurant is excellent and so handy - especially for breakfast. You can walk to everything!
Location: Temple Square and LDS historical sites, family history center, etc.
My son and I went to SLC to outfit him for his Mission. They have everything we needed at Mr. Mac's which was in walking distance from our hotel. We were also able to go to Temple Square and see the Beehive House, tour the conference center - all in walking distance. The Hotel was so nice and convenient - perfect location for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Great location, helpful staff, nice room.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, also the free shuttle to the airport which also picked us up from our tour hotel.
Cons: Updating dark hallways. Carpets were tired, some of the vending machines were out of order.
Location: We spent all our time at Temple Square. Beautiful gardens, interesting architecture, history museums, Mormon Tabernacle Choir.
We stayed two nights at the Plaza after ending a bus tour. Wanted to explore Salt Lake City since we figured we would probably never be back. Spent all our time at Temple Square and the location of the Plaza could not have been better. The room was great and the staff was accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Quick Trip

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The front desk help gave me a choice of floors, so I said "somewhere quiet and away from everyone." I was given a terrific room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Temple Square, Convention Center, Energy Solutions Arena, and the Clear Creek Mall to name a few.
This is my third time staying at the Plaza. Yes, I came back a second and third time because I love this hotel. When I travel to SLC it's usually a quick trip to see the sights and tour Temple Square. I choose this hotel because of it's close proximity (to everything!) and the wonderful room and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Perfect location in the city

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Perfect location for visiting the city. The room includes fridge and microwave, it is a plus.
Cons: The room is kind of small.
Location: It is right next to the Temple Square and City Creek Center.
Nothing fancy. Perfect hotel to stay visiting Salt Lake City. Walking distance to Temple Square and Shopping center. Nicely decor room and public areas. Covered parking garage with $5/day fee.