Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Amazing Facility and Attentive Staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We were greeted with doors being opened and wonderful desk-to-room service in this amazing hotel. The furnishings in the hotel and in our room were top notch. This hotel was the finest we have ever stayed in and we were treated as VIPs throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, Professionalism, Elevators are SUPER fast, Dining was great, Comfortable and Spacious Rooms.
Location: Very easy access to the TRAX station. Downtown dining and shopping is easy!
Definitely check out the toy store!!!! JOU JOU. Breakfast buffet was AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff, Very Clean!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Location: Centrally located! Across the street from public transit. Within walking distance to great restaurants
Overall experience was wonderful! Will certainly stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Myron from Reno

High Star Hotel in Salt Lake

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Very clean , efficient and caring staff. work out facility was top rate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Stuart, FL

Grand America Hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
We were very pleased with the hotel and staff. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff was very polite and accommodating. We plan to return next year for the Melaleuca convention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ezio from Calvingrad

Magnificient building

Posted May 6, 2014
It's a beautiful building with magnificient rooms in old style. Slightly aside from centre (1.5 km) but connected by tram. Nice view on the mountains from the high floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Comfortable, Excellent Service

Posted May 5, 2014
Worth every penny, close to downtown and university, spacious comfortable rooms, cleanliness is a priority, many amenities. When we left some valuables in the room accidentally after checking out, the hotel was most accommodating in retrieving them for us. Absolutely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, attentive staff!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Appreciated that the minibar did not have the sensors that charge your account when something is removed. I was able to put my own water bottle in!!
Cons: The tempature in the room was difficult to control. Otherwise, our stay was perfect!
Wonderful downtown hotel, very helpful and accommodating staff. The grounds are amazing and full of spring splendor!,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darren from Mesa, AZ

Weekend Visit

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, rooms, beds
Cons: Ensure that all the items in the room are in good working order.
Location: Wonderful location. Trax is just out the front door and is within the "Free Zone" to downtown. Temple Square and the Town Creek Mall is a must see.
We were so excited to stay again at the Grand American Hotel. We were delighted with the size of the room and the cleanliness on our first visit so we booked a second. The hotel staff was eager to help and answer any questions. We had our 12 year old daughter with us and we were talking up the huge delicious chocolate chip cookies upon check-in. However, there was not a cookie to be found in all 3 days we were there. The Grand claims to be the only 5 star hotel in the Salt Lake valley. Well our room had door handles in the shower, and the bathroom doors that were loose and falling off. One of the towel hangers was missing, could see the two holes but nothing there. One of the last items is the outdoor swimming pool. We were so excited to spend some time with our daughter in the beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub. Both were closed. Then the hotel charged an extra fee (per day) to swimming in the indoor pool. How can they charge what they charge per night and then charge an additional fee for the pool. Sad. On the positive note, the beds are comfortable, extremely clean, and large. Just wish they would make sure the rooms are in 5 star condition. The hotel is "Grand and Beautiful" however, I will take my money and stay somewhere that doesn't nickel and dime me for those extras that other hotels just have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2014 by Sarah Gunter, Hotel Management
Dear Darren P, Thank you for staying with us at the Grand America Hotel! I enjoyed reading that you noticed our friendly staff, as well as our spacious, clean and comfortable rooms and beds. I was pleased that you enjoyed our chocolate chip cookies as well; they are definitely a favorite for most of our guests. I was saddened by your review and disappointment in the outdoor pool being unavailable. It is unfortunate that Utah weather in early April does not warrant an enjoyable outdoor experience by the pool. I am happy to share that as soon as the weather permits, the outdoor pool area comes alive and is a perfect oasis for fun, sun and relaxation. I apologize you were disappointed that the Grand Spa does have an access fee, but I was happy to review your specific reservation and learn we did take care of this complaint prior to your departure. Upon receiving your comment I immediately inspected the room you visited, and yes, unfortunately there was a missing towel rack. I am so sorry for our fault. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time after your stay to inform us of our shortcoming so that we may repair the state of that specific guest room. Darren P, I do hope that if you return to Salt Lake City, you will think twice and decide to return to the Grand America where we are committed to each guest receiving only the best in service and an enjoyable experience. Until then, we remain at your service. Best, Annie Fitzgerald Director of Guest Experience The Grand America Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business Travel from Chicago

Great place to stay if attending a trade show

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Elegant and clean
Cons: nothing
Location: close to the convention center...my convention had a shuttle running every 15 minutesMr
Blew away my expectations. Comfortable, elegant, beautiful view of the snow covered mountains, staff was professional and courteous, good food.