Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great way to start our Utah trip!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: Mre affordable food options.
Location: Perfect for being away from it all and having access for visiting Salt Lake City's sites.We visited Temple Square, the Great Salt Lake then on to Moab
It was a great place for family to meet up, coming from different places. Nice variety of options for thiings to do. We took the tram and hiked, ate well and listened to music and had a cocktail. Room was perfect for our needs, and staff was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pendleton, OR

A good deal for the price

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The location The beds The staff
Cons: Refinish the wood, get rid of the cheap bathtub controls, provide decent complimentary coffee.
Location: It's an absolutely beautiful location, hiking, wildlife, swimming, rides, and everything nearby in Salt Lake.
Faced with staying in Salt Lake during my sons orientation at U of U, I noticed that the Cliff Lodge came up at low price for a hote that nice. The beds were very comfortable, and seemed high end, the primary wear in the room was with the wood trim, doors, and anything else wood. Not terrible, but definitely showing its age. There is a window between the shower and the bedroom which is something I have seen overseas a lot, and as long as there is a way to block it I see it as OK. There was an interior curtain on the shower side, the only problem is that the shower overhead light is tied to the bathroom light, so in the middle of the night when someone used the restroom the room would be illuminated by the shower light. This seems like something that would be an easy fix and I wish they would. Also, the coffee maker is located inside a cabinet which is somewhat inconvenient to use. While they are trying to project an air of an upscale ski resort, the coffee was Boyds which is cheap garbage coffee. The location is tremendous and made these minor annoyances worth it. Three hot tubs, a pool and Cottonwood Canyon is spectacular. We hiked to the top of Hidden Peak outside the hotel and had a 360 degree view of the world from 11,000 ft. and you can take a large aerial tram back down. They also have concerts and a few off season rides that look quite fun. Anyway, besides the few niggly complaints it was very nice and especially for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent ski-in and ski-out hotel

Posted May 9, 2014
We came to the hotel for spring skiing. The hotel offers a real ski-in and ski-out experience, where you are literally out the door and on the slopes. The ski shop provides great service, all guests get a ski locker. The staff was very friendly and professional, service was excellent. Free valet parking is offered to all the hotel guests. There are three nice restaurants on the premises, we enjoyed them all. It is a bit pricey, but all the amenities make it worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great ski weekend

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Cliff worked out perfectly for us. While my son was on the mountain skiing I found several places to relax and read. The room was large enough for us to spread out and the staff was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Roswell GA

Very Friendly Staff - Great Location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We spent six nights at the Cliffs Spa and Resort. The staff was always eager to assist in any way. The rooms are basic, but have everything you need. The location is outstanding if you are going to ski Snowbird. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is everything

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The Cliff has a world class location. You can be out of bed and on the slopes in no time flat. And what amazing slopes those are. The hotel was probably fancy a few decades ago but time isn't friendly to infrastructure unless you maintain it. That said, the Aerie on the top floor is an excellent restaurant with updated decor. The rest of the hotel, especially the pool and hot tub area could use a facelift but its still fine and pleasing. Ultimately, its about the snow and the snow in Snowbird is fantastic. And the people that work at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly. All in all, we rated this vacation one of our best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ilan from New Yotk Mnhattan

Hotel close to trails and lifts

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to lifts. Outdoor pool and hot tub
Cons: Food in the restaurants
Location: Nearby hotels.
Room facility excellent. Ski shop lift tickets on site. Restaurants were mediocre and overpriced fot the quality of the food especially in the Atrium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ralph from PA

Excellent location. Great skiing.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location Location Location. Conditions and terrain are unparalleled.
Cons: There is no town feel and not much to do at night, but we were really tired from skiing so that didn't matter.
Location: Adjacent to Alta. Also without much to do apres ski.
Due to steep canyon walls of Little Cottonwood, the road closes often due to avalanche danger. This makes being slope-side a huge plus as the day-trippers can't get up to the resort. East Coasters need to sleep in until 5:45 as that's when coffee is first available. Staff was very accommodating. Lots of concrete architecture gave initial feel of institutional, but after learning of avalanche danger and being locked in the first morning until avalanche bombs had made the area safe, we came to appreciate the solid construction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Harald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com